Can I transfer the recorded movies from Time Warner HDVR box to a PC? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 15 Old 04-19-2012, 01:50 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
TDKKP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is it possible doing so?
TDKKP is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 15 Old 04-19-2012, 03:44 PM
Advanced Member
 
pacofortacos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 734
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Does it have an external hard drive or are you ripping the internal drive out??? If yes to either of those, I have no idea.

But if you have firewire out on the STB and a firewire capture card - that might work.
OR
A capture card or Hauppauge 1212 would definitely work.
pacofortacos is offline  
post #3 of 15 Old 04-20-2012, 06:24 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
TDKKP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by pacofortacos View Post

Does it have an external hard drive or are you ripping the internal drive out??? If yes to either of those, I have no idea.

But if you have firewire out on the STB and a firewire capture card - that might work.
OR
A capture card or Hauppauge 1212 would definitely work.

I have no idea. My HDVR is Samsung 3270 so which one is it? What's STB?
TDKKP is offline  
post #4 of 15 Old 04-20-2012, 12:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Aleron Ives's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 2,607
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 161 Post(s)
Liked: 293
Quote:
Originally Posted by TDKKP View Post

What's STB?

It's a Set-top box.
Aleron Ives is offline  
post #5 of 15 Old 04-20-2012, 07:37 PM
Advanced Member
 
pacofortacos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 734
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Your unit has a firewire out port, so it might be possible to copy using that if you pc has a firewire input.

If you are not sure the best bet is a Hauppage 1212 PVR, buy one of those and then you can copy off of your Samsung using the component connection to your pc.
pacofortacos is offline  
post #6 of 15 Old 06-29-2012, 05:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Jon S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Sunny Hawaii
Posts: 2,681
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 42
my cable box is a Scientific Atlantic unit... It only has component outputs, no HDMI. Is there a way to copy my HD recordings to a PC? I looked at the Hauppauge gear and there's a lot of complaints about it. I would like to use an external box if possible to capture the DVR recordings.

If it's not a BIG screen, it's not a theater...
Jon S is offline  
post #7 of 15 Old 07-01-2012, 04:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TNO821's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 1,105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
I vote for the Hauppauge 1212. I have one and it's great. The complainers tend to have unhealthy Windows installs and they're too lazy/inept to reinstall. The main issue that can impact the 1212 is USB filter drivers. A fresh install of Windows nets you great results.
TNO821 is offline  
post #8 of 15 Old 07-02-2012, 06:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Jon S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Sunny Hawaii
Posts: 2,681
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 42
I was considering it except for one thing... All the newer DVR boxes uses HDMI outputs and the 1212 does not support HDMI... If I need to replace my DVR box, I would be screwed...

If it's not a BIG screen, it's not a theater...
Jon S is offline  
post #9 of 15 Old 07-04-2012, 12:07 AM
AVS Special Member
 
TNO821's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 1,105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
^ I also have the Hauppauge Colossus, which does HDMI recording in addition to Component video recording. But the problem that you'll have is that it will only allow you to record unprotected HDMI (it refuses to record from HDMI if HDCP is used, which all cable boxes/DVR's use). So you'd have to jump through some not-so-inexpensive hoops to work around that issue (and doing that is also not-so-legal).

Also: the Colossus is less convenient because it's an internal PCI Express card, as opposed to the 1212 which connects via USB and is therefore really easy to move and hook up to other computers.
TNO821 is offline  
post #10 of 15 Old 07-05-2012, 01:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Jon S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Sunny Hawaii
Posts: 2,681
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 42
are you saying that the 1212 bypasses DRM via component?

If it's not a BIG screen, it's not a theater...
Jon S is offline  
post #11 of 15 Old 07-05-2012, 10:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
TNO821's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 1,105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Yes, that is what I'm saying. And so does the Colossus for that matter. Component is not protected.

But, as you point out, Component will be going the way of the dinosaur at some point.
TNO821 is offline  
post #12 of 15 Old 07-06-2012, 02:30 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
walford's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 16,789
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
AFAIK under HDCP rules if you try and transfer HDCP protected HDMI content over component the transfering device will downscale the program to 480i SD for component.
walford is offline  
post #13 of 15 Old 07-07-2012, 06:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
TNO821's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 1,105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
^ no, cable boxes are not doing that as of today. But they certainly could in the future (I doubt they will anytime soon...a lot of people with projectors would be calling their support line).
TNO821 is offline  
post #14 of 15 Old 07-07-2012, 12:25 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
walford's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 16,789
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
AFAIK content creaters were not allowed to require HDCP protection until this year (2012)
walford is offline  
post #15 of 15 Old 07-15-2012, 01:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Jon S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Sunny Hawaii
Posts: 2,681
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 42
I was able to find a used 1212 on Craigslist for $100. It is rev F and the software included in 3.0 on the CD itself. The unit performed as advertised... Interesting to note, the documentation (slim as it is) states that setting the compression to 5Mb will save the file on a DVD for a 120 min video. I was using a DVD Dual Layer disk so I upped the compression to 9Mb. The file was only 5GB in size, not much larger than a DVD. I set the compression to the max at 13.5Mb and it still was only 8GB, still smaller than a dual layer DVD.

The drawbacks with this system is that the process is real-time, a 120 min movie takes 120 minutes to capture. Then it takes a couple of hours to process and burn to a dual layer disc (speed was 2.4x). Entering chapter stops was very tedious as I could not "fine-tune" the location of the movie... I had to play through the movie and pause where i wanted to add a chapter stop. It takes a few hours to completely capture and burn a movie to disc.

Overall, even at the 13.5Mb compression setting, there is some softness introduced into the image. It looks sharper than a DVD, but only a bit if the DVD was mastered properly (no edge enhancement). Another issue is that the DVRs seem to have a digital output for 5.1 audio but the 1212 has optical inputs only so I am limited to 2.0 channels for sound. I encountered absolutely no issues, using an older 1.7 GHz Intel laptop with 2.0 GB RAM running Vista 32-bit. I thought there would be some issues capturing but all was fine, the only issue was that the video at 13.5Mb was choppy on playback and at 9 Mb was smoother.

If it's not a BIG screen, it's not a theater...
Jon S is offline  
Reply HDTV Recorders

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off