8300HD --> Windows 7 64-bit: would Ubuntu work? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 Old 12-20-2011, 09:36 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Blaq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I want to capture recorded videos off my 8300HD onto a Windows 7 64-bit box. From all the reading I've been doing, it seems no reliable 64-bit Windows Firewire drivers exist.

1) Can you confirm this? Are 64-bit Windows users still unable to capture from 8300HD via Firewire?

2) I prefer not to buy a used Mac for the sole purpose of Firewire video capture. Can I successfully run a capture solution in Ubuntu, inside a VirtualBox environment? If so, what software works with an 8300HD?

There are so many threads across the Net, it would be nice to have a single response point for this specific situation. Thanks.
Blaq is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3 Old 12-20-2011, 11:52 AM
AVS Special Member
 
qz3fwd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 2,780
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blaq View Post

I want to capture recorded videos off my 8300HD onto a Windows 7 64-bit box. From all the reading I've been doing, it seems no reliable 64-bit Windows Firewire drivers exist.

1) Can you confirm this? Are 64-bit Windows users still unable to capture from 8300HD via Firewire?

2) I prefer not to buy a used Mac for the sole purpose of Firewire video capture. Can I successfully run a capture solution in Ubuntu, inside a VirtualBox environment? If so, what software works with an 8300HD?

There are so many threads across the Net, it would be nice to have a single response point for this specific situation. Thanks.

1. No you cannot capture through firewire on any 64 bit Windows OS.
2. I dont think any VM solution supports firewire pass through. Parallels does not, VMWare does not. Dont know about VirtualBox but doubt it.

Regardless, I think the SA boxes firewire implementation is broken such that no device can capture glitch free recordings, even DVHS decks????

If you have a friend with a mac laptop with firewire, see if you can borrow it or invite them over and do a test run to save yourself time and money.

Good luck.
qz3fwd is online now  
post #3 of 3 Old 12-24-2011, 02:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
TNO821's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 1,105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
^ Yes, that has been my experience. SA cable boxes have screwed up FireWire. I have only been able to capture a few frames of video before it screws up.

Also, it is true that no VM technology emulates FireWire.

And, to correct the earlier poster: it's not just that there aren't *reliable* FireWire HDTV capture 64-bit Windows drivers...there aren't *any* 64-bit Windows drivers for it whatsoever. And there won't be.
TNO821 is offline  
Reply HDTV Recorders

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off