iView-3500STB Tuner & DVR Owners Thread - Page 141 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 61Likes
Reply
Thread Tools
post #4201 of 4208 Old 04-26-2015, 03:16 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hello everyone- I apologize if this has been asked before, but you've got A LOT of posts!!

I just bought an iView 3500sbii (with the ch 3/4 switch) a few weeks ago and I'm having an issue.

If I set up a recording to happen when I'm not physically watching the tv, I can't get it to actually record. I've noticed that a dialog usually comes up and asks if I want to record, and asks me to press the OK button. I guess if I'm not there to press it, it just skips the recording? How can I get my scheduled recordings to actually record? It doesn't work even if I leave it on the channel of the recording coming up.

Secondly, I've found that while recording, my quality goes out the window, but goes back to normal when I stop recording. It even makes the recorded file itself scrambled. I've got a 3.5" HDD (Freeagent 500GB) attached.

You all seem so smart, anyone have any help for me?
ktrex is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4202 of 4208 Old 04-27-2015, 11:30 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JHBrandt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S. Garland, TX
Posts: 2,341
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 436 Post(s)
Liked: 269
I don't think the OK prompt is the problem. If you aren't there it should just OK itself. That's what mine does.

Your second problem is probably also your first problem. If the signal gets so bad you can't receive it, the iView will eventually just drop the recording. It may record an unwatchable minute or two first.

These problems are often caused by interference from the HDD. Try:
  • Moving the HDD farther from the iView
  • A different USB cable (some have better shielding)

Also see if you can improve your iView's reception. If your station is right on the cliff, a little interference can push it over the edge easily. But it may work better if there's some signal-to-noise ratio to spare.

Ironically, doing this may require making the input signal weaker, not stronger. The iView's tuner is notoriously prone to overload even when other tuners handle the same signal just fine.
JHBrandt is online now  
post #4203 of 4208 Old 04-27-2015, 01:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
R Johnson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Posts: 1,683
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by ktrex View Post
.... Secondly, I've found that while recording, my quality goes out the window, but goes back to normal when I stop recording. It even makes the recorded file itself scrambled. ....
I have this issue from time to time as well. For some reason the recording process impairs the tuner's reception capability. My only solution is to provide the best possible signal from the antenna for the channel(s) of interest. In my experience, reception can vary significantly from day to day...
R Johnson is offline  
post #4204 of 4208 Old 04-27-2015, 02:00 PM
Advanced Member
 
jprc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 715
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 115
ktrex, in addition to what the others have said, if you happen to be using an indoor antenna, move it as far away as you physically can get it from the iview. That may not apply to your situation, but if it does, that could solve the whole problem.

Some indoor antenna's have short fixed cables so don't give a lot of leeway for moving, but others have replaceable cables. So for anyone looking to purchase an antenna to use for this who can't have an outdoor one, make sure to get one that allows you to use your own cable or that at least has an extra long fixed cable.
JHBrandt likes this.
jprc is offline  
post #4205 of 4208 Old 04-28-2015, 08:01 AM
QAM
Member
 
QAM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 68
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 12
While I agree with the solutions previously stated (move antenna away from DVR, move HDD away from DVR, etc.), I have a similar situation which I found annoying when my DVR was still working. Ktrex didn't state it, but I assume he was using an HDMI connection to the TV receiver. I noticed that the picture was broken up terribly while recording (and even when the DVR was just on) certain channels while the TV set was ALSO on. Specifically when watching PHYSICAL channels 27 thru 34 (not the virtual channel numbers). Apparently this was causing the DVR & TV signal to break up if they were both tuned to any station in that range simultaneously. If the TV was OFF, the DVR recorded those station fine. If the DVR was OFF the TV signal would not break up in that range. If the TV and DVR were BOTH on and I UNPLUGGED the HDMI cable, both the TV and DVR would be OK. Granted, my antenna was possibly too close, so I suspect there could have been different results if they were separated a bit more. Take it for what it is, just one more quirk in this DVRs operation. Just sayin'.
QAM is offline  
post #4206 of 4208 Old 04-28-2015, 10:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JHBrandt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S. Garland, TX
Posts: 2,341
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 436 Post(s)
Liked: 269
Could have been a poorly shielded HDMI cable. For anyone having interference issues, that's another thing to try: a different HDMI cable, or component cables instead of HDMI. I suppose using cables with ferrite cores at each end might help too.
JHBrandt is online now  
post #4207 of 4208 Old Today, 02:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JHBrandt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S. Garland, TX
Posts: 2,341
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 436 Post(s)
Liked: 269
Quote:
Originally Posted by videobruce View Post
There is a revised hardware version on the horizon. Stay tuned.
Quote:
Originally Posted by jjeff View Post
At minimum it would need to have the ability to play a recorded title while recording something else, 2 tuners would be nice but I'd be happy with a mostly bugless firmware, something no current versions seem to be.
Any word yet on the new, "improved" iView? We've stayed tuned for some time now....
JHBrandt is online now  
post #4208 of 4208 Unread Today, 06:23 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 0
still not able to join files

My 1T external hd is formatted to NTFS so not understanding why this is not working?


Quote:
Originally Posted by plplplpl View Post
Try renaming all the files extensions to just *.mts. and renaming with the sequential numbering in the file name before the dot instead, e.g., file1.mts, file2.mts, file3.mts, etc.

But as jprc says, for the future just reformat your drive to NTFS.



http://lmgtfy.com/?q=vlc
AntheaH is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply HDTV Recorders

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off