Alternatives to TiVo - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 23 Old 09-05-2011, 07:27 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just switched from Comcast to RCN. I currently have the internet, phone, cable package. I would like to record cartoon programs for my daughter that mostly appear during the day while she is in school.

I can't justify renting a TiVo box and pay a monthly subscription fee. I am new to digital video recorder boxes. What are my options and how would I integrate it into my set-up?

My current setup is a Panasonic Plasma Viera, Motorola DCX700 and Arris's Touchstone Telephony Modem TM502G.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 23 Old 09-05-2011, 07:53 AM
AVS Club Gold

Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 134
You might want to look at a Magnavox MDR513 or 515, which is a HDD/DVD recorder, std def only, but I don't think your daughter will notice.

Find lots more info and ask questions in the Mag thread by clicking #1 in my signature.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
|
post #3 of 23 Old 09-05-2011, 09:18 AM
Advanced Member

Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by wajo View Post

You might want to look at a Magnavox MDR513 or 515, which is a HDD/DVD recorder, std def only, but I don't think your daughter will notice.

I'm 100% agree with wajo. Anyway, just for your info maybe there's another option:

Heres's the Recorder with HDMI Inputs? Yes it exists! thread.

post #4 of 23 Old 09-05-2011, 12:21 PM
AVS Special Member

Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 171
Quote:
Originally Posted by PixelDot View Post

I just switched from Comcast to RCN. I currently have the internet, phone, cable package. I would like to record cartoon programs for my daughter that mostly appear during the day while she is in school.