Samsung 3090/3270 HD-DVR Thread - Page 6 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #151 of 958 Old 08-06-2009, 12:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
hdtvfan2005's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Some very hot and dry place.
Posts: 2,279
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 15
The 3270 is newer and better than the 3090. The 3260 also shares the software and motherboard of the 3270 minus eSATA.
hdtvfan2005 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #152 of 958 Old 08-06-2009, 12:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
hdtvfan2005's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Some very hot and dry place.
Posts: 2,279
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 15
My 3260 has software v4.2.2.1 which is much newer than v2.4.9.2.
hdtvfan2005 is offline  
post #153 of 958 Old 08-06-2009, 06:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
hdtvfan2005's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Some very hot and dry place.
Posts: 2,279
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Updated the 3260 specs. The 3090 might be using the BCM7400 CPU while the 3270 uses the BCM7405 CPU.
hdtvfan2005 is offline  
post #154 of 958 Old 08-07-2009, 03:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
hdtvfan2005's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Some very hot and dry place.
Posts: 2,279
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 15
The Samsung 3090 uses a BCM7400 CPU while the 3270 uses a BCM7405 CPU.
hdtvfan2005 is offline  
post #155 of 958 Old 08-07-2009, 05:24 PM
Advanced Member
 
generalhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 568
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can you use the HDMI and Component outputs at the same time with the 3090?
generalhead is offline  
post #156 of 958 Old 08-09-2009, 06:24 PM
Newbie
 
avuser007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ssemone View Post

I get the exact same high pitched squeal on pause or any other DVR type function. I am using an HDMI cable from my 3090 to a Panasonic TC-L32C12.

I've enabled AC3 over HDMI which helped for a single pause. After that it started happening again.

S

Is there a suggested solution to the high pitched noise issue when pausing, rewinding or fast forwarding? Have had my new Samsung 3090 for about 3 weeks, this noise is incredibly annoying. Have tried jcalabria's instructions to activate AC3 audio over HDMI, that did not work. Have tried another HDMI cable from my living room TV, that did not work. Would appreciate any other suggestions.
avuser007 is offline  
post #157 of 958 Old 08-09-2009, 06:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jcalabria's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 4,250
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by avuser007 View Post

Is there a suggested solution to the high pitched noise issue when pausing, rewinding or fast forwarding? Have had my new Samsung 3090 for about 3 weeks, this noise is incredibly annoying. Have tried jcalabria's instructions to activate AC3 audio over HDMI, that did not work. Have tried another HDMI cable from my living room TV, that did not work. Would appreciate any other suggestions.

I have never heard any noises from mine, and none were reported until recently and now there seems to be several. It would be interesting to see if there is a common hardware, firmware, middleware or Navigator version involved.

Commercial AV Design Engineer, CTS-D Certified
TWC-Charlotte, 8640HDC/ODN 7.2.0_11

jcalabria is offline  
post #158 of 958 Old 08-11-2009, 05:26 PM
Newbie
 
avuser007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jcalabria View Post

I have never heard any noises from mine, and none were reported until recently and now there seems to be several. It would be interesting to see if there is a common hardware, firmware, middleware or Navigator version involved.

Happy to post specs, remind me where to look at what to post.
avuser007 is offline  
post #159 of 958 Old 08-11-2009, 05:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jcalabria's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 4,250
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by avuser007 View Post

Happy to post specs, remind me where to look at what to post.

Most of the Samsung related version info can be found on the third screen down in THIS POST (those are from my box). Instructions for entering the hardware diagnostics screens are at the top of that post.

The ODN (TW Navigator) version can be found by pressing and holding the [Select] button for about 10 seconds, then releasing and pressing the [Down] button. ODN version is the third line from the bottom on the first page.

Commercial AV Design Engineer, CTS-D Certified
TWC-Charlotte, 8640HDC/ODN 7.2.0_11

jcalabria is offline  
post #160 of 958 Old 08-11-2009, 05:52 PM
Newbie
 
avuser007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jcalabria View Post

Most of the Samsung related version info can be found on the third screen down in this post (those are from my box). Instructions for entering the hardware diagnostics screens are at the top of that post.

The ODN (TW Navigator) version can be found by pressing and holding the [Select] button for about 10 seconds, then releasing and pressing the [Down] button. ODN version is the third line from the bottom on the first page.

Software Version 2.4.9.2
Build Date Jan 22 2009 11:46:46
Boot ROM Version V1.12
Middleware Version V1077
Current Bank 2
Code Stamp Name smtH3090_twc_v2492_0122_RLS
Last Download Name smtH3090_twc_v2492_0122_RLS.ir

Hardware Information
HW Chip Revision PCS-PR, 74000032

ODN Version 3.1.0_11 2008/11/26 10:18
avuser007 is offline  
post #161 of 958 Old 08-11-2009, 06:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jcalabria's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 4,250
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by avuser007 View Post

Software Version 2.4.9.2
Build Date Jan 22 2009 11:46:46
Boot ROM Version V1.12
Middleware Version V1077
Current Bank 2
Code Stamp Name smtH3090_twc_v2492_0122_RLS
Last Download Name smtH3090_twc_v2492_0122_RLS.ir

Hardware Information
HW Chip Revision PCS-PR, 74000032

ODN Version 3.1.0_11 2008/11/26 10:18


Definitely some different Samsung versions in there... Guess they made some "improvements":
  • Software: 2.4.9.2_0122 vs 2.4.9_1124 (see UPDATE below)
  • Boot ROM: 1.12 vs 1.11
Hardware version looks the same.

You also have the same "old" version of ODN.

Need more samples of squealers vs non-squealers to see if there is a pattern.

UPDATE:

I realized last night that the pictures/info I had posted were from my original box and that I had swapped boxes along the way. The box I have now also has 2.4.9.2_0122 software (same as avuser007), but my Boot ROM is still at 1.11. Again, this box does not squeal, which may eliminate the software version as the culprit.

Commercial AV Design Engineer, CTS-D Certified
TWC-Charlotte, 8640HDC/ODN 7.2.0_11

jcalabria is offline  
post #162 of 958 Old 08-11-2009, 07:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
hdtvfan2005's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Some very hot and dry place.
Posts: 2,279
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 15
This is what my SMT-H3260 says.

SW version: v4.2.2.1
Build: Feb 21 2009 04:34:09
Boot Rom: v1.07
Middleware v1081
HW: 04
Chip: 74050011
Code Stamp: smtH3270_twc_v4221_0220_RLS

ODN is v3.1.1_3 2009/02/05 12:35

This is not a DVR but it uses the same exact software as the SMT-H3270 HD-DVR. The 32xx uses the BCM7405 while the 3090 uses the BCM7400. I have a feeling that the 32xx is just a souped up 30xx box. It's very much related to the 3090.
hdtvfan2005 is offline  
post #163 of 958 Old 08-12-2009, 01:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
hdtvfan2005's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Some very hot and dry place.
Posts: 2,279
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 15
The 3270 should have newer software since there were some bugs that needed to be fixed. Those were the troublesome bugs that worried the TWC San Diego engineering staff. There are still some bugs that need to be fixed but those bugs are fairly minor and wont cause TWC San Diego to delay deploying the box but I think it will be delayed yet again. I wont get a 3270 until I clear out my 8300HDC. Once I do get one I'll post what software it has. Or someone else could do that If they get one before me.
hdtvfan2005 is offline  
post #164 of 958 Old 08-12-2009, 12:19 PM
Member
 
2chnut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just swapped out my SA HD DVR for the Samsung SMT-H3090B (320G). The way it is hooked up is the same as the SA box was- HDMI out of the DVR to my Yamaha 663 AVR and the AVR outputting HDMI to my Toshiba DLP. Just after I reboot the 3090 everything is fine- picture and audio. But when I just normally power down and turn everything back on there seems to be a Handshake issue- no picture or audio. If it works fine after a box reboot why then after a power down-power up cycle am I having an issue?
Thank you in advance for your help
2chnut is offline  
post #165 of 958 Old 08-15-2009, 03:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jcalabria's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 4,250
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Well, I succesfully transplanted the Seagate Pipeline 320GB drive into my 3090. Could not have been easier... and all is well so far.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jcalabria View Post

I just ordered one of these Pipeline 320GB drives for $55 shipped... worth a shot for that. I feel good about this drive working as it's a factory available option. I wasn't feeling adventurous enough to try a 500GB or 1TB version since I never had capacity issues when I had my first 320GB 3090. The 500GB drive was tempting, though, as it is only $5 more than the 320GB.

If it doesn't work I can stuff it in my media PC.


Commercial AV Design Engineer, CTS-D Certified
TWC-Charlotte, 8640HDC/ODN 7.2.0_11

jcalabria is offline  
post #166 of 958 Old 08-15-2009, 03:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Riverside_Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Upper West Side, Manhattan, NYC
Posts: 5,449
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jcalabria View Post

Well, I succesfully transplanted the Seagate Pipeline 320GB drive into my 3090. Could not have been easier... and all is well so far.

And what security thingee did you encounter? Dab of paint over a screw head, sticker with non-removable adhesive??

Time Warner NYC (Man North Head End) - 8742HD DVR ODN 5.2.0_9

Riverside_Guy is offline  
post #167 of 958 Old 08-15-2009, 03:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jcalabria's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 4,250
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by Riverside_Guy View Post

And what security thingee did you encounter? Dab of paint over a screw head, sticker with non-removable adhesive??

T10 security Torx screws on case (with the pin in the center). They are so "standard" and readily available that they don't even qualify as security screws anymore. Nothing else.

Commercial AV Design Engineer, CTS-D Certified
TWC-Charlotte, 8640HDC/ODN 7.2.0_11

jcalabria is offline  
post #168 of 958 Old 08-16-2009, 04:30 AM
Newbie
 
tdoubleu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Went down to Time Warners 23rd Street office on SAT AM 8/16. The only HD DVR boxes TW had were the 8300 HDC's. I politely refused the box and asked to speak with a supervisor about getting the newer Samsung model. She was very aware of the many issues people have been having with the 8300 HDC's.

She led me to believe TW was going to be updating their software soon. I said my issue was more about being able to use the SATA port.

I was put on a "waiting list" with about 10 people before me for the new Samsung box.

Just a heads up before anybody decides to just head on down. I was told that she usually orders about 20 boxes a day and quite often she receives zero.
tdoubleu is offline  
post #169 of 958 Old 08-16-2009, 07:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Riverside_Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Upper West Side, Manhattan, NYC
Posts: 5,449
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jcalabria View Post

T10 security Torx screws on case (with the pin in the center). They are so "standard" and readily available that they don't even qualify as security screws anymore. Nothing else.

So they are not regular, standard Torx screws?

Time Warner NYC (Man North Head End) - 8742HD DVR ODN 5.2.0_9

Riverside_Guy is offline  
post #170 of 958 Old 08-16-2009, 08:00 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jcalabria's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 4,250
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by Riverside_Guy View Post

So they are not regular, standard Torx screws?




Commercial AV Design Engineer, CTS-D Certified
TWC-Charlotte, 8640HDC/ODN 7.2.0_11

jcalabria is offline  
post #171 of 958 Old 08-16-2009, 08:49 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Riverside_Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Upper West Side, Manhattan, NYC
Posts: 5,449
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jcalabria View Post


Ah, thanks SO much for posting the images... now I know exactly what to get (while I have several "hardware" type stores in my nabe, I have found it difficult to find what I'm looking for because none are like such stores used to be and none have anyone who speaks a whole lot of English... a few weeks ago I want to 2 of them looking for a 6mm allen wrench and most looked blank until I pointed out what an allen wrench was... one of them proceeded to shows me SAE sized ones). So knowing visually what I'm looking for is of GREAT help.

Ah, just noticed you did provide a link to such bits on Amazon... but they don't come FROM them and are part oof this thing where the cost to ship is way above the actual cost and more than the cost of the product (5 bucks to buy, almost 7 to ship).

Time Warner NYC (Man North Head End) - 8742HD DVR ODN 5.2.0_9

Riverside_Guy is offline  
post #172 of 958 Old 08-16-2009, 10:00 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jcalabria's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 4,250
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by Riverside_Guy View Post

Ah, thanks SO much for posting the images... now I know exactly what to get (while I have several "hardware" type stores in my nabe, I have found it difficult to find what I'm looking for because none are like such stores used to be and none have anyone who speaks a whole lot of English... a few weeks ago I want to 2 of them looking for a 6mm allen wrench and most looked blank until I pointed out what an allen wrench was... one of them proceeded to shows me SAE sized ones). So knowing visually what I'm looking for is of GREAT help.

Ah, just noticed you did provide a link to such bits on Amazon... but they don't come FROM them and are part oof this thing where the cost to ship is way above the actual cost and more than the cost of the product (5 bucks to buy, almost 7 to ship).

I didn't buy mine there.... I just posted that for the pictures initially. I have a couple of security bit sets actually... one was a 33 pc security bit kit I picked up many years ago at the local Harbor Freight store... the other was a Torx-only kit with some larger bits I needed to pull the airbag on my son's car a few years ago.

Commercial AV Design Engineer, CTS-D Certified
TWC-Charlotte, 8640HDC/ODN 7.2.0_11

jcalabria is offline  
post #173 of 958 Old 08-16-2009, 05:15 PM
Advanced Member
 
ANGEL 35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: New York City
Posts: 504
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tdoubleu View Post

Went down to Time Warners 23rd Street office on SAT AM 8/16. The only HD DVR boxes TW had were the 8300 HDC's. I politely refused the box and asked to speak with a supervisor about getting the newer Samsung model. She was very aware of the many issues people have been having with the 8300 HDC's.

She led me to believe TW was going to be updating their software soon. I said my issue was more about being able to use the SATA port.

I was put on a "waiting list" with about 10 people before me for the new Samsung box.

Just a heads up before anybody decides to just head on down. I was told that she usually orders about 20 boxes a day and quite often she receives zero.

I never was put on a waiting list. Last time i was at 23st they had more then 20 3090 boxs. the boxs were on the back wall. it look like maybe 30 to 40 boxs maybe more I dont know if any one at 23st knows about updates or software updates Does any one know about this???

ITS HOW YOU LOOK AT IT
ANGEL 35 is offline  
post #174 of 958 Old 08-17-2009, 06:56 AM
Member
 
galla47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jcalabria View Post

Well, I succesfully transplanted the Seagate Pipeline 320GB drive into my 3090. Could not have been easier... and all is well so far.

Let us know how it goes after a couple days... and after rebooting. If it is still working, you may want to talk to Seagate on getting a commission for all the drives we're likely to buy.

-KG
galla47 is offline  
post #175 of 958 Old 08-17-2009, 07:27 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jcalabria's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 4,250
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by galla47 View Post

Let us know how it goes after a couple days... and after rebooting. If it is still working, you may want to talk to Seagate on getting a commission for all the drives we're likely to buy.

-KG

It's been rebooted a few times just to test... no issues. Only have it up to 4% full, though. I will purposely not delete shows this week after viewing... making sure it works fine beyond 50% should be the next milestone.

Commercial AV Design Engineer, CTS-D Certified
TWC-Charlotte, 8640HDC/ODN 7.2.0_11

jcalabria is offline  
post #176 of 958 Old 08-17-2009, 09:22 AM
Member
 
bskultety's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jcalabria View Post

It's been rebooted a few times just to test... no issues. Only have it up to 4% full, though. I will purposely not delete shows this week after viewing... making sure it works fine beyond 50% should be the next milestone.

I replaced my drive about 3 weeks ago and to date I have had no issues at all.
bskultety is offline  
post #177 of 958 Old 08-17-2009, 02:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Riverside_Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Upper West Side, Manhattan, NYC
Posts: 5,449
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by galla47 View Post

Let us know how it goes after a couple days... and after rebooting. If it is still working, you may want to talk to Seagate on getting a commission for all the drives we're likely to buy.

-KG

BUT, didn't you try an internal swap and go back to the 160 as it was doing bad things? That scares me because I think you are in NYC, right?

Time Warner NYC (Man North Head End) - 8742HD DVR ODN 5.2.0_9

Riverside_Guy is offline  
post #178 of 958 Old 08-17-2009, 03:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jcalabria's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 4,250
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by Riverside_Guy View Post

BUT, didn't you try an internal swap and go back to the 160 as it was doing bad things? That scares me because I think you are in NYC, right?

galla47's swap wasn't with a Seagate Pipeline drive, and it wasn't a 320GB.

bskultety and I are the two that have used the same 320GB Seagate Pipeline drive that is the factory option... and both seem to be working fine.

Commercial AV Design Engineer, CTS-D Certified
TWC-Charlotte, 8640HDC/ODN 7.2.0_11

jcalabria is offline  
post #179 of 958 Old 08-17-2009, 04:19 PM
Newbie
 
tdoubleu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just got the 3090 today. ( TWNYC ) Will be swapping out the internal hard drive when the drive arrives in the mail... Will post results.
tdoubleu is offline  
post #180 of 958 Old 08-17-2009, 04:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jcalabria's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 4,250
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by tdoubleu View Post

Just got the 3090 today. ( TWNYC ) Will be swapping out the internal hard drive when the drive arrives in the mail... Will post results.

Did you order the Seagate 320?

Commercial AV Design Engineer, CTS-D Certified
TWC-Charlotte, 8640HDC/ODN 7.2.0_11

jcalabria is offline  
Reply HDTV Recorders



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off