Official DVICO TViX M6620N HD (ATSC/QAM) Tuner Topic - Page 77 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 2Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2281 of 2306 Old 06-09-2014, 04:12 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
TPeterson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: San Carlos, CA
Posts: 11,974
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 90 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Bruce, did you try creating a playlist? Offhand, I don't even remember how to do that myself, but IIRC that is a supported feature and it might solve the repeat-play thing.
TPeterson is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2282 of 2306 Old 06-09-2014, 04:31 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
videobruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 15,657
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 410 Post(s)
Liked: 197
No.
I see that is possible using Winamp within a PC and also possible within the DVR, but I'm not sure how that can be beneficial. Using the music 'Window mode' seems to work fine, it's just a odd quirk stopping (and repeating) the cut at the bottom of each page.

I did place a 'Autorun' folder in the root of the HDD (actually two, adding a "1" to the folders name to allow it to sit there with no conflict of names and that seems to work ok.

I did connect a portable LCD display to the composite out of the recorder so I can see the menu and folders without turning the TV on. The screen is small for the distance one is sitting, but it's far better that the built in display. wink.gif It's too bad they didn't use a better display with room for more text.

.
.
Abundant OTA television is what makes this country different from all others. Lets keep it this way. If you like Wi-Fi so much, OTA fits right in. After all, it is wireless.
videobruce is offline  
post #2283 of 2306 Old 06-09-2014, 05:38 PM
Member
 
cah95046's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by latreche34 View Post

Can you tell us if channel master plays the vast majority of media files, does it have web applications such as youtube? Does it support clear QAM?

The CM only does the OTA DVR function. It is not a media player or network media server.

The CM does have VUDU and I believe there are plans for other services. However, all of my TVs and BD players have netflix, youtube, amazon prime, ...... so I don't care about these. I bought the CM for the DVR function only.

I'm using a WD 2T "green" HDD (the one I had in the 6620) in an external USB enclosure. Seems to work just fine with the CM. I don't think the CM is particularly sensitive to a particular HDD.

My plan is to move programs I want to archive to my network server and use the 6620 to play these files.

Also, after the last 2-3yrs with no tech support for the 6620, the CM tech support is a breath of fresh air. I've asked 3-4 questions and they have all been answered next day.
JHBrandt likes this.
cah95046 is offline  
post #2284 of 2306 Old 06-16-2014, 03:26 PM
Member
 
northernlight11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Oregon
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just noticed the YouTube feature is working again !!most of the video's I tried worked and a few worked after the second attempt.
northernlight11 is offline  
post #2285 of 2306 Old 06-16-2014, 03:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Aleron Ives's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 3,575
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 827 Post(s)
Liked: 625
Enjoy it while it lasts. I'm sure Google will make another pointless change to YouTube that will break compatibility again soon enough.
northernlight11 likes this.
Aleron Ives is offline  
post #2286 of 2306 Old 06-17-2014, 03:31 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
videobruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 15,657
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 410 Post(s)
Liked: 197
When did You Tube get connected with Google??

.
.
Abundant OTA television is what makes this country different from all others. Lets keep it this way. If you like Wi-Fi so much, OTA fits right in. After all, it is wireless.
videobruce is offline  
post #2287 of 2306 Old 06-17-2014, 06:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JoeKustra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ashland, PA 17921
Posts: 7,063
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 246 Post(s)
Liked: 155
Quote:
Originally Posted by videobruce View Post
When did You Tube get connected with Google??

They own it:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/YouTube first sentence.
JoeKustra is offline  
post #2288 of 2306 Old 06-17-2014, 01:09 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
videobruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 15,657
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 410 Post(s)
Liked: 197
Guess I missed the announcement. Impossible to keep tarck of who owns who. It changes five minutes from now anyway.

.
.
Abundant OTA television is what makes this country different from all others. Lets keep it this way. If you like Wi-Fi so much, OTA fits right in. After all, it is wireless.
videobruce is offline  
post #2289 of 2306 Old 12-17-2014, 09:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Aleron Ives's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 3,575
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 827 Post(s)
Liked: 625
I was thinking of buying another one of these, but do I recall correctly that you can't load the US firmware on a Korean model? The only remaining sellers are shipping these from South Korea, and while they claim that the units have an English interface, I recall somebody saying that he imported one and couldn't change the language. Has anyone else been brave enough to try?
Aleron Ives is offline  
post #2290 of 2306 Old 12-18-2014, 03:14 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
videobruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 15,657
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 410 Post(s)
Liked: 197
Keep searching on e-bay. Eventually you will get lucky and get one for a decent price.

.
.
Abundant OTA television is what makes this country different from all others. Lets keep it this way. If you like Wi-Fi so much, OTA fits right in. After all, it is wireless.
videobruce is offline  
post #2291 of 2306 Old 12-18-2014, 03:24 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JoeKustra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ashland, PA 17921
Posts: 7,063
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 246 Post(s)
Liked: 155
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aleron Ives View Post
I was thinking of buying another one of these, but do I recall correctly that you can't load the US firmware on a Korean model? The only remaining sellers are shipping these from South Korea, and while they claim that the units have an English interface, I recall somebody saying that he imported one and couldn't change the language. Has anyone else been brave enough to try?
If you can wait until I check the box contents, you can have mine. Very few hours (like <100) and 500G drive. Just pay for shipping. Sound like a plan? You can PM me if you are interested.
JoeKustra is offline  
post #2292 of 2306 Old 12-23-2014, 08:06 AM
Member
 
oshunluvr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Long Beach, CA
Posts: 92
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Going back to the "cord" :(

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aleron Ives View Post
I was thinking of buying another one of these, but do I recall correctly that you can't load the US firmware on a Korean model? The only remaining sellers are shipping these from South Korea, and while they claim that the units have an English interface, I recall somebody saying that he imported one and couldn't change the language. Has anyone else been brave enough to try?
I'm getting ready to sell my M-6620N. I bought it at the end of 2011 from Kai. I have to find the box and manual, but I'm sure I have them somewhere. It works fine but there's a few scratches on it. I have the original remote. I never used the dongle (I have a wired network) so I can't say if it works or not. I'll even throw in a 500GB HD (WD Blue) if you want it, but it's 5 years old so not sure how long that will last. The drive bracket is not broken and I will ship the drive (if wanted) removed from the unit so the bracket survives the journey.

I just moved to an area where there's very little TV signal (New Bern NC) so I had to go back to cable. It least it's cheaper than L.A. - by 2/3's!

I'll also be selling a pair of HDHomeRun HDHR3-US dual-tuners and a SimpleTV if anyone is interested in those.

Offers being accepted while I get everything out and packed up. I have a paypal account to accept payment and I'll plan on shipping right after the new year.

PM me to exchange email and more details - thanks.

Last edited by oshunluvr; 12-23-2014 at 08:24 AM.
oshunluvr is offline  
post #2293 of 2306 Old 01-17-2015, 12:14 PM
Newbie
 
MC Lew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey guys - apologies if this has been addressed previously in this thread but I'm having trouble with audio on my tvix M6620N.

More specifically - audio on only one channel. It's quite perplexing. All of my OTA channels work normally except FOX. On that channel the audio is fine when I'm watching in real time but it's not there if it's a recorded program that I'm playing back. Only the recorded programs, from that one channel, have no audio. Any suggestions? I've tried a reboot with no luck, same issues. TIA for any advice.
MC Lew is offline  
post #2294 of 2306 Old 01-17-2015, 01:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Aleron Ives's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 3,575
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 827 Post(s)
Liked: 625
Try transferring a recording to your PC, and then a) view the file with MediaInfo to see if it reports the recording having 2 or 5.1 channel AC3, and b) try playing it with MPC-HC or VLC to see if you get both channels on your PC. My guess is that Fox is doing something weird with its mux that is confusing the TViX. You might also try pressing the "Audio" button on the remote to see if you can switch between audio 1 and SAP. Maybe you're listening to a borked SAP stream by accident instead of the main audio.
Aleron Ives is offline  
post #2295 of 2306 Old 01-18-2015, 10:20 AM
Newbie
 
MC Lew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aleron Ives View Post
Try transferring a recording to your PC, and then a) view the file with MediaInfo to see if it reports the recording having 2 or 5.1 channel AC3, and b) try playing it with MPC-HC or VLC to see if you get both channels on your PC. My guess is that Fox is doing something weird with its mux that is confusing the TViX. You might also try pressing the "Audio" button on the remote to see if you can switch between audio 1 and SAP. Maybe you're listening to a borked SAP stream by accident instead of the main audio.
The audio button on the remote! Can't believe that didn't occur to me, lol.

Yes you are correct that fixed it, it must be something weird with the audio part of the OTA signal for my local Fox affiliate. Thanks for the help.
MC Lew is offline  
post #2296 of 2306 Old 01-22-2015, 02:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Davidt1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,307
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Haven't used mine in six months. Turned it on after seeing this thread. Forgot how to use the remote. LOL. Still I can't part with it.
Davidt1 is offline  
post #2297 of 2306 Old 01-22-2015, 04:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Aleron Ives's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 3,575
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 827 Post(s)
Liked: 625
My TV experience would never be satisfactory without my beloved TViX.
Aleron Ives is offline  
post #2298 of 2306 Old 02-22-2015, 03:04 AM
Senior Member
 
Steve McD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Eugene, Oregon
Posts: 413
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Need New Remote Controller for Tvix M-6620N

I see that DVICO has current ads on e-Bay to sell new remote controllers for $35. Does anyone know if this is legitimate? I didn't think that company name was still used, but perhaps they list them themselves that way so Tvix uers will recognize them?

Has the issue about about buying a new M-6620N DVR direct from DVICO in South Korea been resolved? Do they ship ones that use English?

My remote controller has taken French leave and doesn't seem to be findable anywhere around my place. I've discovered that nothing useful can be done with the front panel controls, other than turning it on and off. After almost 4 years of not losing it permanently, now it has disappeared. In that time, I've found it several times in trash cans, inside my shrubbery, in my driveway and once, in a friend's front yard. If I get a new one, it will be put on a leash.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/271521168931

Last edited by Steve McD; 02-22-2015 at 03:07 AM.
Steve McD is offline  
post #2299 of 2306 Old 02-22-2015, 12:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Aleron Ives's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 3,575
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 827 Post(s)
Liked: 625
I would expect the remotes to be universal, but I don't know if anyone has tried buying one of the Korean units for use in the US. DVICo (Digital Video Innovation Corporation) is the company's current name; the retired name was Minevox, or something like that.
Aleron Ives is offline  
post #2300 of 2306 Old 03-17-2015, 04:39 PM
Senior Member
 
Steve McD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Eugene, Oregon
Posts: 413
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Replacement Remote Controller for TViX Arrives and it Works

Using the link on my post two messages back, I ordered a replacement remote controller for my M6620N direct from DVICO in So. Korea. It arrived 12 days after shipping and works well, After 3 weeks of wrestling with my old DVD recorder and a digital/analog converter, I'm glad to have full HD with timed recording again. I've rigged a tether with duct tape and a strong cord to it from my desk. This one won't be able to walk away and get itself lost.
Steve McD is offline  
post #2301 of 2306 Old 04-05-2015, 07:59 PM
Member
 
cah95046's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 11
6620N without OTA tuners and HDD for sale soon

I will have a 6620N without tuners and HDD for sale soon on ebay. Remote and manual is included.

The tuners stopped working almost a year ago so I removed them. The unit still works as a player and/or a server if you put the HDD back in.

I will ship in the US only. Shipping will cost me $20 so I need to charge more than that.

Any interest?
cah95046 is offline  
post #2302 of 2306 Old Yesterday, 10:55 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
How to access remotly usb HDD

Hi !

A some point, my internal 2TB HDD have been fulled and I added a USB external HDD.

I usually transfer to my TVIX 6620N downloaded films on my PC through wifi with TVIX Netshare. Everything work fine with my internal HDD.

My problem is that I dont see my 2TB usb HDD connected to my TVIX 6620N. So everytime I have to disconnect my usb HDD from my TVIX, connect it with my PC, do the transfer, then reconnect back my external HDD to my PC.

Is there any way to see an USB external HDD with Netshare ?
MartinDesjardins is offline  
post #2303 of 2306 Old Yesterday, 11:16 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Aleron Ives's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 3,575
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 827 Post(s)
Liked: 625
When you FTP into the TViX, it presents you with several paths: disk1, disk2, disk3, etc., so I would guess that since disk1 is the internal HDD, the other disks might represent the SD card slot and whatever you have connected to the USB ports.

I'm not sure how you're transferring files to the TViX with Netshare, though. It was my understanding that you can only use NFS to play files from your PC using the TViX. If you want to see the files on your TViX from your PC, you have to use SMB or FTP AFAIK.
Aleron Ives is offline  
post #2304 of 2306 Old Today, 09:35 AM
Member
 
Mr.H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Lyndeborough, NH
Posts: 132
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by MartinDesjardins View Post
Hi !

A some point, my internal 2TB HDD have been fulled and I added a USB external HDD.

I usually transfer to my TVIX 6620N downloaded films on my PC through wifi with TVIX Netshare. Everything work fine with my internal HDD.

My problem is that I dont see my 2TB usb HDD connected to my TVIX 6620N. So everytime I have to disconnect my usb HDD from my TVIX, connect it with my PC, do the transfer, then reconnect back my external HDD to my PC.

Is there any way to see an USB external HDD with Netshare ?
When you say you don't see the external USB connected, do you mean that it is not there when you press the GOTO button on the remote?

My understanding is that you can only "see" the internal HDD via a NFS/SMB/FTP connection, you cannot see any other connected device.

You should be able to do what you want using the 6620 UI. To copy files from a mapped network device (TViX Netshare, etc) to an external USB drive press GOTO and select NET1 (etc) and navigate to the files, or folders, you want to copy. Press FUNCTION -> File Operations and select files/folders and then COPY. Press GOTO -> USB1 and navigate to destination folder and PASTE.
Mr.H is offline  
post #2305 of 2306 Old Today, 04:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Aleron Ives's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 3,575
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 827 Post(s)
Liked: 625
Oh, I didn't know the GoTo button did anything on the browse screen. I always pressed left to bring up the storage device list.
Aleron Ives is offline  
post #2306 of 2306 Old Today, 07:02 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
TPeterson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: San Carlos, CA
Posts: 11,974
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 90 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Something new every day, eh?
TPeterson is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply HDTV Recorders

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off