Cannot record SD content from component output from stb - avermedia game capture hd :( :( - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 02-20-2013, 01:35 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
techspark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi, i got avermedia game capture hd card and i m unable to record from my set top box through component ouput. It says the content is protected by macrovision and cannot be copied. Is there encryption even in component output ?? The avermedia site says it can record from set top boxes.

My set top box is normal SD box with component outputs. Please help.
techspark is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 02-20-2013, 10:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
domino92024's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3,434
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 167
Quote:
Originally Posted by techspark View Post

Hi, i got avermedia game capture hd card and i m unable to record from my set top box through component ouput. It says the content is protected by macrovision and cannot be copied. Is there encryption even in component output ?? The avermedia site says it can record from set top boxes.

My set top box is normal SD box with component outputs. Please help.

Why don't you post the model number of your STB so we can look it up?
domino92024 is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 02-21-2013, 05:24 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
techspark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
http://www.reliancedigitaltv.com/get_Bigtvvsetup.html
this link has the set top box and also the user manual but there is no technical manual available
techspark is offline  
post #4 of 4 Old 02-21-2013, 05:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Kelson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Delaware - The First State (USA)
Posts: 9,842
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 118 Post(s)
Liked: 313
Quote:
Originally Posted by techspark View Post

i m unable to record from my set top box through component ouput. It says the content is protected by macrovision and cannot be copied. Is there encryption even in component output ??
Has nothing to do with your STB. If you are trying to record premium content then yes, it will most likely be copy-protected, but non-premium cable content is also often protected. Copy-protection is distinct and separate from signal encryption. Signal encryption is applied by the cable co to prevent theft of their feed; copy-protection is applied to individual content to prevent you from copying it. Encrypted channels can and do transmit non-copy protected content that can be copied. What is copy-protected and what is not is a decision of the content provider and/or your cable supplier. The only thing you can do to circimvent it is buy a copy-protection buster box that will go between the STB outputs and your recording device. They range in price depending on the quality of the output but the PQ will generally suffer in one way or another. The better ones are in the $100 range. Several will handle component inputs.

Go over to the DVD recorders forum here. Those people are always trying to record copy-protected content so there are threads on copy-buster boxes. Because DVD recorders are strictly SD recording devices the discussions are all about composite and S-Video SD outputs, but at least you can talk to people that have the boxes. Look for brand names like Sima, Grex, DP-X7000 and in particular The Video Filter. The developer of the Video Filter participates in the forum and can answer questions directly.

- kelson h

The bitterness of poor quality lasts long after the sweetness of the low price is forgotten . . . life is too short to drink bad wine

Kelson is offline  
Reply HDTV Recorders

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off