RCA DPH-1000R HDTV Recorder - Page 2 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 107 Old 03-30-2012, 04:14 PM
Senior Member
 
mickinct's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 465
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
?? I have recorded from my sony via comp, and hdmi, to my pc then to blu-ray discs.. or dvd discs. for some reason the HDMI is not protected .

MickinCT
mickinct is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 107 Old 03-30-2012, 04:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JoeKustra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ashland, PA 17921
Posts: 6,569
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 81
Quote:
Originally Posted by mickinct View Post

?? I have recorded from my sony via comp, and hdmi, to my pc then to blu-ray discs.. or dvd discs. for some reason the HDMI is not protected .

It's just phrasing. Recording "from" my Sony could sound like recording "by" my Sony. It's not important.

Wasn't so much protection in 2005 anyhow. Political jokes omitted.
JoeKustra is online now  
post #33 of 107 Old 04-02-2012, 09:02 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
morc258's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 245
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by mickinct View Post

I got 30 days to try out.

Hey mickinct,
Do you get analog and digital on your cable feed, or are you all digital now?

A few questions for you when you get it,
1. Does it have a manual time set feature?
2. Does the remote have a dedicated skip button for adjustable intervals? (15sec, 30cec.....)
3. Who does the warranty repairs if they are needed? Customer service #?
4. Wattage?
5. How long does memory hold when unplugged?
I'm sure there will be many more questions forthcoming from other curious individuals. Thanks in advance for being a guinea pig for the rest of us. I hope this unit can possibly fit the bill for at least some people.
morc258 is offline  
post #34 of 107 Old 04-02-2012, 09:57 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
videobruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 14,874
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 102
Unlike the owners of that CM, open that thing up and photo the main board with a major chipset list.

Abundant OTA television is what makes this country different from all others. Lets keep it this way.
The Internet is no place for streaming video.
videobruce is online now  
post #35 of 107 Old 04-02-2012, 10:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JoeKustra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ashland, PA 17921
Posts: 6,569
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 81
Quote:
Originally Posted by videobruce View Post

Unlike the owners of that CM, open that thing up and photo the main board with a major chipset list.

Without an internet connection, it will be a .ts file creator with low mass appeal.

I hope I am wrong.
JoeKustra is online now  
post #36 of 107 Old 04-02-2012, 04:12 PM
Senior Member
 
mickinct's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 465
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by morc258 View Post

Hey mickinct,
Do you get analog and digital on your cable feed, or are you all digital now?

A few questions for you when you get it,
1. Does it have a manual time set feature?
2. Does the remote have a dedicated skip button for adjustable intervals? (15sec, 30cec.....)
3. Who does the warranty repairs if they are needed? Customer service #?
4. Wattage?
5. How long does memory hold when unplugged?
I'm sure there will be many more questions forthcoming from other curious individuals. Thanks in advance for being a guinea pig for the rest of us. I hope this unit can possibly fit the bill for at least some people.

We are all digital, have not recvd item yet, due Tuesday 4/3/. will let you know.

MickinCT
mickinct is online now  
post #37 of 107 Old 04-03-2012, 07:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Kelson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Delaware - The First State (USA)
Posts: 9,808
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 95 Post(s)
Liked: 307
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeKustra View Post

Without an internet connection, it will be a .ts file creator with low mass appeal.

I hope I am wrong.

If it is cheap enough it will have appeal no matter how limited the function set may be. The main question is how does it set and maintain the clock. If it depends on PSIP for clock its recording reliability will be in question.

- kelson h

The bitterness of poor quality lasts long after the sweetness of the low price is forgotten . . . life is too short to drink bad wine

Kelson is offline  
post #38 of 107 Old 04-03-2012, 05:59 PM
Senior Member
 
mickinct's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 465
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
The recorder arrived today ,GOING BACK TOMMOROW, for those who want to no, what it has and what it does not. 1. CLock, -NO, USB- YES, COMPONENT OUT -YES, S-VIDEO OUT, -NO,. VIDEO INPUT FOR VCR YES. OPTICAL DIG OUT, YES. COAX DIG OUT NO. The clock internally only in 24hr time.

MickinCT
mickinct is online now  
post #39 of 107 Old 04-03-2012, 06:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Kelson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Delaware - The First State (USA)
Posts: 9,808
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 95 Post(s)
Liked: 307
What do you mean "CLOCK -NO"

- kelson h

The bitterness of poor quality lasts long after the sweetness of the low price is forgotten . . . life is too short to drink bad wine

Kelson is offline  
post #40 of 107 Old 04-03-2012, 06:19 PM
Senior Member
 
mickinct's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 465
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
The front has no clock display. just a light.

MickinCT
mickinct is online now  
post #41 of 107 Old 04-03-2012, 06:22 PM
Thread Ender
 
WS65711's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Covington, LA OTA & Charter CableCard
Posts: 4,124
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 64 Post(s)
Liked: 61
Can you take a picture or two of the back panel to post here?

Don't ever make the MISTAKE of buying a Samsung TV..
They consider THIS
normal on a two month old set..
WS65711 is offline  
post #42 of 107 Old 04-03-2012, 06:24 PM
Senior Member
 
mickinct's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 465
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Unit has western dig hdd 2.5 . has picture control setting , volume control,

MickinCT
mickinct is online now  
post #43 of 107 Old 04-03-2012, 06:30 PM
Senior Member
 
mickinct's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 465
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by WS65711 View Post

Can you take a picture or two of the back panel to post here?

working on it

MickinCT
mickinct is online now  
post #44 of 107 Old 04-03-2012, 06:36 PM
Senior Member
 
mickinct's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 465
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
back of unit
LL

MickinCT
mickinct is online now  
post #45 of 107 Old 04-03-2012, 06:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tylerSC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Mauldin SC, 29607
Posts: 3,957
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 88
Quote:
Originally Posted by mickinct View Post

The recorder arrived today ,GOING BACK TOMMOROW, for those who want to no, what it has and what it does not. 1. CLock, -NO, USB- YES, COMPONENT OUT -YES, S-VIDEO OUT, -NO,. VIDEO INPUT FOR VCR YES. OPTICAL DIG OUT, YES. COAX DIG OUT NO. The clock internally only in 24hr time.

Why are you returning it? Did you hook up to antenna for OTA reception, and how good is the tuner?
tylerSC is offline  
post #46 of 107 Old 04-03-2012, 06:39 PM
Senior Member
 
mickinct's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 465
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
remote
LL

MickinCT
mickinct is online now  
post #47 of 107 Old 04-03-2012, 06:45 PM
Senior Member
 
mickinct's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 465
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
It was hooked up to cable full digital. tuner seems ok for the 1hr I had it running, picture quality looked good on a samsung 1080p 2330 lcd tv

MickinCT
mickinct is online now  
post #48 of 107 Old 04-03-2012, 06:46 PM
Senior Member
 
mickinct's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 465
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
WHY the military 24 hr clock?? THE unit seems to have a problem with the audio cutting in and out every 7 or so seconds . that is why it's going back.

MickinCT
mickinct is online now  
post #49 of 107 Old 04-03-2012, 06:55 PM
Senior Member
 
mickinct's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 465
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
It also lets you transfer titles to a external usb drive. analog video is stored mpg. and digital is .ts .

MickinCT
mickinct is online now  
post #50 of 107 Old 04-04-2012, 05:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JoeKustra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ashland, PA 17921
Posts: 6,569
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 81
Quote:
Originally Posted by mickinct View Post

The recorder arrived today ,GOING BACK TOMMOROW, for those who want to no, what it has and what it does not. 1. CLock, -NO, USB- YES, COMPONENT OUT -YES, S-VIDEO OUT, -NO,. VIDEO INPUT FOR VCR YES. OPTICAL DIG OUT, YES. COAX DIG OUT NO. The clock internally only in 24hr time.

Sounds like the BV-980H.
JoeKustra is online now  
post #51 of 107 Old 04-04-2012, 05:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JoeKustra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ashland, PA 17921
Posts: 6,569
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 81
Quote:
Originally Posted by mickinct View Post

It also lets you transfer titles to a external usb drive. analog video is stored mpg. and digital is .ts .

No one has brought this up yet, so let me thank you for being so brave. Testing a new unit, especially with cable, is above and beyond. Thanks.
JoeKustra is online now  
post #52 of 107 Old 04-05-2012, 06:05 AM
Senior Member
 
mickinct's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 465
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Your all welcome. mike

MickinCT
mickinct is online now  
post #53 of 107 Old 04-05-2012, 10:23 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
videobruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 14,874
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 102
Quote:


The front has no clock display. just a light.

Why is that a problem?? To me, it's an advantage. One less clock to look at.
Quote:


THE unit seems to have a problem with the audio cutting in and out every 7 or so seconds . that is why it's going back.

Could be just that unit. Try another.
Could also be the source for who knows what.

Did you try OTA?? If not, why not?

Abundant OTA television is what makes this country different from all others. Lets keep it this way.
The Internet is no place for streaming video.
videobruce is online now  
post #54 of 107 Old 04-05-2012, 11:30 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
morc258's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 245
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by mickinct View Post

WHY the military 24 hr clock?? THE unit seems to have a problem with the audio cutting in and out every 7 or so seconds . that is why it's going back.

Did you try all outputs for audio drop out?
Did you try OTA?
Did the EPG propagate?
Was the user interface intuitive?
I was going to ask questions before but it sounded like it was back in the box already by the time I read your posts.

P.S. Thanks for trying.
morc258 is offline  
post #55 of 107 Old 04-05-2012, 02:18 PM
Senior Member
 
mickinct's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 465
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
the audio was from hdmi, did not try OTA,the 24hr clock was the killer for me. pic quality so so. let's see if anyone else takes a chance on this.THE MAIN PROBLEM WAS WHAT HAPPENED IS THAT IT SHUT OFF WHEN I CHANGED THE CHANNEL....THEN IT HAD TO REBOOT ETC........

MickinCT
mickinct is online now  
post #56 of 107 Old 04-05-2012, 03:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JoeKustra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ashland, PA 17921
Posts: 6,569
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 81
Quote:
Originally Posted by mickinct View Post

the audio was from hdmi, did not try OTA,the 24hr clock was the killer for me. pic quality so so. let's see if anyone else takes a chance on this.THE MAIN PROBLEM WAS WHAT HAPPENED IS THAT IT SHUT OFF WHEN I CHANGED THE CHANNEL....THEN IT HAD TO REBOOT ETC........

I would take the chance, but without internet interface I would be at the mercy of the manual clock. I don't get PSIP or SCTE-127 data on my cable feed. Well, I do get some bad data. I guess another one bites the dust.

I can hope Funai comes out with a next gen model especially since it should be a Wallmart item. The future of a decent cable fee-free DVR doesn't look so good right now. Even the TiVo could have a problem if Tribune has a bad bankruptcy.
JoeKustra is online now  
post #57 of 107 Old 04-06-2012, 12:16 AM
Advanced Member
 
Desert Hawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Bakersfield California
Posts: 979
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I would like to have one if it won't have audio problems or autoshutoff/lockup problems. It soulds like a much better machine than the Channel Master 7400. Half the price, has an analog tuner, and the ability to connect an external hard drive. I don;t need an internet interface for a DVR. I don't stream internet video and I don't need a guide service, paid or free. I am currently using a Magnavox 513. I am building a library of music videos from The Cool Tv. After 1 year I have the hard drive a little less than 1/2 full. Sometime in mid 2013 I will have it filled up. The DPH-1000R sounds like it would be a good machine for me to get, especially if I can connect an external hard drive when the built-in one fills up. Stuttering audio or autoshutoff/lockup problems would be a deal killer.

How can we say "the digital transition is complete" when thousands of low power stations are still broadcasting in analog?
LOW POWER ANALOG NEEDS TO DIE NOW!!!
Desert Hawk is offline  
post #58 of 107 Old 04-19-2012, 11:08 AM
Newbie
 
GrepACE's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
All,

I just had an opportunity to test one of these out. I was using antenna and for what it is, it is not a bad unit, but not a great unit. Face it, this thing makes my DTVPal DVR seem like a TiVO.

One thing I noticed right away was the lack of time shifting. No pausing/rewinding during watching live television. Not a deal breaker, but definitely a nice feature to have.

The device has dual tuners, but not dual recording. Only one program can be recorded at a time. While one program is recording, you can watch another channel or a recording.

The guide data was picked up just fine. If you select a program from the guide and tell it to record, it will show up with the program name in your recorded list. If you just change to a channel and hit the record button it will show up in your list as just the channel name and date/time recorded.

The scheduling is pretty decent. You can select a recording for once, specific day, or Mon-Fri/Mon-Sat. Not bad.

I had it set to 1080i and the HD channels looked great picture quality-wise. The unit stays fairly cool (cooler than my DTVPal DVR). It is really light weight as well (I've had cable receivers heavier than this thing). Peeking through the slits in the cover, I can see it is using a 2.5" Western Digital 320GB hard drive.

As said before, the times are in 24 hour, but its not that big of deal. The correct date/time was picked up from the antenna feed without issue. Once you get used to the remote, its not that bad either.

While it is not quite the replacement to the DTVPal DVR, it considerably cheaper than the "fry-an-egg-on-it" hot Channel Master CM7400 DVR. From the time I had with testing the unit, it seemed to work reliably with no random reboot/shutdowns or audio drop outs. Perhaps the cable side of the unit is a bit flaky?
GrepACE is offline  
post #59 of 107 Old 04-19-2012, 11:37 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
morc258's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 245
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by GrepACE View Post

Peeking through the slits in the cover, I can see it is using a 2.5" Western Digital 320GB hard drive.

Thanks for posting your experience on this little known about device.
Did it have a 320GB HD? The specs say 250GB.
Any info you can give I'm sure would be appreciated by anybody considering one of these.
Could you post some pics? Maybe some screen shots of user interface.
morc258 is offline  
post #60 of 107 Old 04-19-2012, 12:25 PM
Newbie
 
GrepACE's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
No problem at all. Glad to do it.

The hard drive label did say say 320GB. Perhaps they ran out of 250GBs?

I should have taken pictures of the interface. All I can say about it is: it does the job. Nothing overly fancy or confusing, but a bit sparse compared to the DTVPal DVR. Why in the world did Channel Master have to discountinue the CM-7000PAL?

Unfortunately, the DVR is/was a co-workers and he is sending it back. Apparently the lack of time shifting was a deal breaker.
GrepACE is offline  
Reply HDTV Recorders

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off