iView-3500STB Tuner & DVR Owners Thread - Page 127 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 35Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3781 of 3785 Old 10-18-2014, 07:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JHBrandt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S. Garland, TX
Posts: 1,792
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 127 Post(s)
Liked: 173
I'm not sure about this, but I believe the new STBII's with the channel 3/4 switch only loop RF through when off. When these iViews are on, the RF modulator is always on too, since there's no firmware setting to control it any more.

A splitter is a quick, easy, and cheap fix. But if you really want loop-through when on, you could return or sell it and either:
  • try to buy an older iView w/o the channel 3/4 switch (e.g., on eBay)
  • buy a clone (e.g., Homeworx) that hasn't added the channel 3/4 switch.

Last edited by JHBrandt; 10-19-2014 at 12:48 PM. Reason: Fix typo
JHBrandt is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3782 of 3785 Old 10-18-2014, 09:14 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by JHBrandt View Post
I'm not sure about this, but I believe the new STBII's with the channel 3/4 switch only loop RF through when off. When these iViews are on, the RF modulator is always on too, since there's no firmware setting to control it any more.

A splitter is quick, easy, and cheap fix. But if you really want loop-through when on, you could return or sell it and either:
  • try to buy an older iView w/o the channel 3/4 switch (e.g., on eBay)
  • buy a clone (e.g., Homeworx) that hasn't added the channel 3/4 switch.
Ok Thank, will make some test about this
Steven Désilets is offline  
post #3783 of 3785 Old Today, 07:28 AM
Advanced Member
 
StormCrow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 586
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Is there anything about the newer version, with the 3/4 switch, that makes it better?

Just wondering, since it seems it is a step back. Unless I'm missing something?
StormCrow is offline  
post #3784 of 3785 Old Today, 09:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,931
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 407 Post(s)
Liked: 377
Quote:
Originally Posted by StormCrow View Post
Is there anything about the newer version, with the 3/4 switch, that makes it better?

Just wondering, since it seems it is a step back. Unless I'm missing something?
Only the included remote is better.
mdavej is offline  
post #3785 of 3785 Old Today, 11:12 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JHBrandt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S. Garland, TX
Posts: 1,792
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 127 Post(s)
Liked: 173
I thought both the "old" STBII (w/o the channel 3/4 switch) and the "new" one (with the switch) came with the newer remote. The original iView (STB, w/o the II) came with a different remote (although STB owners can buy the new remote separately and load a firmware update for it).

But IIRC the "new" STBII powers down the USB port in standby. The original STB did this too, but the "old" STBII did not. That would be an advantage for the new STBIIs, if you don't like running a USB-attached HDD 24/7: it would reduce heat produced by the iView's power supply, hopefully extending its life.
JHBrandt is online now  
Reply HDTV Recorders

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off