iView-3500STB Tuner & DVR Owners Thread - Page 113 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 9Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3361 of 3368 Old 07-16-2014, 04:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,444
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 115 Post(s)
Liked: 283
Quote:
Originally Posted by jprc View Post
According to the few people who have tried the latest box with QAM, it does not seem to work well. I am assuming the firmware does not pick up physical channels but no one who has posted about it seemed knowledgeable enough to know the difference between physical and virtual despite my trying to explain it to them repeatedly, so I am only guessing about that. You can either ask iview when their new firmware will be ready, and whether it will support physical QAM channels (and perhaps offer to test it for them) or you could return it for an older box that you can load the latest firmware on that is known to work with physical QAM channels. But be aware that there is no guarantee that will work for your QAM either.
Thanks. I'm kind of in a pickle as I have no clear QAM cable to test now, but I will when I set up the box in a different city a month from now. I guess I'll ask iView, and buy an old box just in case, then try to resell one of them to an OTA only user. Either way, I'll post my results.
mdavej is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3362 of 3368 Old 07-17-2014, 04:44 AM
Member
 
mets18's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdavej View Post
Thanks. I'm kind of in a pickle as I have no clear QAM cable to test now, but I will when I set up the box in a different city a month from now. I guess I'll ask iView, and buy an old box just in case, then try to resell one of them to an OTA only user. Either way, I'll post my results.
I can confirm that the new box only picks up virtual QAM with PSIP data. The physical channels are not recognized even with manual channel search.
mets18 is online now  
post #3363 of 3368 Old 07-17-2014, 09:59 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,444
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 115 Post(s)
Liked: 283
Quote:
Originally Posted by mets18 View Post
I can confirm that the new box only picks up virtual QAM with PSIP data. The physical channels are not recognized even with manual channel search.
Thanks. I just returned it and ordered the old version.
mdavej is offline  
post #3364 of 3368 Old 07-17-2014, 07:05 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
videobruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 14,879
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 102
Thanks to mdavej, I removed all the dead links in post 5 for the older firmware updates. I'll try ti re-add them when I get a chance.

Abundant OTA television is what makes this country different from all others. Lets keep it this way.
The Internet is no place for streaming video.
videobruce is online now  
post #3365 of 3368 Old 07-19-2014, 07:28 AM
Advanced Member
 
StormCrow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 579
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Have had the box since last month.

I've made several recording onto my WD 2.5 USB powered HDD. Have had no problems so far.

Often pause live TV. That too has been fine.

Gripe, is same as other posts. The FF/RW, etc. are not as refined as others.

Still, for the $ this is a keeper!

Signal wise:

I mounted my Blonder Tongue UHF antenna on the DirecTV Slimline mast, after removing dish ;o)

By using that, instead of the previous cable run and location, I get great signal here in the West San Fernando Valley, in L.A. (Even all the VHF channels.)

On the UHF, I even get the PBS for another area. KVCR 24 in San Bernardino.

I'm impressed with the tuner in this box! It seems to be at least on par with my HTPC, MyHD 120 card.

P.S. The remote was sluggish, had to push button couple times, very directional, etc.

I called their support. They sent me a replacement remote. It is much better!
StormCrow is offline  
post #3366 of 3368 Old 07-19-2014, 08:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,444
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 115 Post(s)
Liked: 283
Man, I'm having a heck of a time just finding an old 3500STB. I've ordered 3 3500STB's from 3 different vendors on Amazon, and all have ended up being STBII's with that stupid 3/4 switch. I'm keeping my fingers crossed that the one I ordered from ebay really is the right model. Just in case, does anyone know where I can buy a 3500STB and actually get that model?
mdavej is offline  
post #3367 of 3368 Old 07-19-2014, 11:28 AM
Advanced Member
 
jprc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 635
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 108
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdavej View Post
Man, I'm having a heck of a time just finding an old 3500STB. I've ordered 3 3500STB's from 3 different vendors on Amazon, and all have ended up being STBII's with that stupid 3/4 switch. I'm keeping my fingers crossed that the one I ordered from ebay really is the right model. Just in case, does anyone know where I can buy a 3500STB and actually get that model?
This says it is the older version. You can contact them first if you want to make sure. http://www.amazon.com/Multi-function...&sr=1-2&dpPl=1
jprc is offline  
post #3368 of 3368 Old 07-19-2014, 02:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Aleron Ives's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 2,497
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 106 Post(s)
Liked: 262
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdavej View Post
Just in case, does anyone know where I can buy a 3500STB and actually get that model?
Buy on eBay from a seller with pictures of the actual item you will receive (not stock photos), so you can check the back to see if it has the switch. This is always my strategy when I want to get a particular edition of something, as sellers on Amazon rarely bother to state precisely what they are selling.
Aleron Ives is offline  
Reply HDTV Recorders

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off