ePVision PHD-VRX & VRX2 Owners Thread - Page 61 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 3Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1801 of 2338 Old 11-08-2013, 02:58 AM
Advanced Member
 
HDTV1080P24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 588
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 27
The PHD-VRX2 firmware and owner’s manual has been posted online. Page 23 has a description and a screen shot of the new HDMI audio output options which is an exclusive feature of this new unit.
http://www.epvision.com/HDTVSTB/Documents/PHD-VRX2/

After installing the official PHD-VRX2 firmware the unit is 100% operational again (The PHD-VRX firmware completely disables the HDMI output for both video and audio on the new PHD-VRX2, so one should only install the PHD-VRX2 firmware when and if a firmware update is issued to fix problems). However, the same major flaw exists with the 1080P resolution artifact after re-flashing the exact same firmware that shipped with the PHD-VRX2. No matter what video input or channel I have the PHD-VRX2 on, I am losing about a half an inch in the grayish black horizontal bar at the bottom of the screen on a 50 inch Pioneer PRO-101FD 1080P display when the PHD-VRX2 is in the 1080P mode. The native signal source can be 480i, 720P, 1080i, and even when the signal source is a native 1080P Blu-ray the video artifact is present. As soon as I switch it to 720P mode the picture is normal. Also when switching to 1080P the front LED display says “1080P”, however when switching to “720P” the PHD-VRX2 does not briefly show “720P” on the LED display (another bug).

I liked the orange LED display on the original PHD-VRX. The PHD-VRX2 red LED display is so bright. Motorola cable boxes use an orange color and some cable boxes use a dim green or dim red display for the channel number. I wish there was a movie mode menu option on the PHD-VRX2 to disable the LED display and all lights (and a dim mode would be nice). Its just to bright.

Also the PHD-VRX2 has no master AC power button like the original PHD-VRX. Placing a master power button on the back of the PHD-VRX2 would have been ideal.

The PHD-VRX2 comes with the exact same remote as the PHD-VRX. The only indicators on the PHD-VRX2 besides the bright red LED display, is the separate green and red lights.

I would keep the PHD-VRX2 if the 1080P video artifact did not exist. Its not acceptable to have this horizontal gray bar at the bottom of the screen. My original PHD-VRX never had this problem in the 1080P mode.
HDTV1080P24 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1802 of 2338 Old 11-08-2013, 03:33 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
videobruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 15,205
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 216 Post(s)
Liked: 150
Have you tried this on another monitor?

The new manual link is in my 1st post.

I will update about the "2" firmware version using the "1" firmware.

.
.
Abundant OTA television is what makes this country different from all others. Lets keep it this way. If you like Wi-Fi so much, OTA fits right in. After all, it is wireless.
videobruce is online now  
post #1803 of 2338 Old 11-08-2013, 10:23 AM
Member
 
james57's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 100
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I just noticed that the VRX had a new firmware update, did anyone try it ?
james57 is offline  
post #1804 of 2338 Old 11-08-2013, 11:37 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
videobruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 15,205
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 216 Post(s)
Liked: 150
Yes, but since I don't use this, I saw no GUI difference. Of course, not knowing what to look for, unless it is obvious, it's kind hard to tell.

.
.
Abundant OTA television is what makes this country different from all others. Lets keep it this way. If you like Wi-Fi so much, OTA fits right in. After all, it is wireless.
videobruce is online now  
post #1805 of 2338 Old 11-08-2013, 12:12 PM
Advanced Member
 
HDTV1080P24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 588
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 27
On a 60 inch monitor its more noticeable. On a 24 inch monitor with HDMI input its less noticeable compared to a 50-60 inch screen. There is nothing wrong with my monitor. It’s just a video glitch that needs fixed.
HDTV1080P24 is offline  
post #1806 of 2338 Old 11-08-2013, 02:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JHBrandt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S. Garland, TX
Posts: 1,792
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 127 Post(s)
Liked: 173
Have you sent ePVision a photo showing the gray bar? Maybe they tested on a small monitor where it was less obvious.

If they can get that fixed, you could probably deal with the bright red display by taping some gray plastic (e.g., window tint) over it.

Also, what kind of AC power cord does it have? If it's a lamp-cord type, you can buy a cheap lamp-cord power switch someplace like Lowe's and install it on the power cord. (Of course that wouldn't work if it has a thick round "computer" type of power cord.)
JHBrandt is online now  
post #1807 of 2338 Old 11-08-2013, 05:57 PM
Senior Member
 
Smithdoor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 222
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Did you try the new PHD VRX2 on the old PHD VRX and does it work good
I also found this update http://www.epvision.com/HDTVSTB/Documents/PHD-VRX/PHD_VRX_firmware-VRX_243_23_31.zip

Dave
Quote:
Originally Posted by videobruce View Post

Yes, but since I don't use this, I saw no GUI difference. Of course, not knowing what to look for, unless it is obvious, it's kind hard to tell.
Smithdoor is offline  
post #1808 of 2338 Old 11-09-2013, 02:43 AM
Advanced Member
 
HDTV1080P24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 588
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 27
I did not need to send a picture, EpVision in an email just mentioned that they would be working to fix the 1080P artifact. Also after that 1080P artifact is fixed they said they might make a movie mode in the menu that would disable the LED display completely for those that want the LED display to be turned off. Now I will need to decide if I will wait a couple of weeks to see if a new firmware comes out, or I will send the unit back for a refund because of the 1080P artifact issue.

Select quote from a EpVision email I received

"Thank you for your email. We will work on this 1080p artifact and may add a movie mode, which control to turn off/on clock LED but still keep green light on in the new firmware."
HDTV1080P24 is offline  
post #1809 of 2338 Old 11-09-2013, 07:40 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
videobruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 15,205
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 216 Post(s)
Liked: 150
Smithdoor;
The firmware for the '2' version is not on their web site yet. That link you gave is already posted in post 10.

HDTV1080P24;
It would help us see what/where the problem is if you posted it hear.

.
.
Abundant OTA television is what makes this country different from all others. Lets keep it this way. If you like Wi-Fi so much, OTA fits right in. After all, it is wireless.
videobruce is online now  
post #1810 of 2338 Old 11-09-2013, 08:19 AM
Thread Ender
 
WS65711's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Covington, LA OTA & Charter CableCard
Posts: 4,151
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by HDTV1080P24 View Post

I did not need to send a picture, EpVision in an email just mentioned that they would be working to fix the 1080P artifact..... "

So they are working to fix an artifact that they have said previously they had not seen? confused.gif

I think if you could post a picture of what you see on your screen it would be beneficial to all. smile.gif

Don't ever make the MISTAKE of buying a Samsung TV..
They consider THIS
normal on a two month old set..
WS65711 is offline  
post #1811 of 2338 Old 11-09-2013, 09:08 AM
Senior Member
 
Smithdoor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 222
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 14
To the data I have they just upload on Nov 8 @ 6:01PM
I was see if any has used the update

Dave
Quote:
Originally Posted by videobruce View Post

Smithdoor;
The firmware for the '2' version is not on their web site yet. That link you gave is already posted in post 10.

HDTV1080P24;
It would help us see what/where the problem is if you posted it hear.
Smithdoor is offline  
post #1812 of 2338 Old 11-10-2013, 07:58 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
videobruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 15,205
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 216 Post(s)
Liked: 150
Quote:
On a 60 inch monitor its more noticeable. On a 24 inch monitor with HDMI input its less noticeable compared to a 50-60 inch screen. There is nothing wrong with my monitor. It’s just a video glitch that needs fixed.
No one said anything was wrong with your monitors, but no one but you knows exactly how it looks. Myself and most others can not tell by the limited description of exactly what/where the problem is.
There is/was the possibility it could be some weird issue between the device and the monitor. wink.gif

Is it that hard to snap a couple of screen shots?? The same goes for the interior, namely what the new HDMI chip is and/or any other change.

.
.
Abundant OTA television is what makes this country different from all others. Lets keep it this way. If you like Wi-Fi so much, OTA fits right in. After all, it is wireless.
videobruce is online now  
post #1813 of 2338 Old 11-11-2013, 10:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JHBrandt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S. Garland, TX
Posts: 1,792
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 127 Post(s)
Liked: 173
I originally suggested sending the photo of the VRX2 artifact to ePVision, but it sounds like they changed their tune, so they must have seen the issue themselves and don't need the photo anymore.

That said, it would be interesting to post a photo here, so we could see what to look for. Not that there's much we could do about it, of course; but at least a photo might help folks decide whether they could live with it.

On sending it back, I'd probably wait until reasonably close to the deadline for sending it back, but have it boxed up and ready to drop off in case no firmware fix appears in time.


BTW: still no one besides videobruce trying the latest VRX(1) firmware update? If there are no obvious differences it's probably a bugfix release; could someone at least go through the best-known bugs and see if any were actually fixed?
JHBrandt is online now  
post #1814 of 2338 Old 11-11-2013, 03:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Aleron Ives's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 2,816
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 313 Post(s)
Liked: 367
Quote:
Originally Posted by JHBrandt View Post

BTW: still no one besides videobruce trying the latest VRX(1) firmware update?

Judging by the way this thread's activity died so suddenly a while back, it seems like most people have jumped ship. I'm not sure there's anybody left to do the testing.
Aleron Ives is offline  
post #1815 of 2338 Old 11-11-2013, 04:05 PM
Senior Member
 
Smithdoor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 222
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Think most are work with the DVR and olny post after a update has come out
Now we have update with a miner change

Dave

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aleron Ives View Post

Judging by the way this thread's activity died so suddenly a while back, it seems like most people have jumped ship. I'm not sure there's anybody left to do the testing.
Smithdoor is offline  
post #1816 of 2338 Old 11-11-2013, 11:09 PM
Member
 
windermere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
We have done the update but in the little we have used the PHD since, I have not noticed anything different. We have not had the "Pink Screen" so far. If that continues I will be satisfied, although the previous update helped with that a lot.
windermere is offline  
post #1817 of 2338 Old 11-12-2013, 03:34 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
videobruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 15,205
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 216 Post(s)
Liked: 150
They made mistakes not using their new remote with this version and removing the panel behind the outer panel or what ever change was made to make the display bright red that few like. There are two new models that will probably take center stage (depending on just how different the CM is and this new player).

.
.
Abundant OTA television is what makes this country different from all others. Lets keep it this way. If you like Wi-Fi so much, OTA fits right in. After all, it is wireless.
videobruce is online now  
post #1818 of 2338 Old 11-12-2013, 06:56 AM
Senior Member
 
Smithdoor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 222
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 14
windermere
I have noted no pink / magenta screen I think i may be fix
My wife like how it work close the cable guide and its FREE

videobruce
There new remote does not work is good as the old one the best I have found was from Walmart

Dave
Smithdoor is offline  
post #1819 of 2338 Old 11-13-2013, 01:54 AM
Newbie
 
tichris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

I'm having some serious issues recording anything.  Most of the time; I get "Recording is failed" and it no-ops.  I have tried rebooting the machine, cleaning the hard drive as well as clearing the recording list and adding new ones.  When I installed the last firmware; I was able to record ONE show but the next days when I tried to setup a weekly re-occuring recording from the guide is failed and any other recording technique also failed (ie: timeshift, record button for what's currently playing).  This is quite annoying since we bought the device as a DVR.  We could have easily bought a cheap ATSC tuner.

tichris is offline  
post #1820 of 2338 Old 11-13-2013, 03:01 AM
Advanced Member
 
HDTV1080P24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 588
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Here are some examples of the gray horizontal bar that occurs at the 1080P resolution when using the PHD-VRX2. This problem happens on all video inputs and channels on the PHD-VRX2. The pictures taken are from the analog component video input with no signal since it produces a nice black screen. Then a couple of other pictures are taken with an ATSC channel active. Pictures taken are on a 50 inch screen. A 60 inch or larger screen has a more noticeable grayish horizontal bar when in the 1080P mode.

In the 720P mode the horizontal grayish bar completely disappears. This 1080P artifact is unacceptable and I will soon be sending my PHD-VRX2 back if this problem is not fixed with a firmware update. I was very surprised to discover this problem occurs.

NORMAL 720P 1.JPG 3319k .JPG file NORMAL 720P 2.JPG 3193k .JPG file 1080P 1.JPG 3432k .JPG file 1080P 2.JPG 3154k .JPG file 1080P 3.JPG 3319k .JPG file 1080P 4.JPG 3241k .JPG file 1080P 5.JPG 4254k .JPG file 1080P 6.JPG 4070k .JPG file
Attached Images
File Type: jpg NORMAL 720P 1.JPG (3.24 MB, 22 views)
File Type: jpg NORMAL 720P 2.JPG (3.12 MB, 10 views)
File Type: jpg 1080P 1.JPG (3.35 MB, 22 views)
File Type: jpg 1080P 2.JPG (3.08 MB, 13 views)
File Type: jpg 1080P 3.JPG (3.24 MB, 12 views)
File Type: jpg 1080P 4.JPG (3.17 MB, 10 views)
File Type: jpg 1080P 5.JPG (4.15 MB, 16 views)
File Type: jpg 1080P 6.JPG (3.97 MB, 15 views)
HDTV1080P24 is offline  
post #1821 of 2338 Old 11-13-2013, 03:21 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
videobruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 15,205
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 216 Post(s)
Liked: 150
Thanks for the photos. I was under the impression this bar was at the bottom, not in the middle. It wasn't what I expected which is why a screen shot is important. It's hard to tell, but is this dead center (vertically) of the screen?

To make it easier to see, here is the best example (I assume that is a reflection at the bottom of the pic of the surface the TV is sitting on);

.
.
Abundant OTA television is what makes this country different from all others. Lets keep it this way. If you like Wi-Fi so much, OTA fits right in. After all, it is wireless.
videobruce is online now  
post #1822 of 2338 Old 11-13-2013, 04:58 AM
Thread Ender
 
WS65711's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Covington, LA OTA & Charter CableCard
Posts: 4,151
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by HDTV1080P24 View Post

. . . In the 720P mode the horizontal grayish bar completely disappears. This 1080P artifact is unacceptable and I will soon be sending my PHD-VRX2 back if this problem is not fixed with a firmware update. I was very surprised to discover this problem occurs.

Thanks for posting the pictures. This is MUCH worse than what I was expecting to see. I think if it was mine I'd go ahead and send it back, sooner rather than later . . . rolleyes.gif

Don't ever make the MISTAKE of buying a Samsung TV..
They consider THIS
normal on a two month old set..
WS65711 is offline  
post #1823 of 2338 Old 11-13-2013, 08:26 AM
Senior Member
 
Smithdoor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 222
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Unplug and installl Mar or Nov/Oct update DO NOT install July update
Also it can be the ant.
I have had this too
After installing Nov/Oct 2013 update I have not had any mesage after the last update

Dave
Quote:
Originally Posted by videobruce View Post

Thanks for the photos. I was under the impression this bar was at the bottom, not in the middle. It wasn't what I expected which is why a screen shot is important. It's hard to tell, but is this dead center (vertically) of the screen?

To make it easier to see, here is the best example (I assume that is a reflection at the bottom of the pic of the surface the TV is sitting on);
Smithdoor is offline  
post #1824 of 2338 Old 11-13-2013, 11:10 AM
Advanced Member
 
HDTV1080P24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 588
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 27
If you look at JPEG5 and JPEG6 it has an active ATSC signal. The horizontal grayish bar is at the very bottom of the screen. It is always at the bottom of the screen.

Now I wish I did not sell my old PHD-VRX a few days before I received the new model. I never thought this 1080P artifact would exist in the new PHD-VRX2. Now I am looking at returning my PHD-VRX2 and purchasing a factory refurbished B stock PHD-VRX instead.

So much time has been wasted in the upgrade, just to get 5.1 Dolby Digital bitstream over HDMI instead of SPDIF optical connection. I am not happy.
HDTV1080P24 is offline  
post #1825 of 2338 Old 11-13-2013, 11:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JHBrandt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S. Garland, TX
Posts: 1,792
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 127 Post(s)
Liked: 173
Smithdoor, unfortunately there are no alternative firmware versions for the VRX2, so he's stuck sending it back unless they release a fix real soon.

For now, looks like you should only buy a VRX2 if it will only be used on a 720p screen. But if so, you probably don't care about getting DD 5.1 audio via HDMI, so there's still no reason to buy it.

Just another careless mistake by ePVision. If they'd ever bother hiring a team to write some decent firmware, they could blow away competition like the expensive Philips/Funai 1-tuner, no-guide DVRs soon to appear at a Wal*Mart near you.

On the plus side, it is starting to sound like the latest firmware update eliminates some PSODs. Hope springs eternal.
JHBrandt is online now  
post #1826 of 2338 Old 11-13-2013, 12:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JHBrandt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S. Garland, TX
Posts: 1,792
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 127 Post(s)
Liked: 173
Quote:
Originally Posted by tichris View Post

I'm having some serious issues recording anything.  Most of the time; I get "Recording is failed" and it no-ops.  I have tried rebooting the machine, cleaning the hard drive as well as clearing the recording list and adding new ones.  When I installed the last firmware; I was able to record ONE show but the next days when I tried to setup a weekly re-occuring recording from the guide is failed and any other recording technique also failed (ie: timeshift, record button for what's currently playing).  This is quite annoying since we bought the device as a DVR.  We could have easily bought a cheap ATSC tuner.

Just a hunch: by "cleaning the hard drive" did you mean reformatting the hard drive?

You should probably review post #2 on this thread. Bottom line: don't format to NTFS. Not only is throughput too low for two simultaneous recordings, it's likely too low for even a single high-def recording. Instead, format the drive to ext2 using a PC. You can do that with Windows if you don't have Linux, but you'll need a third-party utility (like the Partition Master videobruce mentioned).

Also, unlike most DVRs, you may need a high-performance, 7200 RPM drive for adequate throughput when recording two HD shows at once.
JHBrandt is online now  
post #1827 of 2338 Old 11-13-2013, 12:11 PM
Thread Ender
 
WS65711's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Covington, LA OTA & Charter CableCard
Posts: 4,151
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by HDTV1080P24 View Post

If you look at JPEG5 and JPEG6 it has an active ATSC signal. The horizontal grayish bar is at the very bottom of the screen. It is always at the bottom of the screen.

Now I wish I did not sell my old PHD-VRX a few days before I received the new model. I never thought this 1080P artifact would exist in the new PHD-VRX2. Now I am looking at returning my PHD-VRX2 and purchasing a factory refurbished B stock PHD-VRX instead.

So much time has been wasted in the upgrade, just to get 5.1 Dolby Digital bitstream over HDMI instead of SPDIF optical connection. I am not happy.

If the gray bar is at the very bottom of the screen that (to me) almost makes it seem like an underscan or vertical positioning issue.
Is your screen a fixed-pixel (not CRT) display?
Can you determine if the very top of the image is shifted upward (and off the top of the screen)?

Don't ever make the MISTAKE of buying a Samsung TV..
They consider THIS
normal on a two month old set..
WS65711 is offline  
post #1828 of 2338 Old 11-13-2013, 12:35 PM
Advanced Member
 
HDTV1080P24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 588
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Yes the onscreen EPG and menu is slightly shifted on the screen when comparing it to 720P mode. I am using DOT by DOT mode on the Pioneer PRO-101FD which worked perfectly fine in 1080P mode on the old PHD-VRX.

I Just received a RMA number from EpVision. They claim that they are also seeing a black bar at the bottom of the screen when the PHD-VRX2 is in 1080P mode while connected to one of their Sony HDTV’s. HDTV’s with deep black levels will show a gray bar at the bottom of the screen while other TV’s might show a black bar at the bottom of the screen.

EpVision again mentioned today that they are working on a fix for the problem. I canceled my order for the old factory refurbished PHD-VRX B stock unit since EpVision extended my RMA past the 30 day return period. They said that if for some reason the next firmware update does not fix the 1080P artifact problem, that I can return it for a full refund.

The work around for PHD-VRX2 owners until a firmware fix is issued is to place the PHD-VRX2 in 720P mode which offers a reduced resolution for 1080i channels.
HDTV1080P24 is offline  
post #1829 of 2338 Old 11-13-2013, 03:05 PM
Senior Member
 
Smithdoor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 222
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Did not see it was the new VRX2
This work with the VRX

Here is the link for the VRX2 update http://www.epvision.com/HDTVSTB/Documents/PHD-VRX2/PHD_VRX2_firmware-VRX2_243_23_31.zip

Dave
Quote:
Originally Posted by JHBrandt View Post

Smithdoor, unfortunately there are no alternative firmware versions for the VRX2, so he's stuck sending it back unless they release a fix real soon.

For now, looks like you should only buy a VRX2 if it will only be used on a 720p screen. But if so, you probably don't care about getting DD 5.1 audio via HDMI, so there's still no reason to buy it.

Just another careless mistake by ePVision. If they'd ever bother hiring a team to write some decent firmware, they could blow away competition like the expensive Philips/Funai 1-tuner, no-guide DVRs soon to appear at a Wal*Mart near you.

On the plus side, it is starting to sound like the latest firmware update eliminates some PSODs. Hope springs eternal.
Smithdoor is offline  
post #1830 of 2338 Old 11-14-2013, 05:59 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
videobruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 15,205
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 216 Post(s)
Liked: 150
Surely not a good practice to name two supposedly different models with the same FW version number differing only by a single digit. They are just looking for more trouble. he makes a point not to mix FW';s, but they use the same version number for the "2" model.
If you remember, it was some time he admitted there was a problem wit the default video settings and never admitted to the false contouring. wink.gif

.
.
Abundant OTA television is what makes this country different from all others. Lets keep it this way. If you like Wi-Fi so much, OTA fits right in. After all, it is wireless.
videobruce is online now  
Reply HDTV Recorders

Tags
Epvision Phd Vrx

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off