iView-3500STB Tuner & DVR Owners Thread - Page 119 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 22Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3541 of 3548 Old 08-29-2014, 10:20 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
well im just gunna tape the sensor on my tv and just turn it on manually least until i get my new tv and hope i can get it to work with that cause i really would like a dvr.. but can anyone at lease direct me to the latest firmware update for the model with the 3/4 switch so i can get my channels scanned.
Garret Stillions is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3542 of 3548 Old 08-30-2014, 05:12 AM
Member
 
rene52's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Niagara Falls,N.Y.
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by JHBrandt View Post
Yes. The firmware will display the box model it was written for, but it's compatible with the older boxes as well. Only the latest boxes (with the channel 3/4 switch) are incompatible with V13.

If you still have the remote that came with your 3500STB, you'll find some of the buttons don't function as labeled with V13. The 3500STBII's shipped with the new remotes, a few of the buttons are different, and the V13 firmware was written for the new button layout. If this bugs you, you can buy one of the new remotes from iView for $10 (free shipping). You'll probably like it better anyway.
So I can use the firm ware for ether 3500 or 3500II as long as it doesn't have the 3/4 switch?
rene52 is offline  
post #3543 of 3548 Old 08-30-2014, 03:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JHBrandt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S. Garland, TX
Posts: 1,657
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 157
Yes, just don't freak out that the Information display says 3500STBII. It'll even say that if you load V13 on a Homeworx!
JHBrandt is online now  
post #3544 of 3548 Old 08-30-2014, 03:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JHBrandt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S. Garland, TX
Posts: 1,657
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 157
Quote:
Originally Posted by Garret Stillions View Post
well im just gunna tape the sensor on my tv and just turn it on manually least until i get my new tv and hope i can get it to work with that cause i really would like a dvr.. but can anyone at lease direct me to the latest firmware update for the model with the 3/4 switch so i can get my channels scanned.
This post has a link to the new firmware for the boxes with the channel 3/4 switch: iView-3500STB Tuner & DVR Owners Thread

If you need QAM (digital cable) you'll probably have the best luck with V1; aside from QAM I'm not sure if there are any differences between the four versions in the .zip file.

I hope videobruce puts a link to this firmware in post 5 soon. My links keep getting lost as more folks post.
JHBrandt is online now  
post #3545 of 3548 Old 08-30-2014, 08:26 PM
Advanced Member
 
dkreichen1968's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Monument, CO
Posts: 757
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by R Johnson View Post
Thanks to the FCC, the era of Clear QAM is likely drawing to a close for almost everyone.
The current head of the National Cable and Telecommunications Association (big cable) is a former FCC chairman. And, let's see here, no more cable theft, and you no longer need to send a tech out to connect or disconnect the cable!

It's 2014 and you're still paying for television?
 


Last edited by dkreichen1968; 08-30-2014 at 08:33 PM.
dkreichen1968 is offline  
post #3546 of 3548 Old Yesterday, 10:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JHBrandt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S. Garland, TX
Posts: 1,657
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 157
Quote:
Originally Posted by dkreichen1968 View Post
The current head of the National Cable and Telecommunications Association (big cable) is a former FCC chairman.
And the current FCC chairman is a former lobbyist for big cable. The "revolving door" is a major reason why the FCC is more interested in protecting the industries it's supposed to regulate than in protecting consumers or the public.

Quote:
Originally Posted by dkreichen1968 View Post
... let's see here, no more cable theft, and you no longer need to send a tech out to connect or disconnect the cable!
Which is great for the cable industry - no one should be a victim of theft - but have you seen your cable bill drop thanks to these savings? That's what I thought....
JHBrandt is online now  
post #3547 of 3548 Old Yesterday, 11:31 AM
Advanced Member
 
dkreichen1968's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Monument, CO
Posts: 757
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by JHBrandt View Post
Which is great for the cable industry - no one should be a victim of theft - but have you seen your cable bill drop thanks to these savings? That's what I thought....
And, they can charge extra for every DTA and CableCard. So, ultimately it is just a major win for the cable companies, and part of the reason I don't have cable, and don't plan on ever having it.
JHBrandt likes this.

It's 2014 and you're still paying for television?
 

dkreichen1968 is offline  
post #3548 of 3548 Old Today, 12:30 PM
Advanced Member
 
jprc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 661
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 112
My iView decided to take labor day seriously and stopped working completely today. Well, I just thought that was kind of funny, so humor me for sharing. Anyway, it's officially dead. I wasn't using it when it happened. It was plugged into a surge protector so shouldn't have been a power surge and my electricity didn't go off at any point. Left it unplugged for an hour and plugged back into a couple different sockets. No signs of life. Took it apart and reset all the connectors and air dusted it, although there was no visible dust in there anyway. No signs of damage inside and nothing loose. The USB died awhile ago so I was only using it as a third tuner. RIP.
jprc is offline  
Reply HDTV Recorders

User Tag List



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off