Don't pay "HD Technology Fee" to Comcast if use your own HD DVR - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-17-2012, 12:22 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
valley_nomad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 200
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I have a Tivo HD and don't use any HD box from Comcast. But sometime last year Comcast started to charge me $10 "HD Technology Fee". At the time I called CSR and asked why I was charged. I was told that it is a part of their new pricing structure that has nothing to do with whether I rent the HD box or not. I recently noticed a FCC note regarding some related new rules went into effect on Aug 8, 2011 and called Comcast again. They admitted it was a mistake. I got all my money back and free HBO for one year for the "inconvenience"
valley_nomad is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-18-2012, 07:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: In the ATL
Posts: 4,875
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 460
Yeah good luck with that, it's entirely YMMV. Other Tivo users have been told that the bogus HD Tech fee is required to get HD channels regardless of whether you have their box.

It's entirely dependent on the (in)competence of your local area billing, in other words.
slowbiscuit is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off