DirecTV HD DVR - HR2*/ HR34 Master Topic: one thread for all - Page 71 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 2Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2101 of 2108 Old 08-23-2014, 02:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rightintel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 1,406
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by Keenan View Post
Yes, the HR44-500 is blazingly fast, and that speed is there with the new remote as well as the old remote - I'm actually using a Harmony 880 and there's no difference between it and the DIRECTV remotes. I was really startled with how fast it was after using sluggish DVRs from DIRECTV for so many years including the well regarded HR20-700.
Same here. Harmony One is just as quick.
Keenan likes this.

Xbox Live: General PATT0N
rightintel is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2102 of 2108 Old 08-24-2014, 01:45 PM
Member
 
drkashner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Seven Valleys, PA
Posts: 199
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rightintel View Post
Same here. Harmony One is just as quick.
Thanks, for the comments. I think I will go ahead and get an HR44. I'm not into football and I wouldn't watch most of showtime, I already watch too much TV. I assume that I will have another 2 year contract. I have a question though. I have 2 coax coming from my dish to my HR24. I understand that I will only need one for the HR 44. Will I need a different dish, or how does that work? I think I read that there is a swm box that needs power? I assume that would be at the receiver.
thanks

drkashner
drkashner is online now  
post #2103 of 2108 Old 08-24-2014, 03:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rightintel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 1,406
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by drkashner View Post
Thanks, for the comments. I think I will go ahead and get an HR44. I'm not into football and I wouldn't watch most of showtime, I already watch too much TV. I assume that I will have another 2 year contract. I have a question though. I have 2 coax coming from my dish to my HR24. I understand that I will only need one for the HR 44. Will I need a different dish, or how does that work? I think I read that there is a swm box that needs power? I assume that would be at the receiver.
thanks
It depends on your dish set up/cable runs. On mine they were able to keep the old dish.

Xbox Live: General PATT0N
rightintel is offline  
post #2104 of 2108 Old Today, 06:22 AM
Member
 
drkashner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Seven Valleys, PA
Posts: 199
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So I got my HR44 through the loyalty program, friday a week ago. I found a disadvantage from my HR20. Apparently the HR44 doesn't record when it is not turned on. When I'm at home, I would always turn on my local news at noon. If I was out doing something, and didn't come in the house right at noon, I was always able to rewind it to the beginning because I always left the dvr on the local channel. I tried that and it will only go back to the point where I turned the dvr on. Also, whats with the fast forward. I always fast forward through commercials and it would back up to compensate for not stopping exactly at the point where the commercial ended but it doesn't seem to do that. I never got used to using the 30 second skip that most people like. I've been trying that but that doesn't always work out either.

drkashner
drkashner is online now  
post #2105 of 2108 Old Today, 07:45 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Stew4msu's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Wylie, Texas, USA
Posts: 7,079
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Do you mean turn it off, or put it in standby?

It does record when in standby, although there's really never any reason to put it in standby to begin with. My HR44 has been running 24/7 for nearly 2 years.

It does have autocorrect when ffing, but it's not as much as the HR2X's, IIRC.

"The dream never dies, just the dreamer."

Stew4msu is offline  
post #2106 of 2108 Old Today, 08:05 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Burnerbum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Troy/Caseville, MI
Posts: 1,112
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I have 2 HR24-100 receivers and when I watch or download a movie on OnDemand I get audio drop outs. It happens every few seconds and on both receivers. I hadn't used OnDemand for a long time and just started using it the past month and noticed the problem.

I called DirecTV and they don't know what would be causing it. Has anyone else experienced this problem?
Burnerbum is offline  
post #2107 of 2108 Old Today, 08:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Nickff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Brownsburg, IN
Posts: 1,556
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 89 Post(s)
Liked: 114
Quote:
Originally Posted by Burnerbum View Post
I have 2 HR24-100 receivers and when I watch or download a movie on OnDemand I get audio drop outs. It happens every few seconds and on both receivers. I hadn't used OnDemand for a long time and just started using it the past month and noticed the problem.

I called DirecTV and they don't know what would be causing it. Has anyone else experienced this problem?

Are you waiting until they have finished downloading to watch them? Do you run the audio straight to the TV or through an AVR?

Mathematics is the reason for the season.

 


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Nickff is online now  
post #2108 of 2108 Old Today, 11:36 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Burnerbum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Troy/Caseville, MI
Posts: 1,112
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nickff View Post
Are you waiting until they have finished downloading to watch them? Do you run the audio straight to the TV or through an AVR?
I usually wait until they have downloaded. It happens while streaming and playing from a downloaded movie. I have the audio going straight through to my TVs with HDMI. Both receivers do it on different TVs. It happens when playing though component connections too.
Burnerbum is offline  
Reply HDTV Recorders

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off