Channel Master DVR+ Owners Thread - Page 165 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 142Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4921 of 4940 Old 09-29-2014, 06:34 PM
Senior Member
 
SoonerTheBetter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Tulsa
Posts: 243
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by SirCrow View Post
On the phone with a CM person today, I expressed my concern regarding a forum post from March 2014 which claimed that CM would not continue to release DVR+ firmware fixes and improvements for very long. I'm at least a little relieved after the rep. assured me that it's untrue. To me, this is very important, as I see much room for improvement. What do you think?
Nice. This machine, so far, has reliably recorded my shows so that I can watch them. It will be interesting to see how much more work they will do to the DVR+ before they move on to the DVR++. I don't mind being the guinea pig.

I don't know how tolerant the general public is to firmware upgrades though.
SoonerTheBetter is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4922 of 4940 Old Yesterday, 08:00 AM
Senior Member
 
mbuchana's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Fort Collins, CO, USA
Posts: 496
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Audio Dropouts

Is anyone else still getting audio dropouts when playing back recorded programs?

I am still getting them whenever:
- I play back a recording from ABC, Fox or CW, and
- there are active recordings in progress (either 1 or 2)

I can skip back and re-play the section without dropouts. I can also play the recordings when no background recordings are active and they will play OK.
The only common thing I can think of regarding ABC, Fox or CW is that they are all 720p channels. I never get audio dropouts when playing 1080i content from NBC, CBS or PBS, or any SD sub-channels.

I keep hoping firmware updates will fix this, but I still get them. It does seem like it was worse with earlier firmware, but maybe I've just gotten used to it. I would say I get a dozen or so half-second dropouts each hour.

I've tried some different audio settings (midnight mode, etc.) but nothing seems to make a difference.
mbuchana is online now  
post #4923 of 4940 Old Yesterday, 08:45 AM
Member
 
artisticimaging's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 127
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbuchana View Post
Is anyone else still getting audio dropouts when playing back recorded programs?

I am still getting them whenever:
- I play back a recording from ABC, Fox or CW, and
- there are active recordings in progress (either 1 or 2)

I can skip back and re-play the section without dropouts. I can also play the recordings when no background recordings are active and they will play OK.
The only common thing I can think of regarding ABC, Fox or CW is that they are all 720p channels. I never get audio dropouts when playing 1080i content from NBC, CBS or PBS, or any SD sub-channels.

I keep hoping firmware updates will fix this, but I still get them. It does seem like it was worse with earlier firmware, but maybe I've just gotten used to it. I would say I get a dozen or so half-second dropouts each hour.

I've tried some different audio settings (midnight mode, etc.) but nothing seems to make a difference.

Yes, I still get the video glitches and now I have started getting the audio glitches. I am still using the 108.
artisticimaging is offline  
post #4924 of 4940 Old Yesterday, 03:23 PM
Newbie
 
adam_beers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by SirCrow View Post
Does anyone know whether or not the firmware can be reverted to 108R? No point in downloading it if it can't.
Thanks.
I was unable to downgrade from 111r to 108r. I inserted the USB into the slot and it said that it found a version that was already installed or older. Anybody have any ideas? I wonder if changing the name would work. I doubt it, but still wondering.
adam_beers is offline  
post #4925 of 4940 Old Yesterday, 03:56 PM
Newbie
 
blakepro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by artisticimaging View Post
Yes, I still get the video glitches and now I have started getting the audio glitches. I am still using the 108.
Interesting that you two have audio playback glitches. As far as I can tell, all of our video and audio playback perfectly..
I'm on the latest firmware.
I wonder if its related to the hard drive or something?

I'm using this HDD: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...?ie=UTF8&psc=1
blakepro is online now  
post #4926 of 4940 Old Yesterday, 04:35 PM
Member
 
artisticimaging's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 127
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by blakepro View Post
Interesting that you two have audio playback glitches. As far as I can tell, all of our video and audio playback perfectly..
I'm on the latest firmware.
I wonder if its related to the hard drive or something?

I'm using this HDD: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...?ie=UTF8&psc=1

I have tried two different DVR+'s and two different hard drives, a Seagate and a WD and I get the Video Glitches as seen here.




And now I am getting audio glitches.
I think it is under powered processor. For me it is still better than TIVO.
artisticimaging is offline  
post #4927 of 4940 Old Yesterday, 07:04 PM
Advanced Member
 
SEMIJim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: S.E. Michgan
Posts: 575
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 52 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by adam_beers View Post
I was unable to downgrade from 111r to 108r. I inserted the USB into the slot and it said that it found a version that was already installed or older. Anybody have any ideas? I wonder if changing the name would work. I doubt it, but still wondering.
*hmph* Now can't revert? This thing impresses me less and less as time goes on

Jim
SEMIJim is offline  
post #4928 of 4940 Old Yesterday, 08:05 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
newbe is it possible to schedule weekly recordings

I'm am so new and not too savvy so if some one can tell me if it possible and if so how to set up my dvr+ to record the same tv program every night without having to set it every night.
hitecmal is offline  
post #4929 of 4940 Old Today, 03:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
P Smith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Mediterranean Sea
Posts: 2,003
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 130
Quote:
Originally Posted by SEMIJim View Post
*hmph* Now can't revert? This thing impresses me less and less as time goes on

Jim
there is nothing new if you know TR-50 model's FW [aka Pal aka CM-7K]
P Smith is offline  
post #4930 of 4940 Old Today, 06:09 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Chuck44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Missouri Ozarks
Posts: 2,188
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by hitecmal View Post
I'm am so new and not too savvy so if some one can tell me if it possible and if so how to set up my dvr+ to record the same tv program every night without having to set it every night.
Have you tried reading the manual?
Chuck44 is offline  
post #4931 of 4940 Old Today, 06:16 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Kelson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Delaware - The First State (USA)
Posts: 10,136
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 321 Post(s)
Liked: 371
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbuchana View Post
The only common thing I can think of regarding ABC, Fox or CW is that they are all 720p channels.
CW HD is 1080i.

- kelson h

The bitterness of poor quality lasts long after the sweetness of the low price is forgotten . . . life is too short to drink bad wine

Kelson is offline  
post #4932 of 4940 Old Today, 06:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JoeKustra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ashland, PA 17921
Posts: 6,597
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 92
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kelson View Post
CW HD is 1080i.
That's probably 99.99% correct. But....
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/WCCB and
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/KWGN-TV in Ft. Collins/Denver

Last edited by JoeKustra; Today at 06:52 AM.
JoeKustra is online now  
post #4933 of 4940 Old Today, 06:55 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Kelson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Delaware - The First State (USA)
Posts: 10,136
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 321 Post(s)
Liked: 371
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeKustra View Post
That's probably 99.99% correct. But....
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/WCCB and
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/KWGN-TV in Ft. Collins/Denver
Yes, although the CW master feed is 1080i, there is no accounting for what an affiliate might do to the signal.

- kelson h

The bitterness of poor quality lasts long after the sweetness of the low price is forgotten . . . life is too short to drink bad wine

Kelson is offline  
post #4934 of 4940 Old Today, 07:25 AM
Senior Member
 
mbuchana's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Fort Collins, CO, USA
Posts: 496
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeKustra View Post
That's probably 99.99% correct. But....
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/WCCB and
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/KWGN-TV in Ft. Collins/Denver
Right--the dropouts I described are for recordings from KWGN Denver (720p).
mbuchana is online now  
post #4935 of 4940 Old Today, 07:29 AM
Senior Member
 
mbuchana's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Fort Collins, CO, USA
Posts: 496
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by blakepro View Post
Interesting that you two have audio playback glitches. As far as I can tell, all of our video and audio playback perfectly..
I'm on the latest firmware.
I wonder if its related to the hard drive or something?

I'm using this HDD: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...?ie=UTF8&psc=1
I'm using one of the ChannelMaster recommended Seagate drives (1TB).
mbuchana is online now  
post #4936 of 4940 Old Today, 12:05 PM
Newbie
 
Jimster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbuchana View Post
The only common thing I can think of regarding ABC, Fox or CW is that they are all 720p channels. I never get audio dropouts when playing 1080i content from NBC, CBS or PBS, or any SD sub-channels.

I've tried some different audio settings (midnight mode, etc.) but nothing seems to make a difference.
I'm fairly new both to the forum and to the CM, but... Since different audio settings haven't helped and the problem might be related to 720p channels, have you tried forcing the Display setup to 720P (or other settings)? Honestly, I have no idea why a display setting would affect an audio stream, but ignorance has never stopped me from beating technical problems to death.
Jimster is online now  
post #4937 of 4940 Old Today, 12:44 PM
Member
 
jakep_82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbuchana View Post
Is anyone else still getting audio dropouts when playing back recorded programs?

I am still getting them whenever:
- I play back a recording from ABC, Fox or CW, and
- there are active recordings in progress (either 1 or 2)

I can skip back and re-play the section without dropouts. I can also play the recordings when no background recordings are active and they will play OK.
The only common thing I can think of regarding ABC, Fox or CW is that they are all 720p channels. I never get audio dropouts when playing 1080i content from NBC, CBS or PBS, or any SD sub-channels.

I keep hoping firmware updates will fix this, but I still get them. It does seem like it was worse with earlier firmware, but maybe I've just gotten used to it. I would say I get a dozen or so half-second dropouts each hour.

I've tried some different audio settings (midnight mode, etc.) but nothing seems to make a difference.
I've noticed the exact same thing recently. I get audio dropouts on Fox and ABC which are both 720p. I don't have audio dropouts on CBS, NBC, or PBS which are all 1080i. I can't pinpoint when I started noticing the issue, but I know it was mentioned by others on more than one occasion with previous firmware versions.
jakep_82 is online now  
Reply HDTV Recorders

Tags
Channel Master , dvr+

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off