Channel Master DVR+ Owners Thread - Page 140 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 38Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4171 of 4173 Old Today, 10:18 AM
Advanced Member
 
SEMIJim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: S.E. Michgan
Posts: 515
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Update #1

I'll refrain from reciting the whole story and skip right to the Bottom Line: Monday, somebody from Channelmaster reached out to me. He agreed my situation could've been handled better, and gave me a choice: He'd send me a new remote or a pre-paid return label. During the conversation he reiterated his and CM's feeling that the DVR+ was a great product and that he felt that, had I been able to give it a fair go, I'd probably love it.

Well, when a vendor representative goes out of their way to reach out to me, I feel the effort should be rewarded by giving that vendor a chance to get my business. So I asked him to send me the replacement remote. Although I told him "no hurry," he overnighted it, anyway. I received it yesterday. Unlike the original remote: It works

Preliminary results and impressions...

First off: The tuners. Yep, they're a bit (?) weaker than that in our Samsung TV. There are several weaker, inconsequential, channels it didn't catch, and two that suffer breakup. Of those latter two: Only one is very important, and it's a duplicate (PBS). So, providing the thing passes the first stormy weather test on the other channels: We'll be okay with the tuner performance.

Networking: I ran into a couple issues. At first I thought I'd also gotten a bum WiFi adaptor. Turned out you have to explicitly check the WiFi radio button for it to see the adaptor. Once I did that, it was straight-forward... except... I found I couldn't perform a software update via WiFi. It tried, and failed. Luckily I have an Ethernet bridge right there, so I was able to supply it a wired connection for that. The upgrade went smoothly, after which I switched it back to the WiFi connection.

Other than those items... to be honest: I wanted to dislike the thing. The whole deal with the remote and so forth put me in a bad frame-of-mind regarding it. I wanted to dislike it, but I couldn't. In fact: So far the DVR+ strikes me as a very neat bit of kit!

Even the remote. I haven't tried to program it for the TV or anything, yet. Besides: I have an MX-500 Home Theater Master. But the remote, at least for running the DVR+, seems fine to me. Certainly not the worst I've ever used.

One thing, Channelmaster: I know it's a Channelmaster DVR. The PSIP pop-up when you change channels is nice, and the uptime delay is perfect, but could you maybe reduce the size of your self-advertizing banner, please?

Jim
jjeff and TonyB1966 like this.

Last edited by SEMIJim; Today at 10:22 AM.
SEMIJim is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4172 of 4173 Old Today, 12:15 PM
Advanced Member
 
dkreichen1968's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Monument, CO
Posts: 753
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kelson View Post
By any chance, can you tell what the make and model of the 2.5" HDD is? I don't see a sticker.
That really doesn't look like 2.5" to me. It looks like it's a special small form drive.

It's 2014 and you're still paying for television?
 

dkreichen1968 is online now  
post #4173 of 4173 Old Today, 12:16 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by SEMIJim View Post
I found I couldn't perform a software update via WiFi. It tried, and failed. Luckily I have an Ethernet bridge right there, so I was able to supply it a wired connection for that. The upgrade went smoothly, after which I switched it back to the WiFi connection.
Mine was the same thing... though I then tried a 3rd time, and forced myself to be patient, and it finally updated via WIFI. But as I recall the error it was showing seemed to imply that it was a WIFI issue, even though in hindsight I think it actually just needed more time. And when it did the firmware update it took a very long time to do the download. Literally about 10 minutes.
t_f_s is online now  
Reply HDTV Recorders

User Tag List



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off