Cisco 8742 HDTV Recorder - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 Old 02-07-2012, 02:16 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
ragtops's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just got a new Cisco 8742 recorder through BHN. There is virtually no information on this recorder. The only thing i could find is a two page layout guide that is worthless. Does anyone have any info on this new model? Also, I am having a heck of a time trying to locate the IR remote sensor.
ragtops is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 Old 02-07-2012, 06:37 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
walford's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 16,789
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Bright House should have provided a user manual with the 8742. Contact them and have them send one to you.
walford is offline  
post #3 of 11 Old 02-23-2012, 08:39 PM
Newbie
 
purcell21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It's basically right on top of the word EXIT on the front. I used a Niles "mouse" blaster and put the blackout cover over it to hold it in place. I had to trim about 1/8" inch off the right side of the cover so it wouldn't hide the power LED on the info display. The real trick was to turn up the IR power output for that port on my control processor. Apparently the smoke cover on the front of the box is pretty dark, so you've got to blast through it.
purcell21 is offline  
post #4 of 11 Old 03-15-2012, 10:28 AM
Member
 
GreedyB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Having trouble getting my IR extender to work with this model. Great little box but IR seems to be a problem. Can you give a more precise location of the IR sensor?
GreedyB is offline  
post #5 of 11 Old 03-18-2012, 08:48 AM
Newbie
 
stuvwxyz99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Time Warner just gave me one of these. I have it connected to my Onkyo Receiver via HDMI, and the Onkyo is connected to my Panny Plasma via HDMI also.

When I turn the TV off, the sound is no longer output. This did not happen on my previous system (8300HD). It's a pain, because my wife likes to listen to Music Choice channels and it means the TV has to be left on.

Is this a limitation on this system? Any ideas if it could be fixed by using Toslink to connect to the Onkyo?
stuvwxyz99 is offline  
post #6 of 11 Old 11-05-2012, 08:36 AM
Newbie
 
polyorchid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I had 16 hours and 35 minutes of HD content recorded on my DVR, along with 16 hours and 25 minutes of SD content, and my 8742HDC reported it being 76%. I purged the cache but that knocked it down only to 72%.

In this thread here: http://www.avsforum.com/t/1219141/cisco-8640hdc-hd-dvr-thread/330 there are references to how to run the hard disk drive diagnostics tool, which is kind of like a ChkDsk type utility that attempts to diagnose hard drive problems and repair them, but this procedure (holding down select and volume up buttons while unplugging and then plugging in the box) doesn't seem to do anything on the 8742.

I'm looking for some suggestions. Time Warner Cable's response, from both technical support people I talked to, along with their supervisor, has been to try to tell me this really isn't a problem and that it's totally normal for it to be that full because high-def takes up a lot of space, but I know from experience that that is wrong.
polyorchid is offline  
post #7 of 11 Old 11-05-2012, 11:13 AM
Newbie
 
polyorchid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
But this morning I talked to a tech support guy that understood that it was a problem, and suggested this, which I posted in another thread: http://www.avsforum.com/t/1219141/cisco-8640hdc-hd-dvr-thread/360#post_22558679
polyorchid is offline  
post #8 of 11 Old 11-29-2012, 09:22 AM
Newbie
 
booj90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Check out this article for the location of the IR Sensor Eye for the Cisco 8742HDC.

http://samkear.com/hardware/cisco-8742hdc-cable-box

Its to the right of the USB port. I put my IR repeater system sticky to the right of the USB port and it worked right away. It doesn't seem like that would work since the plastic is not the see through smoke like the top part of the box but it works.

Searched for quite a bit to find the article... wanted to get this out there for others in need.
booj90 is offline  
post #9 of 11 Old 12-01-2012, 07:34 AM
Newbie
 
gopromiller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
yeah,i think so, Time Warner just gave me one of these. I have it connected to my Onkyo Receiver via HDMI, and the Onkyo is connected to my Panny Plasma via HDMI also.thanks for your sharing.
gopromiller is offline  
post #10 of 11 Old 02-05-2013, 12:53 PM
Newbie
 
Mark Shapiro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just saw this thread. This worked perfectly, thanks!
Mark Shapiro is offline  
post #11 of 11 Old 04-22-2013, 08:46 AM
Newbie
 
DRGARYGOODMAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU - to the right of USB PORT! I could not find this for nearly an hour. YAY! Thanks again! Gary
DRGARYGOODMAN is offline  
Reply HDTV Recorders

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off