Recording to a MAC from a Scientific Atlanta 8300HD SA8300HD - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-23-2009, 06:34 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
umenon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: United States
Posts: 1,200
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 91 Post(s)
Liked: 23
I have a SA8300HD from COMCAST ... running SARA. Firewire is enabled.

I have read the several hundred posts on "Recording to a PC ...".

I am able to record to a PC using VLC (videolan) ... but the 1080i recordings periodically show very frequent pixelization which has been reported by other PC users who tried this technique.

Since I am desperate (have quite a few valuable recordings on the DVR) ... I might end up buying a Mac Mini.

But the $$$ question is ... does any know if the pixelization will continue to be problem via the Mac platform as well ?

Can anyone share their Mac-based experiences.

Thanks !!
umenon is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-25-2009, 06:33 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
umenon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: United States
Posts: 1,200
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 91 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Nobody ?
umenon is online now  
Old 06-10-2011, 06:36 PM
Newbie
 
jdherman40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
How did you accomplish this? Cox cable has made a house call, only to tell me that it cannot be done --that they are "for future use." I have already downloaded the VLC software that one of the Geniuses at my friendly, local Apple store pointed me to.
I bought the double-ended Firewire cable.

QUESTION: How can I activate these 2 1349 OUT ports?

RSVP: jdherman@hotmail.com
jdherman40 is offline  
Old 06-10-2011, 06:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
qz3fwd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 2,959
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 103 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by umenon View Post

I have a SA8300HD from COMCAST ... running SARA. Firewire is enabled.

I have read the several hundred posts on "Recording to a PC ...".

I am able to record to a PC using VLC (videolan) ... but the 1080i recordings periodically show very frequent pixelization which has been reported by other PC users who tried this technique.

Since I am desperate (have quite a few valuable recordings on the DVR) ... I might end up buying a Mac Mini.

But the $$$ question is ... does any know if the pixelization will continue to be problem via the Mac platform as well ?

Can anyone share their Mac-based experiences.

Thanks !!

I'm pretty sure the SA boxes introduce the glitches you mention due to hardware/software problems in the DVR? What you can try doing is recording a couple shows on the dvr, then play them back and record to a PC/Mac and note the points where glitches occur. Go back to the DVR and see if they are present on the DVR during playback. If not, then try re-transferring through firewire and note if it re-occurs and if in the same location.

Mac's will record through firewire once you download and install the Apple Firewire SDK 26. I use it every day and have both PC's and a Mac.
qz3fwd is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off