Tv tuner with 'Native output" - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 12 Old 01-16-2013, 09:23 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
sandman123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 81
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello all,

I've been reading through this forum quite a bit and can't find any good answers yet.

Could someone please direct me to a Tv tuner (other than tivo - I know about this one) that has 'Native output' capability (dosent' scale or affect colors)

Hopefully one that is also reliable, and you can manually enter channels.

Thanks very much
sandman123 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 Old 01-16-2013, 12:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Kei Clark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Huntington Beach, CA, US
Posts: 4,416
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I'm not sure about tuners that outupt native resolution, if you are looking to output 1080i/720p, the TViX M6620N will do that. Unfortunately, the output is set in the configuration so it will upscale SD (480i/p) to whatever you set as the output resolution.
Kei Clark is offline  
post #3 of 12 Old 01-16-2013, 01:37 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
sandman123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 81
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
kei,

Thanks, but I'm looking specifically for one that will not automatically upscale, or affect colors.
sandman123 is offline  
post #4 of 12 Old 01-16-2013, 04:55 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Kelson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Delaware - The First State (USA)
Posts: 10,257
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 391 Post(s)
Liked: 407
For whatever reason, native output is pretty rare. I only know of TiVo and Oppo. I'll be curious if anybody answers this thread and can identify another native output device.

- kelson h

The bitterness of poor quality lasts long after the sweetness of the low price is forgotten . . . life is too short to drink bad wine

Kelson is offline  
post #5 of 12 Old 01-17-2013, 09:34 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
sandman123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 81
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Kelson,

Does oppo make tv tuners?
sandman123 is offline  
post #6 of 12 Old 01-17-2013, 09:42 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Kelson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Delaware - The First State (USA)
Posts: 10,257
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 391 Post(s)
Liked: 407
No, I was just making the point that native output is rare across a number of device-types.

- kelson h

The bitterness of poor quality lasts long after the sweetness of the low price is forgotten . . . life is too short to drink bad wine

Kelson is offline  
post #7 of 12 Old 01-17-2013, 10:09 AM
AVS Special Member
 
veryoldschool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2,991
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kelson View Post

For whatever reason, native output is pretty rare. I only know of TiVo and Oppo. I'll be curious if anybody answers this thread and can identify another native output device.
Not sure if this falls under the OP's question, but All of the DirecTV HD receivers have a native output option.

A.K.A. VOS
veryoldschool is offline  
post #8 of 12 Old 01-18-2013, 09:33 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,924
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 405 Post(s)
Liked: 376
Yep, the AM21 does exactly what the OP wants. Not sure why preserving the integrity of crappy SD is important, but it will certainly do it.

Can you be more specific on the type of tuner (QAM, ATSC)? Stand-alone or PC based? What are you doing with this unmolested SD content? What tuner do you have now that's doing such a bad job of upconverting?
mdavej is offline  
post #9 of 12 Old 01-18-2013, 09:39 AM
Member
 
BillFromCH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Clarendon Hills IL
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
The Sony DHG HDD-250/500 will output native. As TVGOS goes away you may find some of these at tuner-only prices.
BillFromCH is offline  
post #10 of 12 Old 01-18-2013, 11:07 AM
AVS Special Member
 
veryoldschool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2,991
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdavej View Post

Yep, the AM21 does exactly what the OP wants. Not sure why preserving the integrity of crappy SD is important, but it will certainly do it.
In my case the TV will make SD look a lot better than the receiver does.

A.K.A. VOS
veryoldschool is offline  
post #11 of 12 Old 01-18-2013, 06:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jjeff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 9,863
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 139 Post(s)
Liked: 90
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdavej View Post

Yep, the AM21 does exactly what the OP wants. Not sure why preserving the integrity of crappy SD is important, but it will certainly do it.

Can you be more specific on the type of tuner (QAM, ATSC)? Stand-alone or PC based? What are you doing with this unmolested SD content? What tuner do you have now that's doing such a bad job of upconverting?
As the OP said in either this or another thread he started(in another forum) he's looking for a OTA HD tuner(ATSC) to run through his Oppo BD player(that has the ability to upconvert in a quality much better than a typical tuner) at least thats what I remember smile.gif
I agree with BillFromCH if the OP could get a Sony DVR cheap enough that might be a good option.
jjeff is offline  
post #12 of 12 Old 01-22-2013, 06:31 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
videobruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 15,202
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 213 Post(s)
Liked: 149
Problem w/ a Sony DVR as a tuner is power consumption. 33 watts for just a tuner is 4x what a plain tuner should consume and it runs 24/7 when you aren't using it. You also have a HDD spinning needlessly.

Since there are only two resolutions 480 & 720 that would/could be upconverted, further assuming 480 wouldn't be one of them, I don't see the concern about going from 720 to 1080.

.
.
Abundant OTA television is what makes this country different from all others. Lets keep it this way. If you like Wi-Fi so much, OTA fits right in. After all, it is wireless.
videobruce is online now  
Reply HDTV Recorders

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off