JVC HDTV VCR - $1119 - works with Sony i.link firewire (???) - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-18-2002, 04:10 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
boylan13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 1,263
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey, gang,

Just saw the JVC HM-DH30000U D-VHS/HDTV VCR on the bargain countdown at ecost - $1119.95 with 3 left. Later I didn't see it there, so the bargain countdown may have ended or they sold out. But the regular price appears to be just ten bucks more - $1129.95 and they say they have them in stock.

http://www.ecost.com/ecost/shop/detail.asp?dpno=963365

J&R has it for $1199 (http://www.jandr.com) but they state that the list is now only $1499 (JVC says $1999) so maybe the price is coming down already?

In any case, what's MORE interesting to me is a review I read that says that this piece works fine with the Sony ieee1394 (firewire, i.link) connection for recording OTA HDTV from the Sony's built in HD tuner. All that I have read about the Sony i.link implementation on current sets is that it works only with the Sony digital set-top box (DHG-M55CB I think it's called) and/or that it's input only for now.

The review in question was in Audio/Video interiors:

http://www.audiovideointeriorsweb.co...oducts01.shtml

The TV they used it with was the Sony KDP-57XBR2 16:9 RPTV. I assume the i.link implementation of this is the same as that on the Sony 34" tube TV (KD-34XBR2). But has anyone successfully hooked the JVC HDTV VCR to any of the Sony HDTV units via i.link/firewire and had any success with it?

I'm curious as my Sony is arriving any day now and I'm already trying to figure out how to record HDTV. The JVC is a tantalizing possibility at this price, particularly if it will use the Sony's built-in decoder.

Anyone with hands-on experience out there?

Thanks,

Chris

Chris Boylan
Home Theater Editor
Big Picture Big Sound
boylan13 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-18-2002, 05:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
h2ofun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: auburn,ca usa
Posts: 3,662
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I was able to get the sony I link to play from the JVC. I was not able to get it to record. But as others will tell you, without any first hand experience, I may have screwed up. Am still waiting for someone else to do the test and prove this is correct!!!
I would live to find out I did since I since like the set.

Dave
h2ofun is offline  
Old 03-18-2002, 09:11 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
boylan13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 1,263
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the reply. Which Sony did you try the JVC D-VHS unit with? Was it the 34" direct view widescreen or one of the RPTV models? The reviewer of the JVC used it with the latest gen. RPTV unit. But I'm about to take delivery on the 34" widescreen unit.

I wonder if the ilink implementation is different on these? Anyone? Beuller?

Later,

Chris

Chris Boylan
Home Theater Editor
Big Picture Big Sound
boylan13 is offline  
Old 03-18-2002, 09:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
h2ofun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: auburn,ca usa
Posts: 3,662
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I tried the 34 inch sony. Getting the I link to work was no small task.
Still not totally sure what different modes we changed because the setup would say the same thing when I toggled the mode.

Maybe I totally missed something and you can get it to work.

dave
h2ofun is offline  
Old 03-18-2002, 09:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
gridleak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Newport Beach, CA, USA
Posts: 1,219
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This thread might be of interest.

-Roger
gridleak is offline  
Old 03-19-2002, 11:51 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
boylan13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 1,263
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks! That thread is very helpful. So it looks like at least one person (OK, two if you count the reviewer) were able to use the Sony HD tuner built into the XBR TV, output via firewire (i.link) to record HD content on the JVC unit.

But Dave had trouble with it and he seems like a bright fellow. :)

I wonder if Sony changed their i.link implementation mid-production?

It would be nice to hear from anyone else on this issue. If I do bite the bullet and buy it myself, I'll be sure to report back. Of course, Sony's next line of HDTVs will all have DVI (as well as firewire) so maybe the point will be moot?

Thanks all for the input so far.

-Chris

Chris Boylan
Home Theater Editor
Big Picture Big Sound
boylan13 is offline  
Old 03-19-2002, 05:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
gridleak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Newport Beach, CA, USA
Posts: 1,219
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I think Dave was working under difficult circumstances when he was testing with the XBR2.

Hopefully Ray Cathode will give us another report.

-Roger
gridleak is offline  
Old 03-19-2002, 05:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
h2ofun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: auburn,ca usa
Posts: 3,662
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am surprised that no one else has taken the time like I did to atleast try it. Must be other stores in the US that have the set in stock.

Hye Roger, you ever get your 169time stuff working yet?

dave
h2ofun is offline  
Old 03-19-2002, 06:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
gridleak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Newport Beach, CA, USA
Posts: 1,219
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sorry, things keep coming up. Had to do the XP computer to play with leszek1 and JPELL's neat stuff. Like you, I want to have some form of NL editing.

-Roger
gridleak is offline  
Old 03-20-2002, 12:42 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
mikey mo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Lakeland, Florida
Posts: 2,385
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
[quote]Originally posted by boylan13
[b]Thanks! That thread is very helpful. So it looks like at least one person (OK, two if you count the reviewer) were able to use the Sony HD tuner built into the XBR TV, output via firewire (i.link) to record HD content on the JVC unit.

The reviewer DOES NOT say that he recorded on the JVC 30000 via the firewire output of the Sony RP. As I have posted at least twice, I wrote to the author of the AV INTERIORS article as I too interpreted his review to state that he did so record. He responded to me that my interpretation was in error and he did not state what you, Ray Cathode and I thought he said. I believe Ray Cathode has posted that his recording may have been a fluke; and Dave could not record.

Also, see the JVC review in WIDESCREEN REVIEW beginning on Page 56.

Mikey Mo
"Survived Charley, Frances & Ivan. But Jeanne got me."
Anxiously Awaiting 2014 Hurricane Season.
"OAR OR DIE"
They killed the SACD. Bring it back.

mikey mo is offline  
Old 03-20-2002, 07:32 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
boylan13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 1,263
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello, Mikey,

I saw the excerpt from the author's reply that you posted in the other thread and found it puzzling. I don't really see how this could possibly be a question of "intepretation."

Here's a direct quote from the article:

"It also let me record HDTV signals from the Sony PTV utilizing the one-way i.Link connection. (Sony claims that JVC's implementation of 1394 is incompatible with i.Link, but it worked just fine when I connected the Sony's i.Link output to the JVC's 1394 input.)"

That part about recording "HDTV signals from the Sony PTV using the one-way i.Link connection" is pretty clear. If he's backing off that statement now, then he should have an amendment printed in the article online and in print.

I just bought the JVC from J&R here in the city. Will be picking it up this week. My Sony TV is in shipment to me now. It may be late next week before I have everything and will have time to test this. So stay tuned.

Any other reports before then would be welcome.

Later, folks.

-Chris

Chris Boylan
Home Theater Editor
Big Picture Big Sound
boylan13 is offline  
Old 03-23-2002, 05:15 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
boylan13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 1,263
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
After spending a couple of hours with the JVC and the Sony I can tell you that MY JVC 30000 that I just brought home does NOT record HDTV content from my Sony KD34XBR2 via the firewire connection.

I'm going to start a new thread about this.

-Chris

Chris Boylan
Home Theater Editor
Big Picture Big Sound
boylan13 is offline  
Old 03-23-2002, 05:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
gridleak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Newport Beach, CA, USA
Posts: 1,219
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It seems like this has been occurring frequently with the new 1394 devices: Box A works perfectly with Box B. Forum member reports about it gleefully. Then the two boxes stop working together, and the forum member thinks he just made a mistake. This is the fourth time I've seen this happen on the forum.

We may see more of this, as the new devices exchange and update CRL's.

-Roger
gridleak is offline  
Old 03-23-2002, 05:54 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
boylan13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 1,263
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well, not exactly. Box A and Box B never really worked that well together in my experience. Ray Cathode has had better luck though.

-CB

Chris Boylan
Home Theater Editor
Big Picture Big Sound
boylan13 is offline  
Old 03-23-2002, 06:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
h2ofun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: auburn,ca usa
Posts: 3,662
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Chris, thats exactly what I found even though some didnt believe me.

Maybe we both have blew it.

dave
h2ofun is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off