DirecTV HD DVR - HR2*/ HR34 Master Topic: one thread for all - Page 70 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 3Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2071 of 2135 Old 06-26-2014, 05:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Nickff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Brownsburg, IN
Posts: 1,614
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 123 Post(s)
Liked: 130
Quote:
Originally Posted by slow ride View Post
It's not the tv . I can watch something live while recording and it's fine. And then go back and watch the Dvr recording and once in a while get some blurr. It's not that big a deal.
I have native off. 1080 p is the only box checked. I had twc before I made the shift to dtv. I don't regret it at all but the channel changing was a lot faster and my biggest gripe is the skip back. I don't get why dtv doesn't give you the option to disable it like twc.
You want to check all the resolutions your display can handle. Also, go to search and do a keyword search for 30SKIP. That should active the skip ahead feature on the remote...no need to fast forward ever again.
Nickff is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2072 of 2135 Old 08-01-2014, 12:52 PM
Member
 
jtown017's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 120
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a few problems with my HR34 directv genie.

1. The genie is getting really laggy and has periods of unresponsiveness. Fast forward will get stuck for a certain amount of time until any input is accepted again. Any menus or guides can be stuck and any input is unresponsive. Any ideas on this?

2. I am having problems with the directv app and the geniego. I believe my setup is correct. I have 1 HR34 (i think its a 34, will check when i get home) genie and 2 c(will have to get model # when i get home) clients. The directv installer said he setup the genie on the network. I am having problems connecting to the genie (app says it is not found) as well as any of my recorded shows.

Last edited by jtown017; 08-01-2014 at 01:25 PM.
jtown017 is offline  
post #2073 of 2135 Old 08-01-2014, 02:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
joe221's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: West Los Angeles, CA, USA
Posts: 3,469
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by jtown017 View Post
I have a few problems with my HR34 directv genie.

1. The genie is getting really laggy and has periods of unresponsiveness. Fast forward will get stuck for a certain amount of time until any input is accepted again. Any menus or guides can be stuck and any input is unresponsive. Any ideas on this?

2. I am having problems with the directv app and the geniego. I believe my setup is correct. I have 1 HR34 (i think its a 34, will check when i get home) genie and 2 c(will have to get model # when i get home) clients. The directv installer said he setup the genie on the network. I am having problems connecting to the genie (app says it is not found) as well as any of my recorded shows.
My 34 (the big one, the 44 is slimmer) is and has been quite wonky for some time now. I can get it switched out but will lose my saved shows. I'm trying to work through them and be free by mid Sept when my contract is up and do a whole new package, for a resign.

Joe in West Los Angeles, CA
joe221 is offline  
post #2074 of 2135 Old 08-01-2014, 09:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
texasbrit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Allen, TX
Posts: 1,110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by jtown017 View Post
I have a few problems with my HR34 directv genie.

1. The genie is getting really laggy and has periods of unresponsiveness. Fast forward will get stuck for a certain amount of time until any input is accepted again. Any menus or guides can be stuck and any input is unresponsive. Any ideas on this?

2. I am having problems with the directv app and the geniego. I believe my setup is correct. I have 1 HR34 (i think its a 34, will check when i get home) genie and 2 c(will have to get model # when i get home) clients. The directv installer said he setup the genie on the network. I am having problems connecting to the genie (app says it is not found) as well as any of my recorded shows.
The problem with your HR34 is a widely-reported problem, apparently a software bug. Hopefully it will be fixed soon.
texasbrit is offline  
post #2075 of 2135 Old 08-04-2014, 11:17 AM
Member
 
jtown017's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 120
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by texasbrit View Post
The problem with your HR34 is a widely-reported problem, apparently a software bug. Hopefully it will be fixed soon.
my unresponsive issue?

any solutions on my other issue with geniego and IP control problems
jtown017 is offline  
post #2076 of 2135 Old 08-04-2014, 06:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rightintel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 1,555
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 93 Post(s)
Liked: 54
I finally got an HD set for my bedroom(Vizio M322i-B1), any recommendation for a whole home DVR? Got an HR-24 in the main room...

Xbox Live: General PATT0N
rightintel is offline  
post #2077 of 2135 Old 08-04-2014, 07:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
joe221's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: West Los Angeles, CA, USA
Posts: 3,469
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by rightintel View Post
I finally got an HD set for my bedroom(Vizio M322i-B1), any recommendation for a whole home DVR? Got an HR-24 in the main room...
Maybe an HR44 Genie for the main room and move the 24 to the bedroom? All the shows will be available via WHD.

Joe in West Los Angeles, CA
joe221 is offline  
post #2078 of 2135 Old 08-05-2014, 05:42 AM
Advanced Member
 
hardballpete's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Davie, Fl.
Posts: 502
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 12
OK, Here's a jigger in the woodpile

Randomly, when i fast forward a recorded program, the Genie goes blank-black screen, nothing. i have to stop FFing, and see where I am. Try to FF again, and it may or may not happen again.
I am also seeing the TV's banner come on that says input, and resolution.
The genie is set for native.

What the....??

Baby, remember...It's my life and I'll do what I want!
hardballpete is offline  
post #2079 of 2135 Old 08-05-2014, 06:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Nickff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Brownsburg, IN
Posts: 1,614
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 123 Post(s)
Liked: 130
Quote:
Originally Posted by hardballpete View Post
Randomly, when i fast forward a recorded program, the Genie goes blank-black screen, nothing. i have to stop FFing, and see where I am. Try to FF again, and it may or may not happen again.
I am also seeing the TV's banner come on that says input, and resolution.
The genie is set for native.

What the....??
Start with a red-button reset and see it that helps. Also, have you programmed in the 30SKIP function yet? I have not used FF in years.

Many recommend not using "native". It slows down channel changing and if you have a relatively new display, it will upscale the video to 1080p just fine.

With all that said, I recently switched to a HR44 and one client and it has given me fits since doing so...the HR44 has to be reset at least four times a week to get it to send a signal to the client and/or fix an issue where the DTV banners' colors are wonky (as in they are white instead of blue).

Mathematics is the reason for the season.

 

http://www.teacherspayteachers.com/Store/Ogive

Nickff is offline  
post #2080 of 2135 Old 08-05-2014, 05:33 PM
Member
 
jtown017's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 120
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nickff View Post
Start with a red-button reset and see it that helps. Also, have you programmed in the 30SKIP function yet? I have not used FF in years.

Many recommend not using "native". It slows down channel changing and if you have a relatively new display, it will upscale the video to 1080p just fine.

With all that said, I recently switched to a HR44 and one client and it has given me fits since doing so...the HR44 has to be reset at least four times a week to get it to send a signal to the client and/or fix an issue where the DTV banners' colors are wonky (as in they are white instead of blue).
30skip? Isnt that already programmed on the remote?
jtown017 is offline  
post #2081 of 2135 Old 08-05-2014, 05:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Nickff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Brownsburg, IN
Posts: 1,614
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 123 Post(s)
Liked: 130
Quote:
Originally Posted by jtown017 View Post
30skip? Isnt that already programmed on the remote?
Not normally...usually when you press the button, the recording slips ahead 30 seconds (as in you can see the recording being fast forwarded). The 30skip feature literally jumps ahead 30 seconds. I use it constantly.

To activate it, just do a keyword search for 30SKIP in the dvr's menu.

Last edited by Nickff; 08-05-2014 at 06:01 PM.
Nickff is offline  
post #2082 of 2135 Old 08-06-2014, 06:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
joed32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,045
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Try a keyword search for "30SKIP". It won't find anything but when you hit the button to FF 30 seconds it will jump instantly instead. You could hit it 6 times in 6 seconds and be past the commercial.
joed32 is offline  
post #2083 of 2135 Old 08-06-2014, 07:01 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Nickff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Brownsburg, IN
Posts: 1,614
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 123 Post(s)
Liked: 130
^^^deja vu?
Nickff is offline  
post #2084 of 2135 Old 08-06-2014, 12:25 PM
Member
 
jtown017's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 120
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nickff View Post
Not normally...usually when you press the button, the recording slips ahead 30 seconds (as in you can see the recording being fast forwarded). The 30skip feature literally jumps ahead 30 seconds. I use it constantly.

To activate it, just do a keyword search for 30SKIP in the dvr's menu.
Does this replace the ff function? I sometimes do less than 30s for slow motion on sports.

What other functions can you find in the keyword search... (30SKIP, CLEARMYBOX, etc)
jtown017 is offline  
post #2085 of 2135 Old 08-06-2014, 12:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Nickff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Brownsburg, IN
Posts: 1,614
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 123 Post(s)
Liked: 130
Quote:
Originally Posted by jtown017 View Post
Does this replace the ff function? I sometimes do less than 30s for slow motion on sports.

What other functions can you find in the keyword search... (30SKIP, CLEARMYBOX, etc)
It just replaces the 30SLIP button...and you can always change back by doing a keyword search for 30SLIP.
Nickff is offline  
post #2086 of 2135 Old 08-06-2014, 07:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rightintel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 1,555
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 93 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Anyone have any experience w/ the Xbox One being connected to the Genie?

Xbox Live: General PATT0N
rightintel is offline  
post #2087 of 2135 Old 08-07-2014, 04:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Nickff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Brownsburg, IN
Posts: 1,614
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 123 Post(s)
Liked: 130
Quote:
Originally Posted by rightintel View Post
Anyone have any experience w/ the Xbox One being connected to the Genie?
Do you mean run the genie through the X1? I see no reason to...
Nickff is offline  
post #2088 of 2135 Old 08-07-2014, 03:10 PM
Member
 
jtown017's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 120
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nickff View Post
Do you mean run the genie through the X1? I see no reason to...
why not? xbox 1 can then control tv
jtown017 is offline  
post #2089 of 2135 Old 08-07-2014, 05:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Nickff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Brownsburg, IN
Posts: 1,614
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 123 Post(s)
Liked: 130
Quote:
Originally Posted by jtown017 View Post
why not? xbox 1 can then control tv
I see no reason to turn on a second device to watch tv. I have yet to see what combining the two gains me...
Nickff is offline  
post #2090 of 2135 Old 08-07-2014, 08:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rightintel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 1,555
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 93 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nickff View Post
I see no reason to turn on a second device to watch tv. I have yet to see what combining the two gains me...
It didn't gain me anything but headaches ultimately(unless you're into the "snap" voice command-I'm not). De-coupled the One from the DVR, reprogrammed my Logitech Harmony One, and things are much, much, smoother. They're coming Saturday to install the Genie. Anyone have experience w/ the range of the Genie? My 2nd tv is upstairs and on the opposite end of the house...

Xbox Live: General PATT0N
rightintel is offline  
post #2091 of 2135 Old 08-10-2014, 05:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rightintel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 1,555
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 93 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Ok, finally got the Genie hooked up to bothTV's, and then reprogrammed my Harmony One. This genie is FAST. I'd gotten used to how ridiculously slow the 24 was. It's been great having this level of responsiveness. I set it on native, and checked all the resolutions. It's not as slow as I thought it'd be...

Xbox Live: General PATT0N
rightintel is offline  
post #2092 of 2135 Old 08-10-2014, 05:25 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Keenan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 28,489
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 448 Post(s)
Liked: 442
Quote:
Originally Posted by rightintel View Post
Ok, finally got the Genie hooked up to bothTV's, and then reprogrammed my Harmony One. This genie is FAST. I'd gotten used to how ridiculously slow the 24 was. It's been great having this level of responsiveness. I set it on native, and checked all the resolutions. It's not as slow as I thought it'd be...
The HR44? Then yes, it is crazy fast, I didn't think DIRECTV was capable of bringing out a DVR that was this fast, count me as being as being very impressed!


I popped the cover on the one I have and put in a larger HDD, not something you should do with a leased DVR, but what ever. It was very easy to do though, took about 15 mins.
Keenan is online now  
post #2093 of 2135 Old 08-16-2014, 11:44 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Keenan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 28,489
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 448 Post(s)
Liked: 442
Is there a way to change the time that a Instant Replay/Jump Back command rewinds the video? I think it's 6 secs now and I'll like to be able to have it do 15 secs.

Apparently it's only about 3 secs on the HR44 and there doesn't not seem to be a way to change unless some of you smart guys here know how?

Last edited by Keenan; 08-16-2014 at 11:56 AM.
Keenan is online now  
post #2094 of 2135 Old 08-17-2014, 09:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TheRatPatrol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 1,804
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Keenan View Post
Is there a way to change the time that a Instant Replay/Jump Back command rewinds the video? I think it's 6 secs now and I'll like to be able to have it do 15 secs.

Apparently it's only about 3 secs on the HR44 and there doesn't not seem to be a way to change unless some of you smart guys here know how?
No, there is no way to change it.
TheRatPatrol is offline  
post #2095 of 2135 Old 08-19-2014, 12:32 PM
Member
 
Jben04's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just really looking for some advice / opinions..
At the moment we have our cable / internet with Hargray. and for a 30 meg connection plus our basic cable with premier digital( which is only about 60 channels) our bill is now going to be over $200.

My only option would be to go with DirectTV ( partnered with CenutryLink for internet).
Now the price for direct TV bundle would be $142,94 for 12 months then it would go up to $179.00
The internet connection would drop down to 25 meg,but it does have the Ultimate channel bundle.

How good is direct TV is it worth the change?
Jben04 is offline  
post #2096 of 2135 Old 08-19-2014, 05:02 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Keenan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 28,489
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 448 Post(s)
Liked: 442
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheRatPatrol View Post
No, there is no way to change it.
Actually there is, in a manner of speaking anyway. It requires a remote that can process a sequenced command. I use a Harmony 880 and I created a sequence(series of commands) that "presses" the replay button 3 times in a row and mapped it to the replay/rewind hard button of the Harmony. It works great! No more pressing 5 or 6 times just to get back to the beginning of the show following a commercial break and no more watching 20-30 secs of a commercial waiting for the show to start.


Now, if we could just get DIRECTV to move in to the 21st century and start using season/episode numbers, that'd be great
Keenan is online now  
post #2097 of 2135 Old 08-23-2014, 07:08 AM
Senior Member
 
drkashner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Seven Valleys, PA
Posts: 200
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,
I've gotten some good info from this forum over the years. A couple of days ago, I received a letter in the mail from Directv, congratulating me for being a customer from the beginning. When I got mine, at a local store, it was the first system they sold, I think about 18 years ago. Anyway, they are offering me 3 different rewards. I could get Sunday ticket for free, Showtime for free for a year, or upgrade to the Genie for free. I have an HR24-500 now. I would assume I would get an HR44. I am thinking about upgrading to the HR44. Are there any suggestions? I wouldn't need to have any clients added, I'm the only one watching TV since my daughter moved out. I would like the terabyte harddrive and the ability to record 5 shows at one time. Right now I have 2 coax running from the dish, so I guess they would also replace the dish to one that has swm. Don't know if I would like the remote.

drkashner
drkashner is offline  
post #2098 of 2135 Old 08-23-2014, 07:11 AM
AVS Special Member
 
joed32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,045
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by drkashner View Post
Hi,
I've gotten some good info from this forum over the years. A couple of days ago, I received a letter in the mail from Directv, congratulating me for being a customer from the beginning. When I got mine, at a local store, it was the first system they sold, I think about 18 years ago. Anyway, they are offering me 3 different rewards. I could get Sunday ticket for free, Showtime for free for a year, or upgrade to the Genie for free. I have an HR24-500 now. I would assume I would get an HR44. I am thinking about upgrading to the HR44. Are there any suggestions? I wouldn't need to have any clients added, I'm the only one watching TV since my daughter moved out. I would like the terabyte harddrive and the ability to record 5 shows at one time. Right now I have 2 coax running from the dish, so I guess they would also replace the dish to one that has swm. Don't know if I would like the remote.
I like the remote, many don't. You can still use your old remote in IR mode if you want to.
joed32 is offline  
post #2099 of 2135 Old 08-23-2014, 08:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
rightintel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 1,555
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 93 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by drkashner View Post
Hi,
I've gotten some good info from this forum over the years. A couple of days ago, I received a letter in the mail from Directv, congratulating me for being a customer from the beginning. When I got mine, at a local store, it was the first system they sold, I think about 18 years ago. Anyway, they are offering me 3 different rewards. I could get Sunday ticket for free, Showtime for free for a year, or upgrade to the Genie for free. I have an HR24-500 now. I would assume I would get an HR44. I am thinking about upgrading to the HR44. Are there any suggestions? I wouldn't need to have any clients added, I'm the only one watching TV since my daughter moved out. I would like the terabyte harddrive and the ability to record 5 shows at one time. Right now I have 2 coax running from the dish, so I guess they would also replace the dish to one that has swm. Don't know if I would like the remote.
You're already entitled to a free upgrade as it is. I've only been w/ them 12yrs, and they upgraded me to the Genie for free(so don't waste it on that). Go for one of the other 2 options. Btw, thrilled to death w the Genie's speedy remote response and performance.

Xbox Live: General PATT0N
rightintel is offline  
post #2100 of 2135 Old 08-23-2014, 12:31 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Keenan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 28,489
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 448 Post(s)
Liked: 442
Quote:
Originally Posted by rightintel View Post
You're already entitled to a free upgrade as it is. I've only been w/ them 12yrs, and they upgraded me to the Genie for free(so don't waste it on that). Go for one of the other 2 options. Btw, thrilled to death w the Genie's speedy remote response and performance.
Yes, the HR44-500 is blazingly fast, and that speed is there with the new remote as well as the old remote - I'm actually using a Harmony 880 and there's no difference between it and the DIRECTV remotes. I was really startled with how fast it was after using sluggish DVRs from DIRECTV for so many years including the well regarded HR20-700.
Keenan is online now  
Reply HDTV Recorders



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off