dish vip722k question - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 05-27-2013, 04:53 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
tank3467's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Okay, my father in law is having a problem getting his second TV working. Here's the problem,his second TV is is a Panasonic pt-l3000u projector which doesn't have a cable connector on the back. Normal signal is passed through an onkyo receiver in which he uses either s-video or composite out to the projector.

I tried an ref modulator but couldnt get signal to the projector. Any ideas on what I need to do to get this working. The dish guy was pretty clueless about what I need.
Thanks
tank3467 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 05-27-2013, 05:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bobby94928's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Rohnert Park, CA
Posts: 4,495
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 119
Quote:
Originally Posted by tank3467 View Post

Okay, my father in law is having a problem getting his second TV working. Here's the problem,his second TV is is a Panasonic pt-l3000u projector which doesn't have a cable connector on the back. Normal signal is passed through an onkyo receiver in which he uses either s-video or composite out to the projector.

I tried an ref modulator but couldnt get signal to the projector. Any ideas on what I need to do to get this working. The dish guy was pretty clueless about what I need.
Thanks

OK, first I had some difficulty figuring out the actual projector ID. It is actually PT-L300U.......

Is his 2nd TV close to the first? Do they actually need two different channels at the same time? What is the Onkyo model number?

Bobby 

bobby94928 is online now  
post #3 of 5 Old 05-27-2013, 06:18 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
tank3467's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Your right the projector is the 300 not 3000. The onkyo receiver is a TX-SR600. Tv1 is upstairs and the projector is down in the basement so they want to be able to watch it on the projector.
tank3467 is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 05-28-2013, 09:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bobby94928's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Rohnert Park, CA
Posts: 4,495
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 119
Is there a coax from the 722 to the basement Onkyo? It is important to note that using TV2 out of the 722 is not going to give you HD in the basement....

Bobby 

bobby94928 is online now  
post #5 of 5 Old 05-28-2013, 11:41 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,799
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 336 Post(s)
Liked: 352
When you use RF over coax, the receiving device must have an analog tv tuner to pick it up. Your projector doesn't have an analog tv tuner. Plus as the previous poster said, even if it worked, it wouldn't be HD and will look absolutely terrible.

If you really want to go through with this plan, just pick up an old VCR, connect the coax into it, tune it to the channel that has the signal from the 722 (probably 60 something), then connect composite out from that into your projector.

Since that's a nice HD projector, I highly recommend you try to send it an HD signal. There are a couple of ways to do this. That white connector with all the holes is DVI. You can get a cable that's HDMI on one end and DVI on the other. That will get HD video to it, as will the component video output. Use the red/white audio outputs for sound. If you can't run any cables, a wireless HDMI system like the Actiontec MyWirelessTV is a good option. I have one that works very well about 30 ft through a couple of walls and a floor.
TheKrell likes this.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
mdavej is offline  
Reply HDTV Recorders

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off