Official DVICO TViX M6620N HD (ATSC/QAM) Tuner Topic - Page 78 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!



Forum Jump: 
 5Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2311 of 2339 Old 02-12-2016, 04:12 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
videobruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 16,093
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 561 Post(s)
Liked: 241
Quote:
I never bought a Korean unit, but I did import some extra remote controls, as the enter and down buttons on my original remote wore out. I haven't been able to find a universal remote that will work with the TViX, because it has so many buttons on the bottom of the remote that no universal remote has enough buttons to map every function.
Go to e-bay and do searches for URC remotes. Specifically the MX-450 and especially the MX900.

Both can be had for a reasonable price (around $50-$80 in good condition). The big differences are the 450 is newer w/ a color LCD display, but you can only save programming. You can't create or edit existing programming via a PC.
The 900, you can do both, but it has a mono LCD low-res display. Both are 'learning' remotes with 'soft' programmable buttons on the LCD display. You can name and use those for almost anything. They both have FF & skip functions which many remote do not have.

Both have macro function (multiple commands within a single button). I have both remotes, two of the 900. It's PC programmable w/o connecting to some server a thousand miles away. The software is available

.
.
Free, abundant OTA television separates this country from many others. ATSC1 has only been in force since 2009. The wireless industry has enough spectrum. Enough of 'planned obsolesce'.
videobruce is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2312 of 2339 Old 02-16-2016, 03:28 PM
Senior Member
 
Goes to 11's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 307
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aleron Ives View Post
If you set the time zone incorrectly, your guide data is going to show the wrong times on every program, I think.
Nope, 4 days in and the EPG continues to display correct times for all programming, so I'm assuming that the EPG info comes OTA from wherever it comes from and is completely independent from the internal clock. So far, simply changing the time zone to the "wrong" zone has been an easy way to deal with the clock issue.

And, I'm enjoying the TiVX so much it's making me wish we had pulled the plug on cable.
Goes to 11 is offline  
post #2313 of 2339 Old 02-16-2016, 05:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Aleron Ives's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 4,564
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1480 Post(s)
Liked: 1185
That's odd. I was sure that some setting could make all programs in the guide show the wrong time. Maybe I'm thinking of having the DST option on the wrong setting for the current time of year. That might skew everything by an hour.
Aleron Ives is offline  
post #2314 of 2339 Old 02-17-2016, 02:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JHBrandt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S. Garland, TX
Posts: 3,655
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1106 Post(s)
Liked: 613
Quote:
Originally Posted by Goes to 11 View Post
Nope, 4 days in and the EPG continues to display correct times for all programming, so I'm assuming that the EPG info comes OTA from wherever it comes from and is completely independent from the internal clock. So far, simply changing the time zone to the "wrong" zone has been an easy way to deal with the clock issue.
All PSIP times (both time-of-day and show times in the EPG) are broadcast in GMT, so as long as the correct adjustment from GMT to local time is applied, everything should line up. I'm pretty certain SNTP provides GMT times too, so that's true whether you set your clock based on OTA stations or an Internet reference. I can't explain why you have to enter an incorrect time zone on the TViX to get the correct adjustment, but if it ain't broke....

BTW, if an incorrect adjustment is applied, both the clock time and the times in the EPG will be off by the same amount. It would look weird but you could actually work with it, I suppose.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aleron Ives View Post
That's odd. I was sure that some setting could make all programs in the guide show the wrong time. Maybe I'm thinking of having the DST option on the wrong setting for the current time of year. That might skew everything by an hour.
The tricky thing about DST is that TV networks observe it, even if your state doesn't! So when DST comes around you have to make an adjustment either way:

  • If your state doesn't observe DST, all your timers need to be adjusted by an hour; otherwise you'll start recording the wrong shows
  • If your state does observe DST, the timers can stay the same, but the adjustment from GMT needs to change by an hour
JHBrandt is offline  
post #2315 of 2339 Old 02-17-2016, 02:43 PM
Senior Member
 
Goes to 11's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 307
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Just for grins I'll change the time zone setting to PST, and see whether the program guide and clock continue to match up, but with both being an hour off. However, if the TiVX default is DST on, this won't really tell me anything. I don't recall if the default is off or on.

Last edited by Goes to 11; 02-17-2016 at 02:51 PM.
Goes to 11 is offline  
post #2316 of 2339 Old 02-17-2016, 02:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Aleron Ives's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 4,564
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1480 Post(s)
Liked: 1185
You'd have to do a factory defaults reset to find out what the DST setting normally is, but it shouldn't matter, as the DST setting is not a toggle to pick whether to observe DST or not; it's a toggle to perform DST correction or not, which means that you've always had to toggle it when the appropriate month arrives, so the default DST setting will either be right or wrong depending upon the month when you're setting up the DVR.
Aleron Ives is offline  
post #2317 of 2339 Old 02-17-2016, 02:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JHBrandt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S. Garland, TX
Posts: 3,655
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1106 Post(s)
Liked: 613
That may explain it. If Goes To 11 has the DST setting turned on, he'd have to enter the wrong time zone to compensate, since we're not actually on DST yet.
JHBrandt is offline  
post #2318 of 2339 Old 02-17-2016, 04:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Aleron Ives's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 4,564
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1480 Post(s)
Liked: 1185
Yes, if you set the DST flag incorrectly, your guide will be wrong. You must set it on Saturday night before the change. The change doesn't take effect until you reboot, so you can use that to your advantage if you need to record something on standard time before DST begins: just leave the DVR on after toggling the setting, and you'll still record at the right time.

The catch is that you must remember to restart once before your first post-transition program airs. The TViX is going to start itself up based on its old clock, and then change the clock as soon as it boots. If you did this in March, you would try to record an hour too late and miss your show, so you need to boot once after toggling the setting to get the clock set an hour ahead.
Aleron Ives is offline  
post #2319 of 2339 Old 02-18-2016, 09:37 AM
Senior Member
 
Goes to 11's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 307
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 25
That was it, the DST setting was on. Turned it off, changed the time zone to Pacific, rebooted, and the clock and guide match and are correct local time.

I had not thought about the DST setting, and even if I had, until I read your comments (AI and JHB) I would have assumed it worked the way that setting did on every VCR I ever owned worked--changing the clock back and forth for me when DST began and ended. I forgot it doesn't work that way on the TViX.

New question: is leaving it unplugged bad for its internal battery?
Goes to 11 is offline  
post #2320 of 2339 Old 02-18-2016, 11:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Aleron Ives's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 4,564
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1480 Post(s)
Liked: 1185
I hope not, because I have a spare TViX that isn't plugged in. I'm not sure how the TViX keeps its clock going when the power is out; it might have a button battery, or it might just have a beefy capacitor or something like that. I've never opened either of mine to look.
Aleron Ives is offline  
post #2321 of 2339 Old 02-18-2016, 12:15 PM
Senior Member
 
Goes to 11's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 307
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 25
I think somewhere back in here Northernlight11 took his apart and maybe even posted pictures. As soon as I have time I'll try to find out if he showed/mentioned the battery.

OK, found Northernlight11's photos. I don't see a battery, but I'm not an electronics whiz.

http://www.avsforum.com/photopost/sh...p?photo=143898
northernlight11 likes this.

Last edited by Goes to 11; 02-18-2016 at 02:19 PM. Reason: added link for photos
Goes to 11 is offline  
post #2322 of 2339 Old 02-18-2016, 10:39 PM
Member
 
northernlight11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Oregon
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I don't recall any battery in it, unfortunately my Tvix gave up the ghost about 6 months ago :-( and just threw it out a couple weeks ago. Thought about getting another Tvix but there are so many more options now at such a lower cost, it's still tempting as I really grew to love it
northernlight11 is offline  
post #2323 of 2339 Old 02-19-2016, 04:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Aleron Ives's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 4,564
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1480 Post(s)
Liked: 1185
Aw, come on! You can be our guinea pig who finally tries to get a Korean unit to work.
northernlight11 likes this.
Aleron Ives is offline  
post #2324 of 2339 Old 02-26-2016, 11:05 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
videobruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 16,093
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 561 Post(s)
Liked: 241
Using a USB drive as a source, playing back a movie in the .mkv wrapper only produced PCM 'stereo' audio. Is this normal?
The same file in another player produced full 7.1

.
.
Free, abundant OTA television separates this country from many others. ATSC1 has only been in force since 2009. The wireless industry has enough spectrum. Enough of 'planned obsolesce'.
videobruce is offline  
post #2325 of 2339 Old 02-26-2016, 11:42 AM
Senior Member
 
Goes to 11's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 307
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by northernlight11 View Post
I don't recall any battery in it, unfortunately my Tvix gave up the ghost about 6 months ago :-( and just threw it out a couple weeks ago. Thought about getting another Tvix but there are so many more options now at such a lower cost, it's still tempting as I really grew to love it
Thanks for confirming, and I vote for you getting a Korean unit, too!

Hey, to try to make mine last longer, do you really think Swiss-cheesing the case to get more ventilation is a good idea? And how about more info on the other lower cost options. What would you get now?
northernlight11 likes this.
Goes to 11 is offline  
post #2326 of 2339 Old 02-26-2016, 03:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Aleron Ives's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 4,564
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1480 Post(s)
Liked: 1185
@ videobruce

7.1 is not allowed for OTA, so it wouldn't surprise me if 5.1 is the maximum channel configuration that the TViX supports. You might want to check the manual to see if it lists the maximum number of supported channels. On the bright side, the TViX will play 5.1 FLAC on videos, while most Blu-ray players will not play lossless audio unless it's on an encrypted commercial disc.
Aleron Ives is offline  
post #2327 of 2339 Old 02-26-2016, 07:25 PM
Member
 
northernlight11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Oregon
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm not sure if improving airflow helped or not, my apartment was so dusty from my lapidary and carving,cig and weed smoke that the inside of that poor thing looked like the inside of a dirty vacuume cleaner,I am sure it got way to hot way too often .ive been playing around with a cheep $30 tuner/recorder from Amazon .the ui is kinda a pain but does a great job of recording and seems to play most formats I've tried! Including 12 tb recorded from the Tvix ! Picked up a hauppage duel tuner card and am using it win wmc, I also am using a kworld hybrid usb stick for my laptop with win 7 mc, my gf recently got dishnetwork we got the hopper, but don't really like that they make it extremely hard to save your recordings to use with other devices , I hear there that you can use pvr explorer pro to save em and have had luck with that program in the past with other boxes but it's reportedly much harder with the hopper. There seams to be endless $30-50 tuner/pvr's on eBay and Amazon these days. I still at some point might get another Tvix just because it in my opinion was a really nice box , but for the time being my xtra cash is going into my new hobby of 3D printing:-)
northernlight11 is offline  
post #2328 of 2339 Old 02-27-2016, 04:07 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
videobruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 16,093
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 561 Post(s)
Liked: 241
Quote:
7.1 is not allowed for OTA, so it wouldn't surprise me if 5.1 is the maximum channel configuration that the TViX supports.
I should of been more specific. The A/V receiver receives it as Dolby Digital audio, not PCM. It winds up all six channels are showing on the receiver display, not two. (Too many similar named audio formats)

The specs don't list any channel count. They do list DD.

.
.
Free, abundant OTA television separates this country from many others. ATSC1 has only been in force since 2009. The wireless industry has enough spectrum. Enough of 'planned obsolesce'.
videobruce is offline  
post #2329 of 2339 Old 02-27-2016, 10:15 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
TPeterson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: San Carlos, CA
Posts: 12,022
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 185 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Bruce, your question is now rather murky. Are you saying that you get only PCM out of the TViX' HDMI port? If so, you likely need to change its configuration to force native audio passthrough on HDMI. The default is to convert that to PCM, since most HDMI sinks (at least back in the TViX' heyday) do not support other formats.
TPeterson is offline  
post #2330 of 2339 Old 02-27-2016, 10:23 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
videobruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 16,093
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 561 Post(s)
Liked: 241
Yes to Q1 & Q2

I did have a couple of recording on the HDD off the tuner. They did play back in DD, not PCM no matter how I had the settings as was the case with the mkv movie.

This is only really used as a audio player. I just wanted to try this mkv movie from a USB drive to see if it would play. I was just curious if anyone else tried this.

.

.
.
Free, abundant OTA television separates this country from many others. ATSC1 has only been in force since 2009. The wireless industry has enough spectrum. Enough of 'planned obsolesce'.

Last edited by videobruce; 02-27-2016 at 10:48 AM.
videobruce is offline  
post #2331 of 2339 Old 02-27-2016, 02:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Aleron Ives's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 4,564
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1480 Post(s)
Liked: 1185
I can play files of almost any audio and video format on my TViX, but I use a stereo speaker configuration, so I don't have any way to tell how surround is being handled. OTA recordings always appear as DD 5.1 in the file information popup, but that's it.
Aleron Ives is offline  
post #2332 of 2339 Old 02-28-2016, 04:05 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
videobruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 16,093
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 561 Post(s)
Liked: 241
What type AV receiver do you have (assuming it is something other than a 'stereo' receiver)? Does the display indicate the type of audio that is being sent to it?

.
.
Free, abundant OTA television separates this country from many others. ATSC1 has only been in force since 2009. The wireless industry has enough spectrum. Enough of 'planned obsolesce'.
videobruce is offline  
post #2333 of 2339 Old 02-28-2016, 12:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Aleron Ives's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 4,564
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1480 Post(s)
Liked: 1185
I connect the TViX to my TV via HDMI and the TV's headphone jack to my stereo. I would assume that the TViX sends LPCM to the TV over HDMI, but I have no way to tell for sure. I have never had any reason to buy an AVR and thus do not own one.
Aleron Ives is offline  
post #2334 of 2339 Old 02-29-2016, 09:44 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
TPeterson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: San Carlos, CA
Posts: 12,022
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 185 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Unless you specifically override the default A/V settings on the TViX, it will output LPCM audio over HDMI.
TPeterson is offline  
post #2335 of 2339 Old 06-11-2016, 01:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Aleron Ives's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 4,564
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1480 Post(s)
Liked: 1185
Well, I'm a bit disappointed. I thought I would try to extend my remote's lifespan by using a universal learning remote instead, but my URC-R6 won't learn any commands from my TViX remote. It even refuses to learn the power button.
Aleron Ives is offline  
post #2336 of 2339 Old 06-11-2016, 11:26 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
TPeterson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: San Carlos, CA
Posts: 12,022
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 185 Post(s)
Liked: 26
The TViX commands are in Logitech's Harmony database so if you have or get one of those you won't need to teach them.
TPeterson is offline  
post #2337 of 2339 Old 06-12-2016, 04:42 PM
Senior Member
 
Disto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Montreal, QC, Canada
Posts: 473
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 17
I have a $20 Sony RMVLZ620 universal remote and it learned all the codes no problem.

-Tony
Disto is offline  
post #2338 of 2339 Old 06-19-2016, 09:16 AM
Member
 
justinmc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Just thought I would pass this on in case someone else in my area runs into this problem. My 6620N started powering off this morning around 15 seconds after switching to the tv tuner. I thought maybe it was the Ion station causing the problem so I deleted that one but it kept happening. It seems our local CW affiliate WCCB channel 18 out of Charlotte, NC has changed something with the PSIP information causing the crash and power down exactly like the Ion stations. Deleted 18.1 through 18.8 and all is well again.
justinmc is offline  
post #2339 of 2339 Old 06-19-2016, 09:52 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
videobruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 16,093
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 561 Post(s)
Liked: 241
Try to talk to the engineering department explaining the situation if you can.
You might not be able to get thru to them, but give it a try, initially explaining the problem to whomever you talk to first (in simple terms).

.
.
Free, abundant OTA television separates this country from many others. ATSC1 has only been in force since 2009. The wireless industry has enough spectrum. Enough of 'planned obsolesce'.
videobruce is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply HDTV Recorders

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off