Dish Network Tomfoolery - VIP722K Duo DVR max external HD size? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 03-08-2011, 11:01 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Thenum13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a VIP722K Duo Dvr receiver from Dish. I want to hook up an external hard drive to maximize how much content I can store. I was in a bit of a rush yesterday so while cooking dinner I decided to open up a chat with Dish tech support to ask if there was anything I should be aware of in regards to compatablility etc... Following is a transcript of our chat:

Please wait while we find a representative to assist you...
Welcome to DISH Network Chat.
Dinesh (ID: ISF): How may I help you today?
Dave Silva: Hi there, I would like to purchase an External Hard Drive to hook up to my Dish Duo Receiver. Would any type of External Drive be compatable?
Dinesh (ID: ISF): Hello Dave!
Dinesh (ID: ISF): I'd be happy to assist you with your request.
Dinesh (ID: ISF): Please give me a moment to access your account.
Dinesh (ID: ISF): I appreciate your patience.
Dave Silva: no prob
Dinesh (ID: ISF): Thank you.
Dinesh (ID: ISF): You must go for a EHD with the following features:
USB 2.0
External power source (not powered by the receiver's USB port)
Minimum size of 50GB / Maximum size of 2TB
Dave Silva: Are you sure 2TB will work? I just found this on the Dish site
Dave Silva: While most major manufactured external hard drives are compatible with the Solo DVR ViP® 612, DuoDVR ViP® 622, and DuoDVR ViP® 722 HD receivers, a minimum 50GB and maximum 1TB drive is permitted*.
Dinesh (ID: ISF): We can use both, 2TB is also preferrable and also 1TB.
Dave Silva: Ok do you know why it says maximum 1TB drive is permitted?
Dinesh (ID: ISF): It's the minimum requirement.
Dinesh (ID: ISF): For security purposes, can you please verify the last four digits of the Social Security Number on the account?
Dave Silva: minimum 50GB
Dave Silva: minimum 50GB and maximum 1TB drive is permitted
Dave Silva: Last 4 of the social is ****
Dinesh (ID: ISF): Thank you. Yes, that's correct, minimum 50GB and maximum 1TB.
Dave Silva: ok so brand speed etc doesn't matter?
Dinesh (ID: ISF): Yes, doesn't matter.
Dave Silva: Ok thanks for the help
Dinesh (ID: ISF): You are welcome.
***************************************
So I'm still confused. I have looked into this further since yesterday and I just keep getting different answers. The owner's manual for my Dish receiver states it can handle an external drive with a minimum of 50gb and maximum of 750gb. The Dish web site states minimum 50gm and maximum 1TB and the "Robot" I spoke with yesterday clearly had no clue. I ordered a 1TB drive from Amazon yesterday before seeing the manual and the possible 750 gb max so I am hoping I'm going to be ok. Anyone here using an external drive with Dish? Thanks
Thenum13 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 03-08-2011, 11:29 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 45,876
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Topic title edited.

'Better Living Through Modern, Expensive, Electronic Devices'

Ken H is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 03-08-2011, 12:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bobby94928's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Rohnert Park, CA
Posts: 4,431
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 86
Just go buy a 2tb WD Elements and plug it in, it will work.

Bobby 

bobby94928 is online now  
post #4 of 7 Old 03-08-2011, 01:30 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Thenum13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks Bobby,
I already bought a 1TB through Amazon last night. Just waiting for delivery now. How are you sure the 2TB will work if I may ask? Its just confusing that the manual says max - 750 gb, the dish site says 1tb, and the tech support guy...... well.... that felt like chatting directly with an overseas Nigerian Lotto Scammer (no offense to Nigerians)
Thenum13 is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 03-08-2011, 03:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bobby94928's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Rohnert Park, CA
Posts: 4,431
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 86
Because people on other sites are using 2tb with the 722 and they work. There is another site with Dish TSRs that help out and they also said 2tb max.

Edit: This is from MattG @Dishnetwork on that other site:

As a correction to my above post:

211 family receivers still only support up to 1TB EHD's (you will need to call to activate)
VIP DVR receivers will support up to 2TB. (you will not need to call)

Sorry about any inconvenience this may have caused.

Bobby 

bobby94928 is online now  
post #6 of 7 Old 03-08-2011, 04:42 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Thenum13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Huh If I had known that I would have sprung for the 2TB but hey that's good to know. Thanks again
Thenum13 is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 03-12-2011, 02:37 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Thenum13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So it recognized the 1TB WD drive no problem. I am able to transfer all my boxing from my dvr over to the EHD. Is there anyway to organize my media on the HD though? I would like to create folders or at least categorize by date/title etc
Thenum13 is offline  
Reply HDTV Recorders

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off