Channel Master CM-7000PAL HD DVR - AKA Dish DTVPal - Page 14 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #391 of 734 Old 10-06-2011, 08:45 PM
Advanced Member
 
Sdiver2489's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 837
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Still borked for the 'rents. Is this CM's secret way to force people to buy the 7400? Good thing I bought a squaretrade warrenty.
Sdiver2489 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #392 of 734 Old 10-06-2011, 08:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
phildaant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: An Ant Farm
Posts: 2,502
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 177 Post(s)
Liked: 75
No time problems on my DVR tonight. Whew!
phildaant is online now  
post #393 of 734 Old 10-06-2011, 10:55 PM
Newbie
 
shaky ulnas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Steinbach, Manitoba, Canada
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm in Calgary, Alberta. My timer is an hour off as of today.

I manually adjusted the clock so that my timers will record the correct programming (missed one show before I noticed the problem). The trade-off is the guide is now an hour ahead of what is actually on so my recorded shows have the wrong title and information.

Hopefully this resolves itself. Will this happen again on November 6?
shaky ulnas is offline  
post #394 of 734 Old 10-06-2011, 11:34 PM
Newbie
 
shaky ulnas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Steinbach, Manitoba, Canada
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Channelmaster.com suggests unplugging the DVR, plugging it back in and turning it back on to fix clock/EPG discrepancies. I tried this and it is now displaying the correct time and guide information. Keep in mind that it is now October 7 and schultdw posted above that the problem would resolve on its own today.
shaky ulnas is offline  
post #395 of 734 Old 10-07-2011, 10:25 PM
Advanced Member
 
Sdiver2489's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 837
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Talked with the 'rents today. Time is back on track like it should. Thanks everyone for the discussion.
Sdiver2489 is offline  
post #396 of 734 Old 10-08-2011, 04:25 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
videobruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 14,976
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 92 Post(s)
Liked: 121
Quote:


Talked with the 'rents today.

Ok, would you like to tell everyone what/who the hell "the 'rents" are??

Abundant OTA television is what makes this country different from all others. Lets keep it this way.
The Internet is no place for streaming video.
videobruce is offline  
post #397 of 734 Old 10-08-2011, 04:53 AM
Advanced Member
 
Sdiver2489's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 837
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by videobruce View Post

Ok, would you like to tell everyone what/who the hell "the 'rents" are??

http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=rents
Sdiver2489 is offline  
post #398 of 734 Old 10-08-2011, 05:50 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
videobruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 14,976
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 92 Post(s)
Liked: 121
Are we in grade school here?

Abundant OTA television is what makes this country different from all others. Lets keep it this way.
The Internet is no place for streaming video.
videobruce is offline  
post #399 of 734 Old 10-08-2011, 06:22 AM
Advanced Member
 
Pete-N2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Lynchburg, VA
Posts: 552
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sdiver2489 View Post

...Time is back on track like it should. Thanks everyone for the discussion.

I am a little confused as to what happened here. Are the PAL's that had the problem PIP only? (No TV Guide logo on the EPG screen)?
Pete-N2 is offline  
post #400 of 734 Old 10-08-2011, 10:03 AM
Newbie
 
shaky ulnas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Steinbach, Manitoba, Canada
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pete-N2 View Post

I am a little confused as to what happened here. Are the PAL's that had the problem PIP only? (No TV Guide logo on the EPG screen)?

Mine does not have the TV Guide logo. Can you get that service in Canada?

I'm not sure what the problem was either. My other television with an RCA digital converter (DTA800B1) worked as normal that day. It gave correct program information and kept the correct time. It does not have an EPG though.
shaky ulnas is offline  
post #401 of 734 Old 10-08-2011, 10:09 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
arxaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 10,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pete-N2 View Post

...Are the PAL's that had the problem PIP only? (No TV Guide logo on the EPG screen)?

I think you mean PSIP only.
arxaw is offline  
post #402 of 734 Old 10-08-2011, 10:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
phildaant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: An Ant Farm
Posts: 2,502
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 177 Post(s)
Liked: 75
Quote:
Originally Posted by shaky ulnas View Post

Mine does not have the TV Guide logo. Can you get that service in Canada? ...

See http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1099071 's first post (FAQ) about TVGOS. According to http://www.rabbitears.info/market.php?request=tvgosdoc , Canada does have it. You just need to find out which OTA station has it for you.
phildaant is online now  
post #403 of 734 Old 10-08-2011, 10:24 AM
Advanced Member
 
dvdchance's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Carteret, Middlesex County, NJ
Posts: 792
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by phildaant View Post

See http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1099071 's first post (FAQ) about TVGOS. According to http://www.rabbitears.info/market.php?request=tvgosdoc , Canada does have it. You just need to find out which OTA station has it for you.

But can you enter a Canadian Postal Code in the zip code field? Does it accept letters as valid?
dvdchance is offline  
post #404 of 734 Old 10-08-2011, 10:25 AM
Advanced Member
 
Pete-N2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Lynchburg, VA
Posts: 552
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by arxaw View Post

I think you mean PSIP only.

Yep - thanks
( I'll be glad when they perfect google voice)
Pete-N2 is offline  
post #405 of 734 Old 10-08-2011, 11:07 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Rammitinski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Des Plaines, IL
Posts: 17,437
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by videobruce View Post

Are we in grade school here?

Prolly .
Rammitinski is offline  
post #406 of 734 Old 10-08-2011, 11:35 AM
Advanced Member
 
Sdiver2489's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 837
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rammitinski View Post

Prolly .

Grade schoolers buying their parents $300 DVRs? Prolly not.

Didn't know that no one has apparently heard of slang around here.
Sdiver2489 is offline  
post #407 of 734 Old 10-08-2011, 11:36 AM
AVS Special Member
 
phildaant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: An Ant Farm
Posts: 2,502
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 177 Post(s)
Liked: 75
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sdiver2489 View Post

Grade schoolers buying their parents $300 DVRs? Prolly not.

Didn't know that no one has apparently heard of slang around here.

I haven't heard that definition before as well.
phildaant is online now  
post #408 of 734 Old 10-08-2011, 11:36 AM
Advanced Member
 
Sdiver2489's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 837
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pete-N2 View Post

I am a little confused as to what happened here. Are the PAL's that had the problem PIP only? (No TV Guide logo on the EPG screen)?

My PARENTS' 7000PAL does receive TVGoS and it had the time issue. I know when technical problems occur because I'm the first person they call when anything isn't working as it should. In this case, it didn't record her soap opera (which is close to the end of the world).
Sdiver2489 is offline  
post #409 of 734 Old 10-08-2011, 11:41 AM
Advanced Member
 
Sdiver2489's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 837
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by phildaant View Post

I haven't heard that definition before as well.

At least we all know internet slang such as AFAIK and IMHO, right? That's much different than "grade school" slang like 'rents. Nerd is spoken here all other dialects not welcome!
Sdiver2489 is offline  
post #410 of 734 Old 10-08-2011, 12:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
phildaant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: An Ant Farm
Posts: 2,502
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 177 Post(s)
Liked: 75
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sdiver2489 View Post

At least we all know internet slang such as AFAIK and IMHO, right? That's much different than "grade school" slang like 'rents. Nerd is spoken here all other dialects not welcome!

/me nods.
phildaant is online now  
post #411 of 734 Old 10-08-2011, 01:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
P Smith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Mediterranean Sea
Posts: 1,955
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 127
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kelson View Post

This device has no affiliation with Dish at all. This is a Channel Master product. Adding Blockbuster streaming, Netflix streaming and/or Amazon instant streaming in addition to Vudu would all be excellent ideas -- but you won't see them on this product which was already at the end of its life-cycle when they started selling it. If offered you will most likely see streaming options on the new CM-7400.

I can easily make you eat the crow :
- do you see that dish word "PAL" in the name ?
- do you have a slot on bottom with E* smart card ?
- is your CM-7kPAL has unique Rxx number (plus a lot of unique bytes in OTP area of flash what must be engage when payTV or VOD or DOD, etc will come) ?
- isn't a PCB inside marked as "Design in UK. E*" ?

I think it's enough to dismiss your mistake.
P Smith is offline  
post #412 of 734 Old 10-08-2011, 04:57 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Rammitinski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Des Plaines, IL
Posts: 17,437
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sdiver2489 View Post

At least we all know internet slang such as AFAIK and IMHO, right?

Don't you mean "amirite"?
Rammitinski is offline  
post #413 of 734 Old 10-08-2011, 06:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Kelson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Delaware - The First State (USA)
Posts: 9,959
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 184 Post(s)
Liked: 332
Quote:
Originally Posted by P Smith View Post

I can easily make you eat the crow :
- do you see that dish word "PAL" in the name ?
- do you have a slot on bottom with E* smart card ?
- is your CM-7kPAL has unique Rxx number (plus a lot of unique bytes in OTP area of flash what must be engage when payTV or VOD or DOD, etc will come) ?
- isn't a PCB inside marked as "Design in UK. E*" ?

I think it's enough to dismiss your mistake.

Oh you know darn well what I mean when I say the CM-7000 has no affiliation with Dish. Dish has completely disavowed the DTVPal that had their name on it -- you can't even download the F208 firmware from them. All mention of or reference to DTVPal has been purged from their website like they never sold the product. So, what makes you think they would offer any support whatsoever, i.e. a firmware update to add features to a dead product sold by Channel Master as their own. Go buy a CM-7000, then call Dish and ask when they are going to update the firmware and see what they tell you -- I'd be willing to bet you are the one that will get dismissed.

- kelson h

The bitterness of poor quality lasts long after the sweetness of the low price is forgotten . . . life is too short to drink bad wine

Kelson is offline  
post #414 of 734 Old 10-08-2011, 11:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
P Smith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Mediterranean Sea
Posts: 1,955
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 127
Don't want give up ... E* never did and never will give their FW to other hands. I know the difference between F2.08 and F4.00: in all strings just changed "dishnetwork" to "channel master", and no one byte of code.
P Smith is offline  
post #415 of 734 Old 10-15-2011, 11:17 AM
Member
 
gary-in-dc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pete-N2 View Post

I am a little confused as to what happened here. Are the PAL's that had the problem PIP only? (No TV Guide logo on the EPG screen)?

I experienced my Pal DVR being off 1 hr. as well on Oct.6. I posted to the PAL forum but no one else in the DC area (or anywhere for that matter) reported the problem on that forum. I'm guessing my Pal acquired the time from a local station that might be using old equipment that had built-in correction for the old time change that used to occur sometime in October instead of the current November. I have my DVR on a timer - so it is off between midnite and noon and I'm probably the only user in the DC area that does this. I'm guessing this plays a role since I'm almost always off by 2-5 minutes and it will correct itself if I leave it on long enough. (I believe TVGOS time is sent only a couple times a day). A soft-reset didn't fix it. I had to use the reset to default option to correct. (I do always have the TVGOS logo on the listings screen but I read somewhere in the PAL forum that the logo can remain after a soft or hard reset (the unplug) - only a reset to the defaults option forces a fresh download (meaning the logo disappears for awhile until the usual time when TVGOS sends out updated listings).
gary-in-dc is offline  
post #416 of 734 Old 10-15-2011, 12:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
P Smith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Mediterranean Sea
Posts: 1,955
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 127
Quote:
Originally Posted by gary-in-dc View Post

I experienced my Pal DVR being off 1 hr. as well on Oct.6. I posted to the PAL forum but no one else in the DC area (or anywhere for that matter) reported the problem on that forum. I'm guessing my Pal acquired the time from a local station that might be using old equipment that had built-in correction for the old time change that used to occur sometime in October instead of the current November. I have my DVR on a timer - so it is off between midnite and noon and I'm probably the only user in the DC area that does this. I'm guessing this plays a role since I'm almost always off by 2-5 minutes and it will correct itself if I leave it on long enough. (I believe TVGOS time is sent only a couple times a day). A soft-reset didn't fix it. I had to use the reset to default option to correct. (I do always have the TVGOS logo on the listings screen but I read somewhere in the PAL forum that the logo can remain after a soft or hard reset (the unplug) - only a reset to the defaults option forces a fresh download (meaning the logo disappears for awhile until the usual time when TVGOS sends out updated listings).

Umm, each 15 seconds actually. Check original PAL DVR thread - many logs posted there, where you can see how often the TVGOS time packet going out.
P Smith is offline  
post #417 of 734 Old 10-15-2011, 02:07 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
videobruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 14,976
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 92 Post(s)
Liked: 121
FWIW, in this market there is no problem with the correct time as of now.

Abundant OTA television is what makes this country different from all others. Lets keep it this way.
The Internet is no place for streaming video.
videobruce is offline  
post #418 of 734 Old 10-30-2011, 03:24 PM
Newbie
 
riverouzel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have had a Channel Master CM-7000PAL for more than a month and am happy with it. I have one question that I can't find an answer to.

Is it possible to watch TV on one channel while recording two programs simultaneously on other channels? If so, please tell me exactly how.

As a test earlier today, I started recording two programs, then tried to change the channel. It wouldn't let me do this unless I stopped recording one of the programs.

I have a year-old digital TV that has an ATSC/NTSC/QAM tuner. The TV is connected via an HDMI cable to the Channel Master, which is connected to my OTA antenna.

Thanks for any advice you can give me.
riverouzel is offline  
post #419 of 734 Old 10-30-2011, 03:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
phildaant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: An Ant Farm
Posts: 2,502
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 177 Post(s)
Liked: 75
Quote:
Originally Posted by riverouzel View Post

I have had a Channel Master CM-7000PAL for more than a month and am happy with it. I have one question that I can't find an answer to.

Is it possible to watch TV on one channel while recording two programs simultaneously on other channels? If so, please tell me exactly how.

As a test earlier today, I started recording two programs, then tried to change the channel. It wouldn't let me do this unless I stopped recording one of the programs.

I have a year-old digital TV that has an ATSC/NTSC/QAM tuner. The TV is connected via an HDMI cable to the Channel Master, which is connected to my OTA antenna.

Thanks for any advice you can give me.

Nope. It only has two tuners.
phildaant is online now  
post #420 of 734 Old 10-30-2011, 03:32 PM
Newbie
 
riverouzel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks so much for your quick response. I was hoping to watch the Simpsons Treehouse of Horror tonight while recording two other programs. Oh well. I'll catch the Simpsons on Hulu. Thanks again.
riverouzel is offline  
Reply HDTV Recorders

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off