Sony DHG still working, but random re-boots for no reason - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 Old 03-06-2013, 03:11 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
joecass's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Queens, New York City
Posts: 197
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
When TV Guide ceased, my DHG still had the correct time for about a month. Then one day it randomly rebooted, and the time was off by an hour. No big deal. Still able to accomplish manual timers. Since the beginning of this year, it has rebooted itsefl at least four times, and accordingly reset the clock earlier and earlier. Now it's off by 2 hrs and 45 mins. Still not that much of a problem, adjusting the time difference for timer recording,
I'm just wondering what's going on with this machine. BTW, the clock still shows 2013, so at least I don't have to adjust for years rather than hours.
joecass is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3 Old 03-06-2013, 03:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JoeKustra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ashland, PA 17921
Posts: 6,655
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 107
Quote:
Originally Posted by joecass View Post

When TV Guide ceased, my DHG still had the correct time for about a month. Then one day it randomly rebooted, and the time was off by an hour. No big deal. Still able to accomplish manual timers. Since the beginning of this year, it has rebooted itsefl at least four times, and accordingly reset the clock earlier and earlier. Now it's off by 2 hrs and 45 mins. Still not that much of a problem, adjusting the time difference for timer recording,
I'm just wondering what's going on with this machine. BTW, the clock still shows 2013, so at least I don't have to adjust for years rather than hours.
Your experience is typical. You should read the DHG thread for more information. I've seen one suggestion to leave it on since it doesn't search for a host and find bad data.
JoeKustra is online now  
post #3 of 3 Old 03-07-2013, 02:12 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
joecass's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Queens, New York City
Posts: 197
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What I'm basically worried about.... is the machine crashing, or completely losing the clock signal. That's when I won't know what to do afterward. I read this thread from time to time, seems like although everyone's experiences are similar, no two machines behave exactly the same way.
joecass is offline  
Reply HDTV Recorders

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off