Channel Master DVR+ Owners Thread - Page 182 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 240Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #5431 of 5440 Old Yesterday, 02:04 PM
Newbie
 
Interactive Bob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Kokomo, Indiana (no, the Beach Boys have no idea about this Kokomo...)
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by OTA_jay View Post
Ooops!......no new update version available!
(As of 7:00 PM EST)
It's Halloween.....not April Fools Day!
Agree, I haven't seen it yet. Interesting, since she left me on hold as she went down to the developers and returned with the news and such a specific time. I have worked with dev long enough to know it doesn't take much of a show-stopper to postpone an update release. Historically, I would rather them catch the bug now instead of after thousands of users have stumbled over it.
Interactive Bob is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5432 of 5440 Old Yesterday, 02:32 PM
Member
 
OTA_jay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Interactive Bob View Post
Agree, I haven't seen it yet. Interesting, since she left me on hold as she went down to the developers and returned with the news and such a specific time. I have worked with dev long enough to know it doesn't take much of a show-stopper to postpone an update release. Historically, I would rather them catch the bug now instead of after thousands of users have stumbled over it.
This is cause for concern (in general) since, based upon what you experienced, they seem to be quite disorganized!
Why would they allow the rep to give you such specific information if they were uncertain about the release?
OTA_jay is offline  
post #5433 of 5440 Old Yesterday, 02:45 PM
Member
 
OTA_jay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbuchana View Post
Are you sure about that?

WNYW (if that is your local station) is shown as 720p on RabbitEars.Info.

http://www.rabbitears.info/search.ph...ch&network=FOX
You are correct!......
I was basing this on the situation when the conversion originally occurred.
At that time, all of the VHF based channels were 720p. All of the UHF based channels were 1080i.
Obviously, changes occurred in the interim.
I actually just checked this on a TV with a direct antenna connection.
ABC, FOX and it's sister channel, "My 9" are currently the 720p (network based) channels in my area.
This wasn't the case originally.
I edited my post accordingly.....Thanks!

Last edited by OTA_jay; Yesterday at 04:55 PM.
OTA_jay is offline  
post #5434 of 5440 Old Yesterday, 03:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JoeKustra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ashland, PA 17921
Posts: 6,617
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 97
Like all other ABC O&O stations, WABC is also 720p.

Last edited by JoeKustra; Yesterday at 03:37 PM.
JoeKustra is online now  
post #5435 of 5440 Old Yesterday, 03:55 PM
Member
 
OTA_jay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeKustra View Post
Like all other ABC O&O stations, WABC is also 720p.
True......Thanks!
I neglected to include ABC.
I edited my post accordingly.

Last edited by OTA_jay; Yesterday at 04:54 PM.
OTA_jay is offline  
post #5436 of 5440 Old Yesterday, 05:09 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Kelson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Delaware - The First State (USA)
Posts: 10,311
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 434 Post(s)
Liked: 412
Quote:
Originally Posted by Interactive Bob View Post
Interesting, since she left me on hold as she went down to the developers and returned with the news and such a specific time.
I agree, that is quite interesting since the developers are in the UK.

- kelson h

The bitterness of poor quality lasts long after the sweetness of the low price is forgotten . . . life is too short to drink bad wine

Kelson is offline  
post #5437 of 5440 Old Yesterday, 06:22 PM
Member
 
OTA_jay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 11
More fun and excitement with the DVR+!......
Unit was turned off in the AM.
Returned home hours later to find blue light had turned bright by itself.
First, I powered on the TV to see what was on the screen. Screen was blank!
Attempted to power DVR+ off and on several times (blue light would switch from standby to powered on indications). No change!
Tried "soft" reboot. Nothing! Tried "hard" reboot (removing power). Nothing!
At this point there were no channels and the inability to change channels. Recordings were previously set for tonight. Wasn't making the recordings!
Was able to access the guide but no program information appeared, just list of channels.
Still nothing on screen! Totally blank!
Was able to access menu (fortunately). Showed "unable to get Rovi time". It was as if the unit had reset itself and then wasn't producing any video or access to channels (in addition to the guide being wiped out)!
I was left with only one choice.
Had to do a full factory reset (with fingers and toes crossed!).
Back to normal after that (and having to re-adjust settings and activate wi-fi).
Makes me very nervous and insecure about this unit!!
Is this a Halloween curse?😱
Seriously......what the heck was this?
Any clues? Has anyone had this crazy experience?......What's next?!😡

Last edited by OTA_jay; Today at 01:38 AM.
OTA_jay is offline  
post #5438 of 5440 Old Yesterday, 09:11 PM
Member
 
OTA_jay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kelson View Post
I agree, that is quite interesting since the developers are in the UK.
Question is.....did she specifically say
"developers" or was that just an assumption? Was the call re-directed to the UK in error?
"She went down to the developers"?
......are they being held captive in a dungeon until they fix all of the bugs?😳

Last edited by OTA_jay; Today at 01:36 AM.
OTA_jay is offline  
post #5439 of 5440 Old Today, 04:10 AM
Advanced Member
 
SEMIJim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: S.E. Michgan
Posts: 595
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 65 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kelson View Post
Distressing. Please check to see if it is repeatable. When you test, use a combination of CBS and NBC and the CW as these channels broadcast their HD at the highest bitrates (15-17Mbps) and will provide the most stress on the ability of the HDD and the USB interface to handle the simultaneous HD streams.
I will try to do the same, but, for now, I will say this: I exercised our unit extensively w/in the initial 30 days of ownership. One thing I know I certainly did was have two shows recording while watching a recorded show. I'm nearly as certain we paused and/or "rewound" and/or forwarded/skipped, while watching.

I recall being pleasantly (somewhat) surprised when the DVR+ handled it all with aplomb. We were coming from a series of Panasonic DVD recorders that, quite honestly, would screw up, badly, if you so much as thought about doing something so outrageous as to actually use their capabilities in other than the least challenging ways.

Ever since the 111R update we're seeing occasional glitches.

Maybe just coincidence.

ETA: Ok, we did close to what I thought we did: Channel Master DVR+ Owners Thread

Jim

Last edited by SEMIJim; Today at 04:14 AM.
SEMIJim is online now  
post #5440 of 5440 Old Today, 04:20 AM
Advanced Member
 
SEMIJim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: S.E. Michgan
Posts: 595
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 65 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by OTA_jay View Post
More fun and excitement with the DVR+!......
Unit was turned off in the AM.
Returned home hours later to find ...
*ick*

That's the kind of crap our Panasonic DVD recorders would pull all the time, but they at least would recover with a cold boot and not lose everything.

Jim
SEMIJim is online now  
Reply HDTV Recorders

Tags
Channel Master , dvr+

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off