OTA HD Recording - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 37 Old 06-29-2009, 09:20 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
(I'm new to AVSForum and when I searched for this topic I saw that there were a few threads that predated the recent switchover, so I'm wondering what has changed)

Background: My wife and I have a 42" LCD TV that we use for various computer and video-editing work but we watch very little TV - not enough to justify a subscription service like cable - and we've very busy anyway so we're unlikely to be home when a show is on. But a week ago, after the national switch-over we hooked an indoor antenna to our TV and discovered that its built in ATSC tuner could pick up over a dozen Boston-area and southern NH stations in crisp, sharp glorious HD!

So now the question is: how can we RECORD this HD content so we can watch our few shows on our schedule?

From the other threads as of months ago it looks like this involves either hacking a Tivo or buying a used, discontinued product. What's up with that, anyway? It seems bizarre. Has this situation improved now that all OTA content is HD?

Thanks in advance.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 37 Old 06-29-2009, 09:33 AM
AVS Addicted Member

There are only two choices on the market for dual-tuner ATSC HDTV DVRs:
  1. DTVPal DVR ($250 w/o fees)

2. TivoHD ($600 w/o fees, $250 w/ fees)

Click the links for more information.

HDTV Recorder Comparison Chart | DTVPal DVR FAQ | New! TiVo Premiere (Series4) FAQ |
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
post #3 of 37 Old 06-29-2009, 09:44 AM
Thread Ender

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 71 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by plnelson View Post

........... Has this situation improved now that all OTA content is HD?

All OTA content is DIGITAL. Some of this content is HD, much of it is still SD.