iView-3500STB Tuner & DVR Owners Thread - Page 169 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 117Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #5041 of 5044 Old 05-25-2017, 12:02 PM
QAM
Member
 
QAM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 113
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Looks like iView posted NEW firmware updates for the 3500STBII (with NO Ch. 3/4 switch) and 3200STB dated 5/24/17

File name(s):

IVIEW-3500STBII_Support QAM PSIP
IVIEW-3200STB_Support QAM PSIP


Serial Number:

1506/1508/1509/1511/1601/1603/1706

Size:

5.5MB


No description found.
ncsercs, JHBrandt and Capit like this.

Last edited by QAM; 05-25-2017 at 12:06 PM.
QAM is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5042 of 5044 Old 05-25-2017, 01:49 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JHBrandt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S. Garland, TX
Posts: 4,630
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1637 Post(s)
Liked: 800
From the filenames, I suspect these new firmware updates may help cable users like ncsercs.
JHBrandt is offline  
post #5043 of 5044 Old Yesterday, 07:40 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JHBrandt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S. Garland, TX
Posts: 4,630
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1637 Post(s)
Liked: 800
I just tried the new 3200STB firmware. While it does work in an OTA environment, it appears to be intended for cable users only.

It replaces the channel/subchannel numbers with the iView's internal number (the number displayed on the front panel). IOW, instead of 68-5, I now see 089 (since channel 68-5 is the 89'th channel in my channel list), and I have to enter 89 to tune to it

While this is probably friendlier than the seemingly random RF channel and program numbers cable users saw on earlier firmware, it is definitely not an improvement for OTA users! I will be reverting my 3200 to the previously-installed firmware.

Edit: I just noticed another fairly new firmware version on the 3200 page: version "1604" dated 03/24/2017. Unfortunately this does the same thing as the 05/24/2017 version, except the first channel is 002 instead of 001

Last edited by JHBrandt; Yesterday at 07:54 PM.
JHBrandt is offline  
 
post #5044 of 5044 Old Today, 12:48 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 1
JH .. I have acquired a used 3500stbii that performs well. Sadly, the unit reboots randomly losing my custom channel listings order and arranges the stations numerically by LCN number. I have to goto Menu:Program Edit and manually rearrange channel numbers to restore my custom order. Any ideas why this is happening?

SW version 2014 0707 V3 (Also tried SW ver 2014 05 22 V1 with same issue .. had hope V3 might resolve, but no luck)
HW ATSC 7816 XD 03 Z00 (with 3/4 switch)
LH92037 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply HDTV Recorders

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off