iView-3500STB Tuner & DVR Owners Thread - Page 118 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 17Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3511 of 3515 Old Today, 05:46 AM
Member
 
rene52's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Niagara Falls,N.Y.
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Firmware for 3500STB AND 3500STBII?

When I installed the v13 firmware on my 3500STB in the info screen it also showed 3500II.Can you use the firmware upgrades for the 3500STBII on there website for ether box as long as it does not have a 3/4 switch on the back?
rene52 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3512 of 3515 Old Today, 09:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JHBrandt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S. Garland, TX
Posts: 1,640
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 155
Yes. The firmware will display the box model it was written for, but it's compatible with the older boxes as well. Only the latest boxes (with the channel 3/4 switch) are incompatible with V13.

If you still have the remote that came with your 3500STB, you'll find some of the buttons don't function as labeled with V13. The 3500STBII's shipped with the new remotes, a few of the buttons are different, and the V13 firmware was written for the new button layout. If this bugs you, you can buy one of the new remotes from iView for $10 (free shipping). You'll probably like it better anyway.
JHBrandt is online now  
post #3513 of 3515 Old Today, 12:17 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Well I'm an idiot and I flashed the newest firmware for the older revision on my brand new device (flashed the non-3/4-switched firmware onto my 3/4-switched device). The device still turns on and the menu seems to function otherwise, but it won't search for channels anymore. Is there a copy of the original firmware I can flash back onto my device?
IrDewey is online now  
post #3514 of 3515 Old Today, 04:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JHBrandt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S. Garland, TX
Posts: 1,640
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 155
This post has a link to the new firmware for the boxes with the channel 3/4 switch: iView-3500STB Tuner & DVR Owners Thread

It's a .zip file with four firmware versions for the new boxes. Good luck.
JHBrandt is online now  
post #3515 of 3515 Old Today, 05:31 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by JHBrandt View Post
This post has a link to the new firmware for the boxes with the channel 3/4 switch: iView-3500STB Tuner & DVR Owners Thread

It's a .zip file with four firmware versions for the new boxes. Good luck.

Thank you! It flashed fine and is scanning channels now. I'll report back if/when I get results.
IrDewey is online now  
Reply HDTV Recorders

User Tag List



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off