Official Moxi Hard Drive Replacement Thread - Page 24 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 16Likes
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-01-2015, 12:57 AM
Senior Member
 
sslund's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Pacific Northwest
Posts: 251
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dillydipper View Post
Just to clarify: are you saying, your internal drive could fail, but you can slap a fresh internal drive inside, and let the MOXI initialize it, and then it will be able to read what's on the external drive again?
OR, are you saying, your replacement internal needs to be a cloned version of the original drive, to again get access to the external drive's contents? Because I had the impression only the latter was true.

Isn't the information on the external drive "married" to the identity of the internal drive?
Sorry -- I got derailed by the holiday :-)


And, I guess I misunderstood your intention -- I thought that you'd talked about using one of your drives as an external drive if you could get a new internal drive to work either cloning your current drive (to preserve your recorded content) or using the 4FP on a different drive if cloning was unsuccessful or if you decided to forgo the attempt at cloning.


But . . . to answer your question, it's my understanding and my experience that an external drive is married to a specific Moxi and not to the Moxi's internal drive. I don't know where that marriage lives, but I'm presuming it originates with the motherboard -- does anyone know?


I have two 3-tuner Moxis both with external drives, and I've had to replace the internal drives on each Moxi. The content recorded on the external drives survived, and not just the "current" external drive attached at the time of the internal failure -- I have probably three "archive" external drives for each Moxi, and the recorded content on those archive external drives are still usable on their respective Moxis.


Have you had any luck yet?
sslund is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-01-2015, 06:42 AM
Senior Member
 
dz2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 350
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Anyone have anymore ideas on how to rebuild a moxi external hdd raid? This device had been trying for weeks.
dz2k is offline  
Old 12-01-2015, 11:50 AM
Member
 
Dillydipper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Pennsylvania, between Philadelphia and Pittsburgh
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by sslund View Post
Sorry -- I got derailed by the holiday...yadda yadda...Have you had any luck yet?


I like to think of the holidays as, the time we can maybe catch-up on whatever we have backlogged on the hard-drive...but this year, I'm just grateful so many shows are in reruns, so I don't have to worry about not being able to record them! (Either way...this is an odd thing to be thankful for)

So no, I wasn't intending to do what you said, I was just blue-skying about the potential inter-changeability of an interior disc to an external position, so I could use my machine to its' best capacity. That's a long way down the road. But thanks for your clarification.

Current status:
No, no movement here. Now that the turkey is gone and all the gravy's been licked off all the plates, I can finally take the old internal drive to a geek shop to get it cloned. Then I can see if enough good sectors survived to make the information work on a fresh drive. A friend supplied me with a spare TiVO for awhile to help me keep up with crap I watch too much of, while I keep trying to resurrect MOXI (then it's binge-watching until I can clear everything off the fresh, cloned drive, and if I get caught up I'll once again try and 4FP/re-initialize that drive so its' full 2TB capacity can be used, and MOXI'll be my main DVR once again). Then he gets his TiVO back, and I'll finally have the capacity to stop recording the SD channels, and start recording in HD like a big boy.
Dillydipper is offline  
Old 12-02-2015, 02:22 AM
Senior Member
 
sslund's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Pacific Northwest
Posts: 251
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dillydipper View Post
Current status:
No, no movement here. Now that the turkey is gone and all the gravy's been licked off all the plates, I can finally take the old internal drive to a geek shop to get it cloned. Then I can see if enough good sectors survived to make the information work on a fresh drive. A friend supplied me with a spare TiVO for awhile to help me keep up with crap I watch too much of, while I keep trying to resurrect MOXI (then it's binge-watching until I can clear everything off the fresh, cloned drive, and if I get caught up I'll once again try and 4FP/re-initialize that drive so its' full 2TB capacity can be used, and MOXI'll be my main DVR once again). Then he gets his TiVO back, and I'll finally have the capacity to stop recording the SD channels, and start recording in HD like a big boy.
Sounds like a plan! I seem to recall someone mentioning it already, but do be aware that opening the Moxi (to have the drive cloned or to replace a failed drive) will void your access to tech support for the unit, which will likely/potentially/possibly also void your ability to buy that $250 refurbished unit you've been offered. It's something to keep in mind if you cannot live without a Moxi because while it's usually a HDD problem, other things can and do fail that cannot be fixed by replacing the internal HDD.


Question: is there a reason you're not going to do the cloning yourself using G4L? I've not used it myself, but there are instructions in this thread that seemed pretty clear to me (after I read over them a couple of times) when I was thinking about trying the cloning route.
sslund is offline  
Old 12-02-2015, 10:32 AM
Member
 
Dillydipper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Pennsylvania, between Philadelphia and Pittsburgh
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes, I'm aware. I've already voided my warranty. I'm fine with it, and if my unit turns out to be a boat anchor, I'll live with that. Still crossing my fingers, though - who wouldn't want a MOXI compared with all the other expensive choices out there that still don't offer what this thing does!

The only reason I'm not doing it myself is...I don't have two slots free. Also I don't want to impose on my friends to deal with my problems, or download a program they aren't familiar with. I'm already tackling a college-level class here, with a 6th grade education (I love a good metaphor); why strain a good relationship by dragging them into this drama. I can just take this to my geek, and maybe I'll still learn something that can help you when you try it!



Dillydipper is offline  
Old 12-02-2015, 11:51 PM
Member
 
miked1960's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Waterford MI
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dillydipper View Post
Yes, I'm aware. I've already voided my warranty. I'm fine with it, and if my unit turns out to be a boat anchor, I'll live with that. Still crossing my fingers, though - who wouldn't want a MOXI compared with all the other expensive choices out there that still don't offer what this thing does!

The only reason I'm not doing it myself is...I don't have two slots free. Also I don't want to impose on my friends to deal with my problems, or download a program they aren't familiar with. I'm already tackling a college-level class here, with a 6th grade education (I love a good metaphor); why strain a good relationship by dragging them into this drama. I can just take this to my geek, and maybe I'll still learn something that can help you when you try it!



if you are having your HDD cloned why would you do the 4fp after all it's going to do is wipe out your HDD and all that cloning you just done will be gone. The whole idea to clone so you do not have to do the 4fp and what I understand Moxi will have no idea you just replaced the HDD unless you send it in to them. Good luck
miked1960 is offline  
Old 12-03-2015, 02:21 AM
Senior Member
 
sslund's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Pacific Northwest
Posts: 251
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by miked1960 View Post
if you are having your HDD cloned why would you do the 4fp after all it's going to do is wipe out your HDD and all that cloning you just done will be gone. The whole idea to clone so you do not have to do the 4fp and what I understand Moxi will have no idea you just replaced the HDD unless you send it in to them. Good luck

Someone will hopefully correct me if I'm mistaken, but my understanding is that they can see from the log files and in astonishing detail -- they don't need your physical Moxi. I think there have been a couple of folks here who have reported that support was terminated because Support could tell they had replaced an internal drive, and they hadn't sent their Moxis in. Personally, my experience is that they could tell that the HDD model in my external enclosure wasn't on their supported list, so I had to disconnect it for them to troubleshoot the issue and not just blame the failure on an "unsupported" external model and/or enclosure that's worked for many here.


I think it would be silly to dq someone from paying $250 to exchange a failed Moxi for a refurbished now that Moxis are no longer a retail product, but I'm not convinced it wouldn't happen given that at least a couple of folks have been told that their support was cut off as a result of self-replacing a failed internal drive. OTOH, there have been some reports of really good customer service over the past several months, so who knows?


Hope for the best
sslund is offline  
Old 12-03-2015, 04:27 AM
Senior Member
 
dz2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 350
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 26
They can tell what hdd is in your moxi, cloned or ffp.

Last edited by dz2k; 12-20-2015 at 08:52 PM.
dz2k is offline  
Old 12-03-2015, 09:18 AM
Member
 
miked1960's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Waterford MI
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by sslund View Post
Someone will hopefully correct me if I'm mistaken, but my understanding is that they can see from the log files and in astonishing detail -- they don't need your physical Moxi. I think there have been a couple of folks here who have reported that support was terminated because Support could tell they had replaced an internal drive, and they hadn't sent their Moxis in. Personally, my experience is that they could tell that the HDD model in my external enclosure wasn't on their supported list, so I had to disconnect it for them to troubleshoot the issue and not just blame the failure on an "unsupported" external model and/or enclosure that's worked for many here.


I think it would be silly to dq someone from paying $250 to exchange a failed Moxi for a refurbished now that Moxis are no longer a retail product, but I'm not convinced it wouldn't happen given that at least a couple of folks have been told that their support was cut off as a result of self-replacing a failed internal drive. OTOH, there have been some reports of really good customer service over the past several months, so who knows?


Hope for the best
I paid them the $250 to replace my Moxi. I did not know if it was the HDD or something with the unit itself. After being attacked by the Power company and their surges it seemed cheaper for me to just let them have it to either fix it or part it out same with my moxi extender it to failed shortly after.

I'm looking to find a extender that I can add on and have it set to raid 1 so I will have a back up and exchange if the main HDD dies. Moxi says the WD book work and approved it seems all they have is USB and from what I read the extended is only for the esata and Moxi told me the USB port is only for there digital box they sold.
miked1960 is offline  
Old 12-03-2015, 09:56 AM
Member
 
Dillydipper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Pennsylvania, between Philadelphia and Pittsburgh
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by miked1960 View Post
if you are having your HDD cloned why would you do the 4fp after all it's going to do is wipe out your HDD and all that cloning you just done will be gone. The whole idea to clone so you do not have to do the 4fp and what I understand Moxi will have no idea you just replaced the HDD unless you send it in to them. Good luck
Mike, it appears you are coming into my conversation late. I was describing my next step:

1) HDD"A" failed.
2) Bought forum-recommended HDD ("HDD B"), considered cloning, but would lose full capacity of drive.
3) Instead, chose to simply put new HDD B in MOXI to start fresh.
4) MOXI wouldn't finish initialization process.
5) Then decided to clone original HDD A onto new HDD B (but I have no available slots, so will take it to a geek)
*Note - you are here*
6) Not pressured for time now, because I have a borrowed TiVO, so once original HDD A is cloned onto HDD B, will watch everything off of it.
7) Once original programming is gone from new HDD B, I will try once again with a fresh HDD ("HDD C") to re-initialize in MOXI
8) If that works, then will take the (first) new HDD B, put it in an external enclosure, and use that way.
9) But if that doesn't work because HDD B still has identifying information on it cloned from HDD A, then I would have to wipe it fresh and re-format it, in order to mate with HDD C.
10) Of course, the last desperate step would be, try putting the old HDD A back into MOXI, send it back with $250 in lunch money, and hope they don't notice the half-eaten sandwich I left in there when I (shhh!) opened the lid.

Just working it out in my head, is all. Sorry to bewilder you.
(My head is actually an unsafe work environment - in fact, I'm awaiting OSHA to come inspect, and shut me down, any day now)
Dillydipper is offline  
Old 12-14-2015, 07:53 PM
Member
 
iKerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Question

I'm looking for a replacement HDD for my antique retail Moxi 2-Tuner MR-1500-T3. It still has the OEM HDD.

I'm having more and more freezes requiring Moxi reboots.

I see different HDD's recommended for a 2T Moxi but many posts are 2-3 years old. I'm assuming that there have been more recent (improved) HDDs?

What's the most GB's I can have?

Recommendations?

Thanks, Kerry

My components:

Samsung UDTV UN55JS8500 (new 7/29/15)
Internet/Cable Modem: SMC Networks D#CM 1604 DOCSIS 3.0 16x4
Moxi 2-Tuner MR-1500-T3 DVD recorder
Cisco Tuning Adapter (STA1520) Current firmware: FLASH: STA1.0.0_1520_LR_F.1901
App(s): SARA v1.61.41.a203
Remote Control: Inteset INT-422 4-in-1 Universal

Last edited by iKerry; 12-23-2015 at 06:58 PM.
iKerry is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off