8300HD Adding to TWC Questions? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 01-10-2013, 09:11 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
BlackWS6LS1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Lincoln NE
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Folks,
I am a TWC customer, and currently already have one 8300HD from them, however I've got the ability to get another 8300HD. It looks to have old software is the only issue that I can see.

I was wondering if I plug it in at home:

1. Will it work? (does it need to be registered with TWC first?)
2. If #1 will it download the newest software/firmware? If so will it be automatic or can it be forced?
3. If #1 and #2, since I'm a DVR customer will that also work?
4. Will TWC see the device?

Any tricks to make it work if not?

Let me know.
Thanks
Z
BlackWS6LS1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 01-10-2013, 12:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
domino92024's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3,454
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 171
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlackWS6LS1 View Post

Folks,
I am a TWC customer, and currently already have one 8300HD from them, however I've got the ability to get another 8300HD. It looks to have old software is the only issue that I can see.

I was wondering if I plug it in at home:

1. Will it work? (does it need to be registered with TWC first?)
2. If #1 will it download the newest software/firmware? If so will it be automatic or can it be forced?
3. If #1 and #2, since I'm a DVR customer will that also work?
4. Will TWC see the device?

Any tricks to make it work if not?

Let me know.
Thanks
Z

There is a 99% chance that TWC will not provision this DVR. If they don't, it won't work for anything. Even the time for the DVR comes from TWC, so you couldn't even do manual recordings with it. Yes, they will "see" the device. You get it from Ebay?
domino92024 is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 01-11-2013, 07:01 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
BlackWS6LS1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Lincoln NE
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by domino92024 View Post

There is a 99% chance that TWC will not provision this DVR. If they don't, it won't work for anything. Even the time for the DVR comes from TWC, so you couldn't even do manual recordings with it. Yes, they will "see" the device. You get it from Ebay?
No but if this works I would get another from Ebay.

Thinking about cloning the hard drive in my current DVR first before putting it online the first time.
Z
BlackWS6LS1 is offline  
post #4 of 4 Old 01-11-2013, 04:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
demonfoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,272
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlackWS6LS1 View Post

No but if this works I would get another from Ebay.

Thinking about cloning the hard drive in my current DVR first before putting it online the first time.
Z
That will not matter. These DVRs aren't like a TiVo - their software does not reside on the internal hard disk, it's loaded via the network. Unless it's registered with your cableco's infrastructure (assuming they have infrastructure to support SA/Cisco gear - not guaranteed), then you will *not* be able to use it. It won't boot up, you won't be able to tune anything. They almost certainly will not provision it, and as I understand the provisioning process for SA/Cisco gear, they receive the device key on a CD from the manufacturer at purchase time, and couldn't get it otherwise even if they wanted to.

In short, you would be buying a brick. Just rent another from your cableco. You'll get hit for a second digital outlet, but that's life.
demonfoo is offline  
Reply HDTV Recorders

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off