Bell PVR 9242 - Without Bell Service? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 08-31-2009, 11:50 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
vlrafspv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I owna Bell PVR 9242 but I'm tired of paying for the Bell Expressvu service. Is it possible to attached an HD antenna and use the PVR with it, without subscribing to Expressvu?

Thanks,

Bert
vlrafspv is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 08-31-2009, 01:02 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
walford's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 16,789
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Since the 9242 only supports satellite broadcast signals and does not support OTA analog or digital broadcasts how would you expect to get any satellite broadcasts for it you do not have their service?

http://www.bell.ca/shopping/HD-PVR-P.../62129.details
walford is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 08-31-2009, 01:08 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
vlrafspv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well, there is an "Antenna In" coax input in the back of the unit.. I assumed it was for plugging in an Antenna... but I can't get the signal to get to the TV (my receiver is currently not hooked to the expressvu dish).

Why would there be such an input then?
vlrafspv is offline  
post #4 of 7 Old 08-31-2009, 05:28 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
walford's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 16,789
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I assume that the antenna in connector on the back of the unit is for input from the satellite antenna.
walford is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 08-31-2009, 07:21 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
vlrafspv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
There are two Satellite inputs (since it's HD there are two cables from the dish) and separately there is a Antenna input and a Cable input. I'm still thinking there may be a way to use it without subscribing to Bell.

Anyone else has some thoughts?

Thanks,

Bert
vlrafspv is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 08-31-2009, 08:53 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 45,876
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
None of the cable or DBS DVR's work unless they are subscribed.

'Better Living Through Modern, Expensive, Electronic Devices'

Ken H is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 09-01-2009, 05:26 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
vlrafspv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
That's unfortunate. Thanks for the answer guys.
vlrafspv is offline  
Reply HDTV Recorders

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off