DVR with powerful tuner for on air signals - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 11 Old 02-23-2012, 03:41 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Friends I have a sony 720 Tv and Asus 1080 Laptop (with HDMI out). I need to replace an LG DVD/VCR ASAP. I do not have paid TV service but am tired of using DVD's or tapes. The only unit I found was TIVO premere (NOT XL) for $299. Will it pull in stations via a roof antenna with COAX? I am very new to this. I read you need a digital antenna, but I get 40 stations in Digital with my setup now.
I will upgrade the TV to full HD next year also. Thanks to the moderator who helped me to setup my account also! I do not want Moxi .
Also can the storage be user upgraded in these units (I assume it is a hard drive)?
Thanks , Josea

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 Old 02-23-2012, 04:51 AM
AVS Special Member

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Quoted: 142 Post(s)
Liked: 90
A Tivo would be a great choice but not the cheapest by any means. Another option would be the CM7400(check it's sticky thread at the top of your page). It goes for $399 and has no further fees(unless you go for the upgraded guide). It's more like a VCR than a Tivo unless you opt to pay the $50/year for a upgraded guide service. I believe the Tivo is $100(or less) and requires a monthly fee or you can opt for the $100 box and lifetime service(what I have with my Tivo) which I believe runs $500 for a total of $600.
I believe the Tivo and CM are comparable for OTA reception, both being good.
If you want the conveyance of one click recording and a very reliable guide and unit, I'd go the Tivo route. If you want to save some money and don't mind VCR type programming(or paying the $50/year guide) and can live with the growing pains that owning a new piece of equipment can entail, the CM may be an option. Not really too much available unless you want to build your own DVR with a PC and related equipment.