DirecTV HD DVR - HR2*/ HR34 Master Topic: one thread for all - Page 19 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 3Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #541 of 2131 Old 11-16-2010, 01:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Waboman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Terraforming Planet Wabo
Posts: 7,082
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 384 Post(s)
Liked: 645
Just got off the phone with DirecTV cust service. I scheduled a service call to look at my legacy HR21's and hopefully (fingers crossed) get a couple of new HR24's instead. Even if nothing happens, I qualified for free HD service for a year. That right there saves me $10 a month. So it was worth a call.

__________________________________________

When life gives you limes, make margaritas
Waboman is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #542 of 2131 Old 11-20-2010, 12:37 PM
Member
 
CaliforniaPlaya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am considering switching from Comcast to either Dish or DTV, but am leaning towards DTV. Is this still the best dvr DTV has? Any specific external drives that need to be used with this model? Anything else that I should consider, for or against, before ordering?

Thanks!
CaliforniaPlaya is offline  
post #543 of 2131 Old 11-20-2010, 06:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Nickff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Brownsburg, IN
Posts: 1,576
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 102 Post(s)
Liked: 127
Quote:
Originally Posted by CaliforniaPlaya View Post

I am considering switching from Comcast to either Dish or DTV, but am leaning towards DTV. Is this still the best dvr DTV has? Any specific external drives that need to be used with this model? Anything else that I should consider, for or against, before ordering?

Thanks!

DirecTV does not guarantee any specific DVR to customers. You could receive an HR20, HR21, HR22, HR23, or and HR24. If you sign up for 'Whole-Home DVR' service then you are more likely to get HR24s.

You are welcome to "purchase" an HR24 from a 3rd party such as Amazon or SolidSignal, but the unit is still a leased DVR and is property of DirecTV. Also, if something was to go wrong with it, DirecTV may replace it but the replacement could be any model DVR.

I do not use an external hard drive, so I have no recommendations...500 GB is plenty big for me. For suggestions, try www.dbstalk.com

BTW, I despise Comcast and anything associate with them...so I take great pleasure in them losing another customer. :-)

Mathematics is the reason for the season.

 

http://www.teacherspayteachers.com/Store/Ogive

Nickff is offline  
post #544 of 2131 Old 11-20-2010, 06:27 PM
rad
AVS Special Member
 
rad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 3,181
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by CaliforniaPlaya View Post

I am considering switching from Comcast to either Dish or DTV, but am leaning towards DTV. Is this still the best dvr DTV has? Any specific external drives that need to be used with this model? Anything else that I should consider, for or against, before ordering?

Thanks!

Remember, if you go with DirecTV there is a 24 month commitment once you sign the installation paperwork. So make sure that DirecTV has all the channels you're looking for, seen one to many post from someone that signed up and then wondered where AMC-HD or BBCA-HD was.
rad is offline  
post #545 of 2131 Old 11-21-2010, 10:06 PM
Member
 
jmoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Troy, IL
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
There is a dedicated 1080p channel on DTV. Can't seem to find it. HD Net has 1080 programming.

JDM
jmoc is offline  
post #546 of 2131 Old 11-22-2010, 05:12 AM
AVS Special Member
 
oktoberrust11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Sterling Heights, MI
Posts: 3,061
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmoc View Post

There is a dedicated 1080p channel on DTV. Can't seem to find it. HD Net has 1080 programming.

Actually, looking at the guide, all movies on channels 126-141 show they are in 1080p, FYI. This is of course PPV.

HD Net is 1080i.

Xbox Live: oktober rust | Mii: 5207 2388 9861 4135 | Steam ID: detroit820 | Origin ID: oktoberrust11

oktoberrust11 is offline  
post #547 of 2131 Old 11-22-2010, 05:59 AM
Member
 
Scuba629's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
How often does directv update their receivers? I am thinking about upgrading my 3 HR23's with HR24's but dont want to waste the money if in 6 months to a year we have another box out..

Thanks in advance..
Scuba629 is offline  
post #548 of 2131 Old 11-22-2010, 09:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
veryoldschool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2,991
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scuba629 View Post
How often does directv update their receivers? I am thinking about upgrading my 3 HR23's with HR24's but dont want to waste the money if in 6 months to a year we have another box out..

Thanks in advance..
If history is any clue, there will be a new receiver in the next year.
The HR20 is four years old
Since it's release we have seen:
HR21
HR22
HR23
and now the HR24.

A.K.A. VOS
veryoldschool is offline  
post #549 of 2131 Old 11-22-2010, 11:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Waboman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Terraforming Planet Wabo
Posts: 7,082
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 384 Post(s)
Liked: 645
What's the difference between the HR24 and the H24D100/700?

__________________________________________

When life gives you limes, make margaritas
Waboman is online now  
post #550 of 2131 Old 11-22-2010, 12:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
veryoldschool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2,991
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Waboman View Post

What's the difference between the HR24 and the H24D100/700?

It looks like an "R" for being a DVR.
Have no idea what your "D" means.

As for the -100, -700, -500, these means who made them, but not much else.

A.K.A. VOS
veryoldschool is offline  
post #551 of 2131 Old 11-22-2010, 12:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Waboman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Terraforming Planet Wabo
Posts: 7,082
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 384 Post(s)
Liked: 645
Quote:
Originally Posted by veryoldschool View Post


It looks like an "R" for being a DVR.
Have no idea what your "D" means.

As for the -100, -700, -500, these means who made them, but not much else.

Thanks, VOS. When looking at these receivers on Amazon they had the "D" in the model number. Not sure what the "D" stands for?

Looks like if I spring for a replacement to my HR21 the HR24 is the one I want.

__________________________________________

When life gives you limes, make margaritas
Waboman is online now  
post #552 of 2131 Old 11-22-2010, 02:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Waboman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Terraforming Planet Wabo
Posts: 7,082
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 384 Post(s)
Liked: 645
Just had a service tech out here. Not only was my dish out of alignment (we had a nasty wind storm a few weeks ago) but one of my HR21's was going bad. So the tech realigned my dish and swapped out my bad receiver for a new HR24-500. Is there a way to find out who made the 500?
LL

__________________________________________

When life gives you limes, make margaritas
Waboman is online now  
post #553 of 2131 Old 11-22-2010, 03:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
drbonbi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brunswick, ME
Posts: 5,700
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Waboman View Post

Just had a service tech out here. Not only was my dish out of alignment (we had a nasty wind storm a few weeks ago) but one of my HR21's was going bad. So the tech realigned my dish and swapped out my bad receiver for a new HR24-500. Is there a way to find out who made the 500?

Sure. Just ask.

Here's the list of manufacturers AFAIK.

- 100 RCA

- 200 Samsung

- 300 Philips

- 400 Hughes

- 500 Humax

- 600 LG

- 700 Pace.

Corrections/additions welcome.

It should be noted that D* provides the specs so what OEM actually made the box in theory should be irrelevant.

Dana

"If you think you can, or think you can't, you're probably right." Mark Twain
drbonbi is offline  
post #554 of 2131 Old 11-22-2010, 04:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
veryoldschool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2,991
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by drbonbi View Post

Sure. Just ask.

Here's the list of manufacturers AFAIK.

- 100 RCA

Corrections/additions welcome.

Dana

Now owned by Audiovox

A.K.A. VOS
veryoldschool is offline  
post #555 of 2131 Old 11-22-2010, 06:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
drbonbi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brunswick, ME
Posts: 5,700
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by veryoldschool View Post

Now owned by Audiovox

Next you'll be telling me that RCA doesn't make records or own radio stations. And I suppose Nipper has gone, too.

What is this world coming to.

Dana


RCA Records Nipper logo introduced in 1977

"If you think you can, or think you can't, you're probably right." Mark Twain
drbonbi is offline  
post #556 of 2131 Old 11-22-2010, 07:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
veryoldschool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2,991
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by drbonbi View Post

Next you'll be telling me that RCA doesn't make records or own radio stations. And I suppose Nipper has gone, too.

What is this world coming to.

Dana


RCA Records Nipper logo introduced in 1977

I seem to remember this back in the thirties

A.K.A. VOS
veryoldschool is offline  
post #557 of 2131 Old 11-22-2010, 11:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Waboman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Terraforming Planet Wabo
Posts: 7,082
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 384 Post(s)
Liked: 645
Quote:
Originally Posted by drbonbi View Post


Sure. Just ask.

Here's the list of manufacturers AFAIK.

- 100 RCA

- 200 Samsung

- 300 Philips

- 400 Hughes

- 500 Humax

- 600 LG

- 700 Pace.

Corrections/additions welcome.

It should be noted that D* provides the specs so what OEM actually made the box in theory should be irrelevant.

Dana

Quote:
Originally Posted by veryoldschool View Post


Now owned by Audiovox

Muchas gracias, amigos.

Say, the menu is the same between the receivers. For some reason I thought it was different on the HR24? It is a lot faster which is nice.

__________________________________________

When life gives you limes, make margaritas
Waboman is online now  
post #558 of 2131 Old 11-23-2010, 03:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
drbonbi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brunswick, ME
Posts: 5,700
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


=veryoldschool;19531869]I seem to remember this back in the thirties.

Me too!

Dana

"If you think you can, or think you can't, you're probably right." Mark Twain
drbonbi is offline  
post #559 of 2131 Old 11-23-2010, 04:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
joetoronto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 2,106
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm going to be replacing an HR20 that's going bad soon, I've had it for years.

Will Directv want the HR20 back?

The reason I'm asking is that it's a logistical problem for me.

Just say no to cable.
joetoronto is offline  
post #560 of 2131 Old 11-23-2010, 04:35 AM
AVS Special Member
 
drbonbi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brunswick, ME
Posts: 5,700
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by joetoronto View Post

I'm going to be replacing an HR20 that's going bad soon, I've had it for years.

Will Directv want the HR20 back?

The reason I'm asking is that it's a logistical problem for me.

With the exception of a very narrow window of time early in 2006 - and even then the facts vary, all receivers are the property of D*. Check your original paperwork and you'll very likely see that it is a lease, not a bill of sale.

So, the answer is yes, they will want it returned.

Dana

"If you think you can, or think you can't, you're probably right." Mark Twain
drbonbi is offline  
post #561 of 2131 Old 11-23-2010, 04:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
joetoronto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 2,106
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by drbonbi View Post

With the exception of a very narrow window of time early in 2006 - and even then the facts vary, all receivers are the property of D*. Check your original paperwork and you'll very likely see that it is a lease, not a bill of sale.

So, the answer is yes, they will want it returned.

Dana

Aye carumba.

Thanks buddy.

Just say no to cable.
joetoronto is offline  
post #562 of 2131 Old 11-23-2010, 05:22 AM
Newbie
 
SDHood's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The service tech let me keep my TiVo when it was replaced.

Don't know why I kept it however.
SDHood is offline  
post #563 of 2131 Old 11-23-2010, 05:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
joetoronto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 2,106
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by SDHood View Post

The service tech let me keep my TiVo when it was replaced.

Don't know why I kept it however.

Those TiVo's are old though, I'm sure you owned it.

I still have one in my son's room but my other son had one that died last year, and they didn't ask for it back either.

Just say no to cable.
joetoronto is offline  
post #564 of 2131 Old 11-23-2010, 07:28 AM
AVS Special Member
 
veryoldschool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2,991
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 12
March/May '06 was the change from owned to leased, and the HR20 first came out in Aug, long after the lease plan was in place.
I was right at the change over for my H20s, so they came "owned", while my HR20s are leased.

Owned receivers now come mostly from commercial accounts [MDU customers], or DirecTV employees.

A.K.A. VOS
veryoldschool is offline  
post #565 of 2131 Old 11-23-2010, 08:13 AM
Newbie
 
SDHood's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I thought that DTV switched to MPEG ? and that TiVo's would not work anymore.
SDHood is offline  
post #566 of 2131 Old 11-23-2010, 09:08 AM
AVS Special Member
 
veryoldschool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2,991
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by SDHood View Post

I thought that DTV switched to MPEG ? and that TiVo's would not work anymore.

The old TiVos work fine for SD, since all the HD has gone to MPEG-4.

A.K.A. VOS
veryoldschool is offline  
post #567 of 2131 Old 11-23-2010, 09:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
joetoronto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 2,106
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by veryoldschool View Post

March/May '06 was the change from owned to leased, and the HR20 first came out in Aug, long after the lease plan was in place.
I was right at the change over for my H20s, so they came "owned", while my HR20s are leased.

Owned receivers now come mostly from commercial accounts [MDU customers], or DirecTV employees.

Thanks, old school. I guess a trip to the border is in order.

Just say no to cable.
joetoronto is offline  
post #568 of 2131 Old 11-23-2010, 09:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
veryoldschool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2,991
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by joetoronto View Post

Thanks, old school. I guess a trip to the border is in order.

At first I couldn't tell if this was a Taco Bell commercial or what, but then saw "Toronto, Canada".

A.K.A. VOS
veryoldschool is offline  
post #569 of 2131 Old 11-23-2010, 10:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Syzygy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 1,551
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by drbonbi View Post

Here's the list of manufacturers AFAIK.

- 100 RCA
- 200 Samsung
- 300 Philips
- 400 Hughes
- 500 Humax
- 600 LG
- 700 Pace.

Corrections/additions welcome.

It should be noted that D* provides the specs so what OEM actually made the box in theory should be irrelevant.

Dana

I got two HR24-100s from DirecTV installers, one in October (made in China) and one this month (made in Thailand). The one made in China doesn't work with (and doesn't even recognize) the two-way feature of my RC65RB backlit two-way remote (sent by a CSR at my request), while the one made in Thailand does. The two boxes were made a month apart, in each case two months before I got them.

So the hardware varies not only with the manufacturer (100 = Audiovox?) but with the country of manufacture — and who knows, maybe even with the time of day!

DirecTV & Dish HD Channel Spreadsheet
DirecTV & Dish HD Channels Listed by Package
Frank  TiVangelist since Aug 1999, HD since Dec 2002, DirecTV since Aug 2004, DECA/MRV since Nov 2010
Syzygy is offline  
post #570 of 2131 Old 11-23-2010, 11:56 AM
Advanced Member
 
DreamWarrior's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 680
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Can someone explain how this Whole Home DVR stuff really works for me? That, or point me to another thread that does? I want to install DirecTV when I finally get moved in to our new home, but there are few "wiring concerns" that I have regarding the Whole Home DVR stuff.

This is what I want:

- At least three rooms (for now) to watch in; Living room, Family Room, Master Bed Room.
- Ability to record at least four shows at once, I expect that if I'm recording four then I'll be watching (in all three of the rooms) either nothing, a previously recorded show, or something that is currently recording; I'm fine with this, but of course if there's an alternative I'm all ears.

What I have for wiring:

- Available to me in each room for connectivity is: 1 coax + 1 ethernet (at least) -- however I ONLY have one coax drop per room. The Family Room and Living Room could be expanded because they are on the ground floor and I can easily run another cable, the upstairs MBR -- not so much. I mention this because I notice these units have two coax connections on the back, and don't know why or if I need to use them both.
- All wires terminate in a wiring closet in the basement, where I expect I'll be bringing in the coax from the dish and terminating however I need to in order to get the signal elsewhere. How does all that get wired? Dish RG6 (four I presume) -> some switcher -> RG6 splitter -> each DVR/receiver? I don't know....

Install choices?

- Put DVR in the two downstairs rooms; do I need to run additional coax for this? Then put a receiver in the MBR.
- Install the DVR machines in the wiring closet in the basement. This provides me with as many coax/ethernet drops as I need given I will have full access to the wiring closet there. Given my limit of one coax per room, will I need to install the DVR's there? They would be headless (no TV connected to them) can they be controlled from the remote boxes? In this solution, there would be three remote boxes; which seems cost prohibitive, but if its the only way.

I know that's a lot to absorb...but I just don't know how this stuff connects and plays. I don't want to assume my installer will...though I'm sure he'll have a clue...but I want to know where to point him and how to terminate and connect stuff in my wiring closet to make all this stuff play together nicely.

Also, for now, I'll have a simple 10/100 switch (my router) but I'll be picking up a 12 or 16 port gigE switch shortly I'm sure. Prior to that, however, would the 10/100 be capable of handling these machines?

Finally, will DirecTV offer me internet service (NOT DSL!) or will I have to have Comcast come in with a line for a cable modem? I suppose that drop could easily be sent directly to the cable modem and then router to provide all D* boxes with an internet connection (assuming they need them) via their ethernet port.

Sorry for the...overflow...I'm just curious how all these boxes connect and if I have the requirements to connect them prior to running into install hiccups.

edit: I guess to distill to some simple questions:

- There are two coax ports (as I've noticed) on the back of these units -- what does each do?
- There is an ethernet port, do I need to connect it? What if I don't? This would be good to know as it'll decide how quickly I need a gigE switch with more ports, as more little 4 port router won't quite connect all the DVRs/recievers and my other devices.

edit 2: Sorry...more questions:

- If I can control the DVRs from any room, can you add recordings/see what is being recorded at any time from any where - or - do I have to remember that I, for example, record "House" on DVR1 and "CSI" on DVR2? Could I, in one place, see that both House and CSI are scheduled recordings? Just curious how well all this stuff really ties together once actually tied, lol.
DreamWarrior is online now  
Reply HDTV Recorders

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off