Can a DirecTV HD DVR be connected to a non-HDTV? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 06-17-2009, 06:12 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Jonzee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Baltimore
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So...I have had the privilage of baby sitting a 50" E 3 series Sony Bravia for the last year. But alas the owner has returned from overseas and retrieved it. Until I figure out what to get I want to hook my regular Cable ready tv to my HD DVR box. Problem is there is no coax output on the back of the box--just two satellite tuners.

Someone said I could run it through my DVR? or VCR but I am not sure if that is true. Help !
Jonzee is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 06-17-2009, 06:16 PM
Member
 
bwer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Asheville, NC
Posts: 136
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes. As long as the DVR is set to send 480i on the outputs, all that it records or plays will be downconverted and will work with your SDTV. If it has no RF output, you will either need an RF modulator for your TV, or a device with RCA/S-Video input and RF output, which includes most VCRs and DVD Recorders.
bwer is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 06-17-2009, 06:32 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
walford's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 16,789
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Are you saying you have a cable or satelite satellite DVR TV tuner box that has 2 inputs but no coax outputs? This does not make sense. What make/model cable/satellite DVR box do you have? It must have some SD outputs such as S-vdieo or composite output if it does not provide SD RF output.
walford is offline  
post #4 of 4 Old 06-17-2009, 11:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BeachComber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Wandering a Beach Somewhere....
Posts: 2,618
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Don't use the RF output on Channel 3 or 4. Use the S Video or the Yellow Connector to run to your Non-HDTV. You do not use the HDMI to your Non-HDTV.
BeachComber is offline  
Reply HDTV Recorders

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off