Official DVICO TViX M6620N HD (ATSC/QAM) Tuner Topic - Page 16 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 2Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #451 of 2288 Old 09-14-2010, 10:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dEEahn20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 1,066
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I performed the safemode upgrade and it is booting up fine...for now. It booted up fine before for awhile. The "random" shutdowns still occur .

Happens when I navigate folders, both on network and internal hdd.
Happens when I attempt playback on certain files, both on network and internal hdd. There is no rhyme or reason to what type of files I try to playback.

Never occurs while there is no user input or just watching tv.

I have requested an exchange. This is a brand new product and I don't want to troubleshoot anymore with DC, but I would like to discuss some possible reasons with you folks for knowledge sake.

Any thoughts?

LN-T4671F - FW: 2003.2
DV-980H - FW: 0B-0903
6620NP - FW: 2.10
N081URAY-Y37 - FW: 0.0
dEEahn20 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #452 of 2288 Old 09-14-2010, 10:41 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
TPeterson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: San Carlos, CA
Posts: 11,846
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Yeah, it's broken.

From the symptoms it could be many things, but they all evidently lie inside the box.
TPeterson is offline  
post #453 of 2288 Old 09-15-2010, 09:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dEEahn20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 1,066
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by TPeterson View Post

Yeah, it's broken.

From the symptoms it could be many things, but they all evidently lie inside the box.

It's not funny ....

Yeah, it now shuts off when just watching tv and performing no background functions.

LN-T4671F - FW: 2003.2
DV-980H - FW: 0B-0903
6620NP - FW: 2.10
N081URAY-Y37 - FW: 0.0
dEEahn20 is offline  
post #454 of 2288 Old 09-17-2010, 01:53 AM
Senior Member
 
latreche34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 292
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by dEEahn20 View Post

I performed the safemode upgrade and it is booting up fine...for now. It booted up fine before for awhile. The "random" shutdowns still occur .

Happens when I navigate folders, both on network and internal hdd.
Happens when I attempt playback on certain files, both on network and internal hdd. There is no rhyme or reason to what type of files I try to playback.

Never occurs while there is no user input or just watching tv.

I have requested an exchange. This is a brand new product and I don't want to troubleshoot anymore with DC, but I would like to discuss some possible reasons with you folks for knowledge sake.

Any thoughts?

How many times did you exchange your player, seems like they have the whole stock diffective, the other thing is don't forgot that it's made in asia therefore cheap parts, mine started acting weired too on top of accasional shuttdown for no reason, the remote control buttons got mixed up say when I hit stop I get volume up it happens frequantly with diffrent buttons, I don't have any hope that this player will ever function properly, every time they release an update to adress previous issues they crate new ones
latreche34 is offline  
post #455 of 2288 Old 09-17-2010, 09:37 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
TPeterson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: San Carlos, CA
Posts: 11,846
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 16
latreche34--

Have you tried using the "safe upgrade" mode?
TPeterson is offline  
post #456 of 2288 Old 09-17-2010, 11:30 AM
Senior Member
 
latreche34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 292
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by TPeterson View Post

latreche34--

Have you tried using the "safe upgrade" mode?

No but I don't think that will change anything because the firmware was installed properly.
latreche34 is offline  
post #457 of 2288 Old 09-17-2010, 11:37 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
TPeterson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: San Carlos, CA
Posts: 11,846
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 16
It doesn't sound as though the f/w was "installed properly". You have nothing to lose (aside from some easily replaced user settings) by giving the safe upgrade a shot.
TPeterson is offline  
post #458 of 2288 Old 09-18-2010, 02:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dEEahn20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 1,066
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by latreche34 View Post

How many times did you exchange your player, seems like they have the whole stock diffective, the other thing is don't forgot that it's made in asia therefore cheap parts, mine started acting weired too on top of accasional shuttdown for no reason, the remote control buttons got mixed up say when I hit stop I get volume up it happens frequantly with diffrent buttons, I don't have any hope that this player will ever function properly, every time they release an update to adress previous issues they crate new ones

I haven't exchanged a player yet. I'm still on my first unit. I have had those remote button issue too . I had hope until you crushed it

LN-T4671F - FW: 2003.2
DV-980H - FW: 0B-0903
6620NP - FW: 2.10
N081URAY-Y37 - FW: 0.0
dEEahn20 is offline  
post #459 of 2288 Old 09-18-2010, 04:46 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
TPeterson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: San Carlos, CA
Posts: 11,846
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 16
dEEahn20--

I notice that you have a Samsung DTV (me too). I haven't seen the issue of incorrect actions from remote buttons, but I have found that the backlight modulation from my TV can cause interference with TViX IR controls, depending on the "backlight" setting and how long the set has been running. Perhaps that is related to what's happening to you and latreche34?
TPeterson is offline  
post #460 of 2288 Old 09-20-2010, 08:35 PM
Newbie
 
Chrizzillionaire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I recently upgraded to the 6620 from the 3310, and one of the functions I was really excited about was the dual tuner addition. I actually bought the m6600n and pulled the tuner card (t-411) out of my 3310, thus making what I thought to be a fully functional 6620n, but after getting it up and running, and installing the latest firmware (2.0.5), everything works great except that I can't record two programs at the same time, or exit a recording in progress.

Is this because I have the wrong tuner card?? I can't find the model number of the tuner in the 6620 anywhere.

Thanks for the help.
Chrizzillionaire is offline  
post #461 of 2288 Old 09-20-2010, 09:48 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
TPeterson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: San Carlos, CA
Posts: 11,846
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 16
The T-411 is a single-tuner card (which is why the R-3310 only records one channel at a time). AFAIK, the 6620 tuner pair is not sold separately but maybe your dealer will agree to a trade up for the appropriate fee.
TPeterson is offline  
post #462 of 2288 Old 09-20-2010, 10:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dEEahn20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 1,066
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by TPeterson View Post

dEEahn20--

I notice that you have a Samsung DTV (me too). I haven't seen the issue of incorrect actions from remote buttons, but I have found that the backlight modulation from my TV can cause interference with TViX IR controls, depending on the "backlight" setting and how long the set has been running. Perhaps that is related to what's happening to you and latreche34?

I run my backlight at half samsung's out of box settings. I have noticed poor responses even from my harmony 700. Now I know why. Your assumptions make sense to me but that being so, then there is no fix .

LN-T4671F - FW: 2003.2
DV-980H - FW: 0B-0903
6620NP - FW: 2.10
N081URAY-Y37 - FW: 0.0
dEEahn20 is offline  
post #463 of 2288 Old 09-20-2010, 10:56 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
TPeterson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: San Carlos, CA
Posts: 11,846
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 16
One fix is to put several layers of white masking tape over the IR sensors on the affected units (not the remote control(s)!). Surprisingly, that helps in many cases to reduce the interference. Presumably, that's because the IR beam from the remote is far stronger than necessary and it can penetrate the tape better than the stray backlight.
TPeterson is offline  
post #464 of 2288 Old 09-21-2010, 12:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
dEEahn20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 1,066
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by TPeterson View Post

Yeah, it's broken.

From the symptoms it could be many things, but they all evidently lie inside the box.

I have now received RMA approval. I ran the device without a hdd and still had shut down issues but they did seem less frequent.

LN-T4671F - FW: 2003.2
DV-980H - FW: 0B-0903
6620NP - FW: 2.10
N081URAY-Y37 - FW: 0.0
dEEahn20 is offline  
post #465 of 2288 Old 09-21-2010, 12:33 AM
AVS Special Member
 
dEEahn20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 1,066
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by TPeterson View Post

One fix is to put several layers of white masking tape over the IR sensors on the affected units (not the remote control(s)!). Surprisingly, that helps in many cases to reduce the interference. Presumably, that's because the IR beam from the remote is far stronger than necessary and it can penetrate the tape better than the stray backlight.

Interesting. If that's the case then I don't think my tv's backlight is the issue because of the way my cabinet is set up. The tvix is below the tv, recessed in the cabinet, and behind dark glass. I don't think the tv's backlight could reach the tvix's IR sensor.

Trying your solution is worth a shot though. Which tape specifically do you recommend, preferably one that leaves no residue when removed.

LN-T4671F - FW: 2003.2
DV-980H - FW: 0B-0903
6620NP - FW: 2.10
N081URAY-Y37 - FW: 0.0
dEEahn20 is offline  
post #466 of 2288 Old 09-21-2010, 05:29 AM
Senior Member
 
latreche34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 292
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 19
I don't have a TV in my hometheatre room, it's a projector and its 5 feet away from the cabinet, theory doesn't make any sense because visible light and infrared are way far from each other frequancies.
latreche34 is offline  
post #467 of 2288 Old 09-21-2010, 07:43 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
TPeterson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: San Carlos, CA
Posts: 11,846
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Guess what, latreche34? The "ir sensor" in most boxes is also sensitive to visible light.

I've actually done the experiment--it's not a "theory".

dEEahn20, the residue will depend on the brand, but the type is plain old painter's masking tape.
TPeterson is offline  
post #468 of 2288 Old 09-30-2010, 03:22 PM
Newbie
 
vixensjlin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi there:

I am looking for a PVR, here is my situations:

1. I only get OTA ATSC HDTV signal by antenna, currently connected directly to my TV without additional tuners.
2. I need to have time-shifting and scheduled recording function.
3. Captions are really necessary.
4. 40% of my TV time are watching my collections of movies or listening music...I just wish it can support APE music files.
5. HD-audio is not a must for me.

After reading all above posts and the PVR comparison chart, I get some questions:

1. Since firmware 1.9.9b7 the M6620N can simultaneously do two recordings while watching other channel/video, does it means it can simultaneously record one channel and time shift the other channel? Thus watching a recording-in-progress from the beginning is possible now?

2. Can recorded HDTV programs be listed with program title now? Say, list all CSI episodes.

3. Can I switch on captions while watching pre-recorded HDTV OTA programs on new firmware?

Thanks a lot for your inputs!
vixensjlin is offline  
post #469 of 2288 Old 09-30-2010, 04:18 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
TPeterson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: San Carlos, CA
Posts: 11,846
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 16
vix--

I think that the M6620N fulfills all of your requirements, except for one that sounds as though it's a show stopper: TViXes don't support ATSC closed captions.

They do support .srt subtitles and there's a great PC free utililty called CCextractor that can produce .srt files from the DTVCC in .tp files so that you can view the captions on TViX, albeit via a PC-based process.
TPeterson is offline  
post #470 of 2288 Old 09-30-2010, 09:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dEEahn20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 1,066
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You cannot record two channels and watch another channel. That would require 3 tuners.

You can record two channels and watch/listen to data files

Or

Record one channel and watch/timeshift another channel.

LN-T4671F - FW: 2003.2
DV-980H - FW: 0B-0903
6620NP - FW: 2.10
N081URAY-Y37 - FW: 0.0
dEEahn20 is offline  
post #471 of 2288 Old 09-30-2010, 10:02 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
TPeterson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: San Carlos, CA
Posts: 11,846
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Nobody asked about recording two channels and watching a third.

Well...I suppose you could read it that way.

To be clear: watching an in-progress recording from the beginning is now possible.
TPeterson is offline  
post #472 of 2288 Old 09-30-2010, 10:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dEEahn20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 1,066
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by TPeterson View Post

Nobody asked about recording two channels and watching a third.

Well...I suppose you could read it that way.

To be clear: watching an in-progress recording from the beginning is now possible.

Hey TP,

I was replying to vixen but just to clarify I will quote him,

Quote:


1. Since firmware 1.9.9b7 the M6620N can simultaneously do two recordings while watching other channel/video, does it means it can simultaneously record one channel and time shift the other channel? Thus watching a recording-in-progress from the beginning is possible now?

I'm not sure how else you can read that?

LN-T4671F - FW: 2003.2
DV-980H - FW: 0B-0903
6620NP - FW: 2.10
N081URAY-Y37 - FW: 0.0
dEEahn20 is offline  
post #473 of 2288 Old 09-30-2010, 10:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dEEahn20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 1,066
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You're right I did misread it. The spec is poorly written, not vixen's question.

LN-T4671F - FW: 2003.2
DV-980H - FW: 0B-0903
6620NP - FW: 2.10
N081URAY-Y37 - FW: 0.0
dEEahn20 is offline  
post #474 of 2288 Old 10-01-2010, 12:47 PM
Newbie
 
vixensjlin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sorry about my English, now you can see why I need captions for recorded programs....

It's a pity that 6620 cannot show it.
vixensjlin is offline  
post #475 of 2288 Old 10-01-2010, 12:58 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
TPeterson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: San Carlos, CA
Posts: 11,846
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I agree that it's a pity not to be able to directly view DTVCC text--and I continue to pester DViCo to add that ability.

But as long as you have a PC available to process the .tp files with CCExtractor to produce companion .srt files, you can view the DTVCC data on TViX playback.
TPeterson is offline  
post #476 of 2288 Old 11-01-2010, 02:55 PM
Advanced Member
 
jhue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 720
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I need to get my girlfriend something to time-shift OTA content. Does anyone have an opinion as to which device would be less troublesome for OTA recording - the 6620N, or a Dish Network DTVPal DVR? She's used to a TWC HD DVR, but plans on dumping her cable service soon.
jhue is offline  
post #477 of 2288 Old 11-01-2010, 03:59 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
TPeterson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: San Carlos, CA
Posts: 11,846
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 16
The M-6620N works very well for time-shifting OTA (or cable) DTV, but I have no experience with the DTVPal so I cannot compare the two. In case it helps, there is a table comparing features of various DVRs in this forum, but I see that its 6620 information appears unfavorably biased by lack of familiarity with the device.
TPeterson is offline  
post #478 of 2288 Old 11-01-2010, 11:44 PM
Advanced Member
 
jhue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 720
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I think I am going to give the DTVPal DVR a shot because a guide based on info from PSIP is not going to work for my GF. She expects to be able to see a week's worth of programming in the guide to set up her timers. I'll just have to cross my fingers and hope the TVGOS on the DTVPal works ok.
jhue is offline  
post #479 of 2288 Old 11-05-2010, 10:09 AM
Member
 
otacool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a TVix 3300, and later I bought two DTV Pals. I retired my 3300. DTV Pals are far superior than 3300 in term of DVR functions including time-shifting OTA, and TV guide.
otacool is offline  
post #480 of 2288 Old 11-05-2010, 10:18 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
TPeterson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: San Carlos, CA
Posts: 11,846
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Yes, and the M6620N is far superior in PVR functions to the R3310 too. You're comparing apples and oranges, otacool.
TPeterson is offline  
Reply HDTV Recorders

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off