DirecTV HD DVR - HR2*/ HR34 Master Topic: one thread for all - Page 3 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 3Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #61 of 2129 Old 05-27-2010, 05:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Stryker412's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Ocean County, NJ
Posts: 4,517
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I have had the HR23 and H23 since signing up last year. The box itself is great but the chief complaint from my wife is how ridiculously slower it is when changing channels compared to when we had Comcast (I know sat is slower). If I upgrade to the HR24, will this enable her to start channel flipping again?
Stryker412 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #62 of 2129 Old 05-27-2010, 05:28 AM
Member
 
barryd2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Stryker, absolutely go for it! I upgraded from the HR 23 to the HR 24, and the speed improvement is not to be believed... it's well worth the cost...

Barry
barryd2 is offline  
post #63 of 2129 Old 05-27-2010, 05:49 AM
AVS Special Member
 
NicksHitachi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Wilmington, NC
Posts: 3,697
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 135 Post(s)
Liked: 159
Spoke with CS yesterday and they said media sharing and remote play with PC should work for free, I tried to connect the network and got an error like <301> I think.

I'm going to play around some tonight, It would be nice to be able to stream anything off the dvr to PCs all over the house.
NicksHitachi is online now  
post #64 of 2129 Old 05-27-2010, 06:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
fafner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: SW Ohio
Posts: 1,854
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by barryd2 View Post

Stryker, absolutely go for it! I upgraded from the HR 23 to the HR 24, and the speed improvement is not to be believed... it's well worth the cost...

Barry

What exactly did you do to get your receivers upgraded from the 23 to the 24's?

fafmer
fafner is offline  
post #65 of 2129 Old 05-27-2010, 07:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
newlinux's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Parts unknown
Posts: 1,561
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I believe I received a software upgrade a couple of days ago (didn't check the setup, by I know the box had been rebooted because the blue dial had been enabled again). What was in it? My wife is telling me that MRV on one of the shows is choppy again, after a couple of months of seemless playback of everything (save trick play).
newlinux is offline  
post #66 of 2129 Old 05-27-2010, 08:00 AM
AVS Special Member
 
veryoldschool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2,991
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by newlinux View Post

I believe I received a software upgrade a couple of days ago (didn't check the setup, by I know the box had been rebooted because the blue dial had been enabled again). What was in it? My wife is telling me that MRV on one of the shows is choppy again, after a couple of months of seemless playback of everything (save trick play).

Depends on which receiver: http://www.dbstalk.com/showthread.php?t=177551

A.K.A. VOS
veryoldschool is offline  
post #67 of 2129 Old 05-27-2010, 08:03 AM
AVS Special Member
 
newlinux's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Parts unknown
Posts: 1,561
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by veryoldschool View Post

Depends on which receiver: http://www.dbstalk.com/showthread.php?t=177551

Thanks - these are hr21-200s. Looks like I'm in the same boat as some others who are now experiencing recording playback problems.
newlinux is offline  
post #68 of 2129 Old 05-28-2010, 06:13 AM
Member
 
barryd2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
fafner, I ordered them from Solid Signal... they were great to deal with. They cost $200 each, but well worth it. It was easy to hook them up... basically plug and play. You have to call DirecTV after the hookup to activate the new receivers, and deactivate the old ones. They will then send you a package to return the old receivers. This swap also extends your contract with DirecTV for another two years, but that's ok with me... I'm never going back to cable again...

Barry
barryd2 is offline  
post #69 of 2129 Old 05-28-2010, 06:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
fafner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: SW Ohio
Posts: 1,854
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by barryd2 View Post

fafner, I ordered them from Solid Signal... they were great to deal with. They cost $200 each, but well worth it. It was easy to hook them up... basically plug and play. You have to call DirecTV after the hookup to activate the new receivers, and deactivate the old ones. They will then send you a package to return the old receivers. This swap also extends your contract with DirecTV for another two years, but that's ok with me... I'm never going back to cable again...

Barry

Thanks. You said the speed is faster? Any other important differences you noticed?

fafner
fafner is offline  
post #70 of 2129 Old 05-28-2010, 10:02 AM
Member
 
barryd2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
fafner, I'm still kinda new to all this stuff, so I really don't know the answer to that question... I'm sure there are many technical upgrades, but I just don't know... I'm sure if you call Solid Signal they can explain it all a lot better than me... Good Luck...

Barry
barryd2 is offline  
post #71 of 2129 Old 05-28-2010, 10:12 AM
AVS Special Member
 
veryoldschool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2,991
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by fafner View Post

Thanks. You said the speed is faster? Any other important differences you noticed?

fafner

Quote:
Originally Posted by barryd2 View Post

fafner, I'm still kinda new to all this stuff, so I really don't know the answer to that question... I'm sure there are many technical upgrades, but I just don't know... I'm sure if you call Solid Signal they can explain it all a lot better than me... Good Luck...

Barry

Speed is the most significant, but there are other things like soft touch front panel, slightly smaller footprint, internal DECA, a 1080p resolution light.

A.K.A. VOS
veryoldschool is offline  
post #72 of 2129 Old 06-03-2010, 08:29 AM
Advanced Member
 
Deezul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Cumming, GA
Posts: 966
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Do any B&M stores "sell" the HR24s? Or will Internet retailers be my best bet to ensure I get one?

Xbox 360: Deezul AwT
HDTV since 2004, 3D since 2011
Go Jackets!
Deezul is offline  
post #73 of 2129 Old 06-03-2010, 02:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
veryoldschool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2,991
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Deezul View Post

Do any B&M stores "sell" the HR24s? Or will Internet retailers be my best bet to ensure I get one?

Right now the internet seems the best. B&Ms may get them at some point.

A.K.A. VOS
veryoldschool is offline  
post #74 of 2129 Old 06-03-2010, 02:34 PM
Advanced Member
 
Deezul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Cumming, GA
Posts: 966
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by veryoldschool View Post

Right now the internet seems the best. B&Ms may get them at some point.

Ok, then that's probably the route I'll take. I'd prefer to pay tax and get it immediately, but I guess I'll pay the "tax" via shipping and get it in a week.

Xbox 360: Deezul AwT
HDTV since 2004, 3D since 2011
Go Jackets!
Deezul is offline  
post #75 of 2129 Old 06-05-2010, 10:56 AM
Senior Member
 
tburton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: San Mateo, CA
Posts: 288
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm looking to upgrade to the HR24 from an HR20. Can anyone with a HR24 tell me if component video is active with HDMI at the same time? I want to continue using my Sling on the component output TIA!
tburton is offline  
post #76 of 2129 Old 06-05-2010, 11:32 AM
Newbie
 
Berniemac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Tburton,
The HR-22 Directv works with all at the same time.Regards
Berniemac is offline  
post #77 of 2129 Old 06-05-2010, 11:58 AM
Senior Member
 
tburton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: San Mateo, CA
Posts: 288
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks, Berniemac
Did you mean HR24? That's the receiver I'm looking to upgrade to.
tburton is offline  
post #78 of 2129 Old 06-05-2010, 02:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
veryoldschool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2,991
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by tburton View Post

Thanks, Berniemac
Did you mean HR24? That's the receiver I'm looking to upgrade to.

The HR24 works that way too.

A.K.A. VOS
veryoldschool is offline  
post #79 of 2129 Old 06-05-2010, 03:22 PM
Senior Member
 
tburton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: San Mateo, CA
Posts: 288
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sweet, thank you!
tburton is offline  
post #80 of 2129 Old 06-05-2010, 05:52 PM
Senior Member
 
pestocat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Palo Alto CA
Posts: 233
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I Just received a replacement for my HR23/700 receiver. The old one had problems after latest upgrade (my thoughts). I work with my internet ISP for service and to them, they said it was the fault of the receiver. Problem was that frames seem to be missing every second or so. New one works fine except software is dated 11/5 (Ox3a8), latest is at least 0x3de. Anyone know how it takes for the system to find out I have 6 month old firmware.
Thank you
pestocat is offline  
post #81 of 2129 Old 06-05-2010, 06:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
veryoldschool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2,991
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by pestocat View Post

I Just received a replacement for my HR23/700 receiver. The old one had problems after latest upgrade (my thoughts). I work with my internet ISP for service and to them, they said it was the fault of the receiver. Problem was that frames seem to be missing every second or so. New one works fine except software is dated 11/5 (Ox3a8), latest is at least 0x3de. Anyone know how it takes for the system to find out I have 6 month old firmware.
Thank you

Software rolls out staggered from West to East and not on the weekends.

A.K.A. VOS
veryoldschool is offline  
post #82 of 2129 Old 06-08-2010, 05:45 AM
Senior Member
 
Mike25690's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Calumet, Michigan, in the U.P.'s Keweenaw Peninsula
Posts: 228
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I just received the 0X3de software last night; this morning 2 of my receivers/ DVRs wouldn't power on. I restarted them, and then everything seemed fine, except that I couldn't use any of the controls. The channel they were on worked fine, but I couldn't access the guide, channels, menu, or anything.

I restarted one of them again, and then I was able to access the menu; I saw that the software update had been installed, so I ran a system test, and the receiver promptly froze again, forcing me to restart it again.

My 2nd receiver has similar problems; after a restart, I went to the guide, which brought up the message saying I had received the update and my receiver was now 3D capable. Clicking OK froze it again.

I'll call DirecTV to try and resolve this, but has this happened to anyone else?

"I will drag you, kicking and screaming if I have to, into the modern world!" -- Peter the Great
My Setup
Mike25690 is offline  
post #83 of 2129 Old 06-08-2010, 05:53 AM
Super Moderator
 
markrubin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Jersey Shore
Posts: 23,010
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 113 Post(s)
Liked: 419
^^^^

happened to me too: HR20/ HR21 and HR21 Pro DVR's were unresponsive to IR and serial commands after update


it took two reboots and they appear to be OK

I think D* wants everyone to go out and buy HR24's
markrubin is offline  
post #84 of 2129 Old 06-08-2010, 06:13 AM
Senior Member
 
hornmdt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 316
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Same thing here. Took 2 reboots on all machines (unplugging from wall - reset would not do it) to get them working again. I have HR20, HR21, HR22 and HR23 and all were affected. Message was that 3D capable thing had been installed.
hornmdt is offline  
post #85 of 2129 Old 06-08-2010, 06:22 AM
rad
AVS Special Member
 
rad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 3,181
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 13
The guess is that there's something in the guide data that's caused the problem. If you do 2 reboots within 30 minutes the cached guide data is flushed and rebuilt, that's why folks are reporting that 1 reboot doesn't correct it but 2 does.
rad is offline  
post #86 of 2129 Old 06-08-2010, 06:27 AM
Senior Member
 
Mike25690's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Calumet, Michigan, in the U.P.'s Keweenaw Peninsula
Posts: 228
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Mine are now working after 2-3 restarts each.

I certainly would like to replace mine (2 HR22 and 1 HR20) with the new 24, but I don't want to pay for them . . .

"I will drag you, kicking and screaming if I have to, into the modern world!" -- Peter the Great
My Setup
Mike25690 is offline  
post #87 of 2129 Old 06-08-2010, 06:30 AM
Super Moderator
 
markrubin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Jersey Shore
Posts: 23,010
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 113 Post(s)
Liked: 419
I bet their phone lines are going to be busy today

and all the custom installers will get call backs because their remote control systems are not working
markrubin is offline  
post #88 of 2129 Old 06-08-2010, 06:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
eddy_winds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 4,747
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
DVR'S Only?

My mom works for Sony, and she brought home a copy of "Starhawk BETA"
I quickly slipped it into my trusty PS3, and started playing.


GOOZEX Game/Movie Exchange
eddy_winds is offline  
post #89 of 2129 Old 06-08-2010, 06:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Budget_HT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Renton, WA
Posts: 3,126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My HR22 and HR23 both required power down/up this morning. So far, both working after one power cycle.

Dave
Budget_HT is offline  
post #90 of 2129 Old 06-08-2010, 06:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
moxie1617's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Chicago Metro
Posts: 2,431
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
HR23 locked up - one reboot didn't work. Pulled plug, no difference, 1st RBR, okay until I attempted to start double play. 2nd RBR and all is well.

Edit: Between pulling plug and 1st RBR was over two hours. So 2 RBR's back to back worked.
moxie1617 is offline  
Reply HDTV Recorders

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off