DVICO TViX R3310? - Page 13 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #361 of 429 Old 08-10-2010, 05:39 PM
Senior Member
 
DB100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 263
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by TPeterson View Post

It seems clear that this rebooting issue is caused by something non-standard in certain Ion-affiliates' transmissions. Since we'd have to get a sample of the offending transport stream to DVico in order for them to fix it, I suggest that those who are seeing this problem contact their Ion-affiliate stations' chief engineers and report the issue to them. Tell them about this thread on AVS Forum and that we know that the issue is not present on all Ion-affiliate stations.

If anyone who is seeing the problem can make a 2-minute clip of the full transport stream (obviously, using some other device than TViX) I'll be glad to help in getting it to Korea for analysis.

I wonder if the ION-affiliate station chief engineer could provide a short, full transport stream clip. I live in the St. Pete region of Florida (zip 33772) in the winter. If I can track down a phone number, I can give them a call.
DB100 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #362 of 429 Old 08-10-2010, 05:43 PM
Senior Member
 
DB100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 263
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I found a number at iontelevision.com: 1-888-467-2988.
DB100 is offline  
post #363 of 429 Old 08-10-2010, 06:04 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
TPeterson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: San Carlos, CA
Posts: 11,950
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 17
I suppose that you could use such a nationwide number to report that a particular affiliate station is causing a problem with your "TV equipment" that owners of the same equipment are not seeing on Ion in other areas (e.g., SF Bay Area). Maybe pressure from the top would suffice??
TPeterson is offline  
post #364 of 429 Old 08-10-2010, 06:38 PM
Senior Member
 
DB100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 263
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
One thought did strike me. You mentioned a 2 minute clip. Well, a 2 minute clip of HD programming would be a huge file to be emailing someone. Plus, it would be the full TS, so it would be even bigger. Why not 5 seconds? Wouldn't that give them the info they need?
DB100 is offline  
post #365 of 429 Old 08-10-2010, 07:02 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
TPeterson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: San Carlos, CA
Posts: 11,950
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Huge, yes--as much as 500 MB or so. You won't be emailing it. It has to be transferred via a file-sharing server or FTP directly to DViCo (or on a DVD via courier). They need such a long clip because the PSIP data stream contains low data-rate components that wouldn't be reliably captured in a few seconds.
TPeterson is offline  
post #366 of 429 Old 08-11-2010, 02:51 PM
Newbie
 
WXPX-TV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by TPeterson View Post

Huge, yes--as much as 500 MB or so. You won't be emailing it. It has to be transferred via a file-sharing server or FTP directly to DViCo (or on a DVD via courier). They need such a long clip because the PSIP data stream contains low data-rate components that wouldn't be reliably captured in a few seconds.

Hello,

I am the Chief Engineer for the Tampa, FL ION Affiliate, WXPX-TV. I can provide an MPEG2 transport stream recording for analysis. Where should it be FTP'ed to? Or would you prefer to grab it from one of our servers via FTP or HTTP?

Thanks,
-Dave
WXPX-TV is offline  
post #367 of 429 Old 08-11-2010, 03:38 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
TPeterson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: San Carlos, CA
Posts: 11,950
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Hi, Dave, welcome to AVS Forum!

I assume that WXPX is DB100's ION station in "the St. Pete" region. Thanks for your offer to assist us. I'll PM you with my email address so that we can arrange to get the clip to DViCo.
TPeterson is offline  
post #368 of 429 Old 08-11-2010, 04:05 PM
Senior Member
 
DB100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 263
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by TPeterson View Post

I assume that WXPX is DB100's ION station in "the St. Pete" region.

Yes, Tampa is across the bay from St. Pete and I forgot that most of our local programming is from there, not St. Pete.
DB100 is offline  
post #369 of 429 Old 08-17-2010, 02:19 PM
Member
 
bananaslug79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone noticed if this beta firmware 1.8.5 does anything to the audio encryption issue a lot of us have seen with the 3310? It was discussed a few pages back.
bananaslug79 is offline  
post #370 of 429 Old 08-17-2010, 02:42 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
TPeterson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: San Carlos, CA
Posts: 11,950
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by TPeterson View Post

Hi, Dave, welcome to AVS Forum!

I assume that WXPX is DB100's ION station in "the St. Pete" region. Thanks for your offer to assist us. I'll PM you with my email address so that we can arrange to get the clip to DViCo.

Hmm...this is not going so well...Dave didn't reply to my PM and DViCo didn't reply to my question about their file transfer preferences.

Maybe Dave is checking with his counterpart in San Francisco about what they're doing differently to their respective TS so that the CA station gives me no problem while the FL station gives DB100 the bird...?
TPeterson is offline  
post #371 of 429 Old 08-17-2010, 02:52 PM
Senior Member
 
DB100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 263
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I still have Dave's phone number if you want it.
DB100 is offline  
post #372 of 429 Old 08-17-2010, 03:03 PM
Senior Member
 
DB100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 263
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by bananaslug79 View Post

Has anyone noticed if this beta firmware 1.8.5 does anything to the audio encryption issue a lot of us have seen with the 3310? It was discussed a few pages back.

I'm puzzled by 1.8.5. There is no mention of it on the UK site I use to get the latest firmware. Also, someone earlier listed what 1.8.5 supposedly fixes and the list looked just like the list for 1.8.4. Nothing new.
DB100 is offline  
post #373 of 429 Old 08-17-2010, 06:29 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
TPeterson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: San Carlos, CA
Posts: 11,950
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by bananaslug79 View Post

Has anyone noticed if this beta firmware 1.8.5 does anything to the audio encryption issue a lot of us have seen with the 3310? It was discussed a few pages back.

If you're actually finding encrypted content, there is virtually zero likelihood that TViX firmware will address the problem. If the content should not be encrypted, you need to contact the station or cableco and tell them about the mistake.
TPeterson is offline  
post #374 of 429 Old 08-17-2010, 06:30 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
TPeterson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: San Carlos, CA
Posts: 11,950
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by DB100 View Post

I still have Dave's phone number if you want it.

I'll let you know when I get a reply from DViCo so that I have something to tell him.
TPeterson is offline  
post #375 of 429 Old 08-17-2010, 11:47 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
TPeterson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: San Carlos, CA
Posts: 11,950
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 17
DB100--

I have DViCo's reply, and I've sent Dave another PM with the information. I would've sent it to you as well, but you seem to have PMs disabled. Perhaps you can give Dave a call and tell him that he has a PM here at the AVS Forum.
TPeterson is offline  
post #376 of 429 Old 08-18-2010, 07:49 AM
Senior Member
 
DB100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 263
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by TPeterson View Post

DB100--

I have DViCo's reply, and I've sent Dave another PM with the information. I would've sent it to you as well, but you seem to have PMs disabled. Perhaps you can give Dave a call and tell him that he has a PM here at the AVS Forum.

I went in an enabled PM's. See if you can now send me the PM. When I call I'd like to be able to just tell him what he needs to know.

Do I click on my 'User Name' to read a PM?
DB100 is offline  
post #377 of 429 Old 08-18-2010, 10:26 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
TPeterson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: San Carlos, CA
Posts: 11,950
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Look under Private Messages on the Quicklinks tab at the top of this page.
TPeterson is offline  
post #378 of 429 Old 08-18-2010, 11:46 AM
Senior Member
 
DB100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 263
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by TPeterson View Post

Look under Private Messages on the Quicklinks tab at the top of this page.

Not under Quicklinks tab. Rather, there's a blinking envelope indicating a PM, next to "Welcome DB100" just below the tabs.

I called Dave and got his voicemail. He may be out of the office, which is why he hasn't responded. I'll keep trying.
DB100 is offline  
post #379 of 429 Old 08-18-2010, 11:57 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
TPeterson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: San Carlos, CA
Posts: 11,950
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by DB100 View Post

Not under Quicklinks tab....

So...yours doesn't look like mine (attached)?

P.S.: You also should have received an email notice, unless you've disabled that somehow.
LL
TPeterson is offline  
post #380 of 429 Old 08-18-2010, 12:28 PM
Senior Member
 
DB100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 263
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by TPeterson View Post

So...yours doesn't look like mine (attached)?

I stand corrected. I just needed to scroll down a little before hitting Links, otherwise the list stopped at 'Miscellaneous'. I'm on a 14" laptop.

I didn't get an email. I probably left that blank back when I registered.
DB100 is offline  
post #381 of 429 Old 08-19-2010, 09:59 AM
Senior Member
 
DB100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 263
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I talked to Dave today and he said he'd log in to this site, read the PM, and get the TS file out this afternoon.
DB100 is offline  
post #382 of 429 Old 08-19-2010, 10:36 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
TPeterson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: San Carlos, CA
Posts: 11,950
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Great! Thanks. (He did reply to my PM today also)
TPeterson is offline  
post #383 of 429 Old 08-19-2010, 01:15 PM
Member
 
bananaslug79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by TPeterson View Post

If you're actually finding encrypted content, there is virtually zero likelihood that TViX firmware will address the problem. If the content should not be encrypted, you need to contact the station or cableco and tell them about the mistake.

T, I was referring to this discussion we had on page 10 of this thread:
Quote:
Originally Posted by TPeterson View Post

My DViCo contact says that they plan to release a new R3300 firmware "soon" and that they'll fix the unreliable audio on QAM. They have fixed that problem on the M6600, their other Realtek-based streamer, so there's good reason to be optimistic about its being fixed on the R3300 too.

My use of the word "encryption" only came up because Dvico themselves used it in a response to me on this issue, that it is a "QAM encryption" issue. I'm not trying to tune encrypted content, just the over-the-wire network stations in HD that seem to give the 3310 fits and spurts.

I'm simply curious if it looks like 1.8.5 has addressed this issue at all, or if we're waiting for further fixes in another beta. I still haven't had a chance to try it at home for myself.
bananaslug79 is offline  
post #384 of 429 Old 08-19-2010, 01:30 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
TPeterson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: San Carlos, CA
Posts: 11,950
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 17
OK, I recall now that you had problems with a clear QAM subchannel on an rf channel that also had some encrypted subs. I haven't seen that problem but the previous issue of sometimes not hearing audio seems to be fixed, so maybe yours is too....
TPeterson is offline  
post #385 of 429 Old 08-19-2010, 02:02 PM
Senior Member
 
DB100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 263
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by TPeterson View Post

...but the previous issue of sometimes not hearing audio seems to be fixed, so maybe yours is too....

Well, I hate to say it, but I've upgraded the fw and am now having audio problems that I didn't have before. Some recordings will play for a minute or so and then the audio goes away. It seems to be happening only with a particular station and a particular program, as opposed to generally, so I didn't think too much about it. I go into VideoReDo, remove some commercials and save the recording as a ts file, rather than a tp, and then the audio works ok.

Another odd thing I noticed is that when selecting a tp file, it seems to take forever to begin playing. When I convert it to ts, it loads much faster.
DB100 is offline  
post #386 of 429 Old 08-19-2010, 02:34 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
TPeterson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: San Carlos, CA
Posts: 11,950
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 17
What you're saving from VRD is a PS (program stream) rather than a TS (transport stream) file. The original file from the TViX is also a program stream, as opposed to the originally broadcast transport stream. TS can contain many audio and video streams, whereas a PS contains only a single program (which may have several audio tracks).

If you see different results when playing the original TViX and VRD files, it may mean that the TViX has misinterpreted the original TS and included extraneous packets or that there is corrupt information that VRD is able to discard/correct.

From the symptom that you describe, my guess is that the station is actually changing the audio PID or format during the program in question, shortly after it starts and VRD is clever enough to sort that out and create a single audio track in its output. One way to test that would be to begin your recording of that program several minutes after it starts and see if the audio is more reliable when you play that back.

Otherwise, you can also use TSReader to examine the before and after VRD files and perhaps discover what is the problem source by looking at their respective PAT/PMT structures.
TPeterson is offline  
post #387 of 429 Old 08-19-2010, 03:02 PM
Senior Member
 
DB100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 263
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by TPeterson View Post

One way to test that would be to begin your recording of that program several minutes after it starts and see if the audio is more reliable when you play that back.

Otherwise, you can also use TSReader to examine the before and after VRD files and perhaps discover what is the problem source by looking at their respective PAT/PMT structures.

I've only seen this audio drop on certain stuff recorded in FL, and I won't be back there til November, so I can't test it.

I went looking for an original recording for the program in question, and I don't have one. I edited/converted the last original just yesterday. So I can only look at the 'after' VRD.
DB100 is offline  
post #388 of 429 Old 08-19-2010, 03:11 PM
Senior Member
 
DB100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 263
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I've attached a TSReader snapshot of an edited file that originally had audio problems. Can you see anything?
LL
DB100 is offline  
post #389 of 429 Old 08-19-2010, 03:17 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
TPeterson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: San Carlos, CA
Posts: 11,950
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Do you mean can I look at the one that's fine and guess what was wrong with the original? No.

You can see that there is only one audio track, however....
TPeterson is offline  
post #390 of 429 Old 08-19-2010, 03:26 PM
Senior Member
 
DB100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 263
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I see the single audio track with a PID of 52.

If "the station is actually changing the audio PID or format during the program in question, shortly after it starts..." then might I see multiple audio tracks in the TSReader display?
DB100 is offline  
Reply HDTV Recorders

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off