What happened to My Recording Setback? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-18-2013, 12:43 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Yakatak's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 119
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
SA-8300HDC

Until recently, after fast forwarding through recorded material and pressing "Play", the recording would start a couple of seconds prior to where the "play" button was pushed so that you wouldn't overshoot what you wanted to see. I know there is (was) a way to set this, because I've done it, but i can't figure it out now.??? Help!
Yakatak is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-04-2013, 12:35 PM
Newbie
 
peart75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Yakatak,

i'm in the same boat, this functionality ceased a couple of weeks ago, i'm assuming due to a firmware update on the DVR. i'm in the mid ohio region. called support, they reset the box and the issue still persists. they scheduled a technician to some out to look at it... not sure how that is going to help, but maybe that person will be more knowledgeable with settings or if it has been removed.

i agree, i swear i saw this specific setting within the past couple of month. i've been up and down the settings and it appears this and other setting options have been removed, stripping it down to very basic items only. very frustrating to deal with.
peart75 is offline  
Old 07-04-2013, 01:25 PM
Advanced Member
 
billatlakegeorge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Bolton Landing, NY
Posts: 601
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I noticed this also. It probably has something to do with the big settlement all these box makers had with Tivo a month or so back
billatlakegeorge is offline  
Old 07-10-2013, 07:16 AM
Newbie
 
peart75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
tech came, couldn't find the setting either, called in and they confirmed that feature/setting was removed. VERY DISAPPOINTING. i also don't understand why the CS representative and on site tech had no idea about this key user experience feature being yanked out. if you aren't going to tell your customers, at least inform your support tier.

as billatlakegeorge pointed out, it may be due to litigation/patents. it looks as though things have been settled (http://www.engadget.com/2013/06/06/tivo-motorola-google-settle-dvr-patent-lawsuit/), although who knows if/when this feature will be making its way back.

there is a very lengthy thread about this subject here: http://forums.timewarnercable.com/t5/Equipment/DVR-Fast-forward-Removal-of-enhancement/td-p/224/page/13
peart75 is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off