iView-3500STB Tuner & DVR Owners Thread - Page 151 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 79Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4501 of 4519 Old 01-25-2016, 11:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JHBrandt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S. Garland, TX
Posts: 3,043
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 779 Post(s)
Liked: 493
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdavej View Post
Well, you can pay a bit more (~$350) for a stable product (Magnavox or Tivo).

I agree SSD on these is a terrible idea. Huge expense compared to HDD and will wear out quickly.
As long as we're naming alternatives, I'd also mention CM's DVR+ ($249 w/o the HDD). Although if you catch one of those $300-with-lifetime specials TiVo runs from time to time, that would arguably be the best deal.

BTW, I assume he was talking about a USB flash drive, not a SATA SSD plus a dock. The appeal of those is you can get small ones cheap (64GB for ~$25), so you can use them sort of like video cassettes in the old days. If that's how he wanted to use them, he'd probably record a few shows and keep them, rather than erasing and re-recording, so wear-out wouldn't be as much of a concern.

Last edited by JHBrandt; 01-25-2016 at 11:37 AM.
JHBrandt is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4502 of 4519 Old 01-25-2016, 11:38 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 12,723
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1753 Post(s)
Liked: 816
Quote:
Originally Posted by JHBrandt View Post
As long as we're naming alternatives, I'd also mention CM's DVR+ ($249 w/o the HDD). Although if you catch one of those $300-with-lifetime specials TiVo runs from time to time, that would arguably be the best deal.
Does CM have QAM tuners? I thought it was only OTA.

QAM is the only reason to choose iView over some other brand, as far as I can tell. That's the only reason I chose iView over Homeworx.
mdavej is offline  
post #4503 of 4519 Old 01-25-2016, 12:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JHBrandt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S. Garland, TX
Posts: 3,043
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 779 Post(s)
Liked: 493
Yes, the DVR+ is OTA only. The OP didn't mention the environment, and I assumed OTA. That might have been an incorrect assumption.

For cable, I'd definitely recommend TiVo; it's the only DVR I know of that accepts a CableCARD. Clear QAM is an endangered species in the US.

BTW, the last HomeWorX I bought did come with QAM-enabled firmware. (Nevertheless, I assume Mediasonic still doesn't support QAM. I'm only using it in an OTA environment; the only thing I get via cable is Internet service.)
JHBrandt is offline  
post #4504 of 4519 Old 01-25-2016, 11:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
m. zillch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 5,342
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 771 Post(s)
Liked: 451
Much like NTSC eventually went away, isn't QAM, at least unencrypted, also eventually going away? That's what I heard.

In A/V reproduction accuracy, there is no concept of "accounting for taste". We don't "pick" the level of bass, etc., any more than we pick the ending of a play. High fidelity means an unmodified, neutral, exact copy (or "reproduction") of the original artist's tonal balance, timing, dynamics, etc..
m. zillch is offline  
post #4505 of 4519 Old 01-26-2016, 06:47 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
jjeff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 10,799
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 506 Post(s)
Liked: 188
Quote:
Originally Posted by m. zillch View Post
Much like NTSC eventually went away, isn't QAM, at least unencrypted, also eventually going away? That's what I heard.
Yes but unlike NTSC the only reason QAM would go away is because of the greediness of our pay TV providers They make more money renting STBs to everyone who's hooked up to their system than if those people used their own tuners, plain and simple! Oh of course they also make even more money if those said people get full fledged STBs or DVRs and they used PPV or similar pay services, something that a person using a clear QAM tuner would not have access to and therefor never be tempted to use.
As Abba said in their song......money money money.....
jjeff is online now  
post #4506 of 4519 Old 01-26-2016, 12:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
m. zillch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 5,342
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 771 Post(s)
Liked: 451
http://forums.solidsignal.com/conten...g-away-forever


If anyone has a more recent article, by all means, please post.

In A/V reproduction accuracy, there is no concept of "accounting for taste". We don't "pick" the level of bass, etc., any more than we pick the ending of a play. High fidelity means an unmodified, neutral, exact copy (or "reproduction") of the original artist's tonal balance, timing, dynamics, etc..
m. zillch is offline  
post #4507 of 4519 Old 01-26-2016, 02:39 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 12,723
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1753 Post(s)
Liked: 816
That's ancient history. Clear QAM is already long gone most places, definitely every place in that article. The only reason I use it is because my school campus has their own clear QAM distribution system. For encrypted cable, I use cable card devices.
mdavej is offline  
post #4508 of 4519 Old 01-26-2016, 03:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JHBrandt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S. Garland, TX
Posts: 3,043
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 779 Post(s)
Liked: 493
There are a few systems that still offer clear QAM, Verizon FiOS being probably the most important.

I think a big part of the reason cable companies wanted to encrypt everything is sheer laziness: if you don't pay your bill on time, if everything is encrypted they don't have to send someone out to disconnect you. They can disable your service automatically, and turn it back on from a computer screen.

But FiOS can do that anyway, since their fiber system works differently. So they don't have to encrypt everything just to be able to switch you off.
JHBrandt is offline  
post #4509 of 4519 Old 01-28-2016, 11:44 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Iview 3500STB QAM256 compatible?

Hi All,

Can anyone confirm the Iview 3500STBII's compatibility with QAM256 modulation? I am working on an integrated system consisting of two large displays conected to multiplexers, in order to display a significant number of video streams on each. I will be connecting this to a closed circuit HD cable feed, running QAM256 modulation. I am looking at using the aforementioned tuner to demodulate the signal, feeding each via HDMI into the respective multiplexers. Since I will be purchasing a lot of these (say 15+) for this system, I need to confirm that they will work. All the information I can find says "clear QAM compatible" but does not specify if it is QAM16, QAM64, or the required QAM256.

Thanks in advance!
j_vaughn is offline  
post #4510 of 4519 Old 01-28-2016, 11:46 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I should also mention that the signal will be unencrypted.
j_vaughn is offline  
post #4511 of 4519 Old 01-29-2016, 03:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JHBrandt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S. Garland, TX
Posts: 3,043
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 779 Post(s)
Liked: 493
@j-vaughn;, I am not sure. My best guess is that it probably works all the way up to QAM256, because most folks who have tried it with cable have been able to find at least something, and I assume cable systems generally use the same type of modulation on all their channels, with QAM256 being quite common. But the only way to know for sure would be to buy one and try it.

That said, the iView has a pretty spotty reputation with cable. The problems don't seem to stem from the type of modulation as much as the firmware's inability to properly identify cable channels. It often misses channels that other clear-QAM tuners find without problems.

The exception is firmware version V1, which doesn't even try to map cable channels to their virtual channel numbers. It just shows the physical RF channels and subchannel IDs. It doesn't even skip encrypted channels (even though it won't play them, of course).

V1 firmware can be quite a mess for a typical cable user, but it might be just right for your situation.
JHBrandt is offline  
post #4512 of 4519 Old 01-30-2016, 10:29 AM
Member
 
Pilule's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jprc View Post
Btw, Pilule (or anyone else), for the files you already have, you can play the .mts1, .mts2, etc files in VLC without having to rename or convert or anything else. It's a free video player you can download that has more capabilities than the built-in windows player. You can also add all the file parts for each recording to a VLC playlist and it will play it as one continuous show without having to individually play each part. Just play the first file and all of them will be played in order.

And if you're not comfortable with the command line previously mentioned here, you can join the files with any video editor. There are many free ones you can download. And if you are overwhelmed by a full-blown video editor, you can download a simple mts converter that will easily join all of the mts parts into one file.
I tried VLC. It works great but the picture is a little fuzzier than Windows Media Player.

I would like to try some .mts file converter. Any suggestion? One that doesn't come with malware, perhaps? It seems that a lot of them come with unwanted software.

Thanks
Pilule is offline  
post #4513 of 4519 Old 01-30-2016, 11:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Aleron Ives's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 4,348
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1343 Post(s)
Liked: 1078
What are your target codecs and container?
Aleron Ives is offline  
post #4514 of 4519 Old 01-31-2016, 07:23 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Try "handbrake" from handbrake dot fr

Its free, its open source and multi-platform and its mature (ie its been around for a long time).
And it contains no malware.
JHBrandt likes this.
haverchuck99 is offline  
post #4515 of 4519 Old 01-31-2016, 09:29 AM
Member
 
Pilule's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aleron Ives View Post
What are your target codecs and container?
I'm not sure what these terms mean???
Pilule is offline  
post #4516 of 4519 Old Today, 01:22 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I'm looking to cut the cord and get a digital antenna instead. I found the iview at Walmart for $35 and am wondering if it will suit my needs. I'm wondering if this device is compatible with a Series 2 Tivo. I'd like my Tivo to be able to change the channel on my digital converter box (via IR cable/IR blaster/serial cable). Has anyone had success controlling this box from a Tivo with an IR blaster? I also need to know if this box outputs Dolby Digital sound via the digital coaxial output. I want to connect the analog composite outputs to my analog Tivo for SD recording while still being able to watch live HDTV via the component video (my TV has no HDMI) and digital coax audio outputs. If this won't work for me, could anyone please suggest an alternate digital tv converter box that will?
theGreatCornholio is offline  
post #4517 of 4519 Old Today, 01:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JHBrandt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S. Garland, TX
Posts: 3,043
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 779 Post(s)
Liked: 493
Quote:
Originally Posted by theGreatCornholio View Post
I'm looking to cut the cord and get a digital antenna instead. I found the iview at Walmart for $35 and am wondering if it will suit my needs. I'm wondering if this device is compatible with a Series 2 Tivo. I'd like my Tivo to be able to change the channel on my digital converter box (via IR cable/IR blaster/serial cable). Has anyone had success controlling this box from a Tivo with an IR blaster?
Some folks have successfully controlled the iView from an XBox One, but I don't know of anyone who's controlled it from a TiVo. You should probably see if your TiVo lists the iView in its remote control database. I think the Series 2 is older than the iView, but the iView may still have been added via an update from TiVo.
Quote:
Originally Posted by theGreatCornholio View Post
I also need to know if this box outputs Dolby Digital sound via the digital coaxial output.
Yes, in RAW mode (a menu setting on the iView).
Quote:
Originally Posted by theGreatCornholio View Post
I want to connect the analog composite outputs to my analog Tivo for SD recording while still being able to watch live HDTV via the component video (my TV has no HDMI) and digital coax audio outputs.
All outputs are active whenever the iView is on, so your channel's video will appear simultaneously on both the composite (in SD) and component (in HD) outputs. Similarly the audio will appear on both the L/R stereo and digital coaxial outputs.
Quote:
Originally Posted by theGreatCornholio View Post
If this won't work for me, could anyone please suggest an alternate digital tv converter box that will?
Just avoid the Channel Master CM-7001. IIRC its composite video output is only available if you set its component output to 480i, so it can't give you a channel in both HD and SD at once.

A used Dish DTVPal or Channel Master CM-7000Pal would probably work, although a 2-tuner DVR is probably overkill for your purposes.
JHBrandt is offline  
post #4518 of 4519 Old Today, 05:13 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
jjeff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 10,799
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 506 Post(s)
Liked: 188
Yes a CM-7000 CECB would no doubt be able to be controlled by your Tivo as it uses some old IR codes, not sure about the newer iView, as JHBrandt said you might need to contact Tivo to see if they list a code for it.
jjeff is online now  
post #4519 of 4519 Old Today, 05:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JHBrandt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S. Garland, TX
Posts: 3,043
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 779 Post(s)
Liked: 493
Actually I was referring to the DVR that CM sold under a very similar part number (CM-7000Pal). But yes, CECBs like the CM-7000 (without the "Pal") probably use remote codes that work.

The only problem with CECBs is that by law, the best they could do was S-video (no HD outputs were allowed).
JHBrandt is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply HDTV Recorders



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off