Channel Master DVR+ Owners Thread - Page 190 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 331Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #5671 of 5828 Old 11-17-2014, 12:25 PM
Senior Member
 
midas89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 218
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kelson View Post
A DVR live TV buffer is generally a circular buffer of fixed file size where the oldest material is written over with the newest material. Changing the channel doesn't necessarily delete the buffer file but simply zeros the pointers so that the previously buffered material, while still in the buffer file, is no longer accessible -- like deleting a file on your PC. It should not grow in size past its original allocation. If the live buffer in the DVR+ is really leaking and growing uncontrollably, that is a serious issue. It is also something that would be noticed on a larger scale and more widely reported before now.
Kelson, thanks for the reply. Incidentally, I have a 2.5" SSD connected using a SATA to USB adapter. Said adapter has a wonderful indicator light that flashes to indicate when data is either being recorded on the drive, or deleted from the drive.

When I let the same channel stay on...and then either change the channel or put the DVR+ in standby, that indicator light flashes rapidly, letting me know the buffer data is being deleted. (I realize you might prefer I not use the word "deleted.")

The length of time the light flashes is absolutely tied to how long I have left the DVR+ on the same station, and thus all that buffer data recorded, of course. (I just wish they'd program the DVR+ to "delete" the buffer data past the 2-hour mark, and not allow the buffer file to just keep growing and growing.)
SirCrow likes this.
midas89 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5672 of 5828 Old 11-17-2014, 12:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
P Smith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Mediterranean Sea
Posts: 2,045
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 77 Post(s)
Liked: 134
the issue should be taken into research, but not speculations ... guessing about live buffer, erasing it, etc
P Smith is offline  
post #5673 of 5828 Old 11-17-2014, 01:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JHBrandt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S. Garland, TX
Posts: 1,936
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 211 Post(s)
Liked: 200
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kelson View Post
A DVR live TV buffer is generally a circular buffer of fixed file size where the oldest material is written over with the newest material. Changing the channel doesn't necessarily delete the buffer file but simply zeros the pointers so that the previously buffered material, while still in the buffer file, is no longer accessible -- like deleting a file on your PC. It should not grow in size past its original allocation. If the live buffer in the DVR+ is really leaking and growing uncontrollably, that is a serious issue. It is also something that would be noticed on a larger scale and more widely reported before now.
That's how the iView, Homeworx, etc. do it: you specify a buffer size (say, 4GB) and when you start buffering* it creates a file of that size and starts writing to it, wrapping back to the start if it hits the end. The amount of time you can go back depends on the buffer size and the channel's bit rate; for a 4GB buffer it could range from about 30 minutes for HD up to 2 hours for SD.

Indeed, whatever issue is causing the DVR+ to fill up HDDs must be rare; only two folks have reported it so far. (I haven't seen it, but it may be specific to 111R.) The live buffer seems like a reasonable suspect, but it could be something else, such as a runaway recording. (I had a runaway recording on a DTVPal once.)

*The iView, etc. only buffer on demand, not all the time like the DVR+ and others.
JHBrandt is offline  
post #5674 of 5828 Old 11-17-2014, 08:01 PM
Member
 
MKS13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 139
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by P Smith View Post
the issue should be taken into research, but not speculations ... guessing about live buffer, erasing it, etc
How many others have seen this problem??
MKS13 is online now  
post #5675 of 5828 Old 11-18-2014, 07:49 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Kelson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Delaware - The First State (USA)
Posts: 10,402
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 478 Post(s)
Liked: 428
Quote:
Originally Posted by MKS13 View Post
How many others have seen this problem??
Just above.
Quote:
Originally Posted by JHBrandt View Post
Indeed, whatever issue is causing the DVR+ to fill up HDDs must be rare; only two folks have reported it so far.

- kelson h

The bitterness of poor quality lasts long after the sweetness of the low price is forgotten . . . life is too short to drink bad wine

Kelson is offline  
post #5676 of 5828 Old 11-18-2014, 08:49 AM
Member
 
blakepro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Had an issue last night.

Power light bright blue, nothing on screen. Unresponsive to remote commands. Couldn't toggle power off or on. Had to force a reboot by holding the power button. After rebooting it resumed normal operation. Although it missed all the scheduled recordings that were supposed to occur during the time that it was unresponsive.

Anyone have this happen before? Not sure what caused it.
blakepro is offline  
post #5677 of 5828 Old 11-18-2014, 08:59 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Kelson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Delaware - The First State (USA)
Posts: 10,402
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 478 Post(s)
Liked: 428
Quote:
Originally Posted by blakepro View Post
Had an issue last night.

Power light bright blue, nothing on screen. Unresponsive to remote commands. Couldn't toggle power off or on. Had to force a reboot by holding the power button. After rebooting it resumed normal operation. Although it missed all the scheduled recordings that were supposed to occur during the time that it was unresponsive.

Anyone have this happen before? Not sure what caused it.
When was the last time you rebooted the DVR+ before last night's incident. The DVR+ may be one of those devices that needs a periodic reboot to clear the cobwebs away. All it takes is a memory leak somewhere in the code -- its like spiders in the brain that slowly eat away until an epic fail.

- kelson h

The bitterness of poor quality lasts long after the sweetness of the low price is forgotten . . . life is too short to drink bad wine

Kelson is offline  
post #5678 of 5828 Old 11-18-2014, 10:05 AM
Member
 
blakepro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kelson View Post
When was the last time you rebooted the DVR+ before last night's incident. The DVR+ may be one of those devices that needs a periodic reboot to clear the cobwebs away. All it takes is a memory leak somewhere in the code -- its like spiders in the brain that slowly eat away until an epic fail.
It hasnt been rebooted in several weeks. It does do its auto powersave mode, but I never force a reboot unless I have a problem. It would be nice if the system would look at your scheduled recordings and automatically reboot in the middle of the night once a week when there isnt a conflict or something.
blakepro is offline  
post #5679 of 5828 Old 11-18-2014, 10:08 AM
Member
 
Arenal04's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kelson View Post
When was the last time you rebooted the DVR+ before last night's incident. The DVR+ may be one of those devices that needs a periodic reboot to clear the cobwebs away. All it takes is a memory leak somewhere in the code -- its like spiders in the brain that slowly eat away until an epic fail.
I didn't have the "coma" scenario that blakepro had, but I did have a problem recently where the time would fall behind by 1-2 minutes, then randomly jump ahead to the correct time, then fall behind again. A reboot cured the problem. As Kelson noted, it seems as though the DVR+ needs a periodic reboot. Like pretty much any computer...
Arenal04 is online now  
post #5680 of 5828 Old 11-18-2014, 10:11 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Kelson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Delaware - The First State (USA)
Posts: 10,402
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 478 Post(s)
Liked: 428
Quote:
Originally Posted by blakepro View Post
It hasnt been rebooted in several weeks. It does do its auto powersave mode, but I never force a reboot unless I have a problem. It would be nice if the system would look at your scheduled recordings and automatically reboot in the middle of the night once a week when there isnt a conflict or something.
If you have been relatively trouble-free to this point, I wouldn't worry about it and chalk it up to one of those random glitches. If you have been having your share of problems requiring a reboot, you might consider starting something like a Saturday night reboot and seeing if that smooths the waters for you.

- kelson h

The bitterness of poor quality lasts long after the sweetness of the low price is forgotten . . . life is too short to drink bad wine

Kelson is offline  
post #5681 of 5828 Old 11-18-2014, 10:27 AM
Member
 
blakepro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kelson View Post
If you have been relatively trouble-free to this point, I wouldn't worry about it and chalk it up to one of those random glitches. If you have been having your share of problems requiring a reboot, you might consider starting something like a Saturday night reboot and seeing if that smooths the waters for you.
Overall, I've been problem free. My recordings all happen when they should, the guide data is great, its fairly responsive most of the time and I'm quite happy with it. The only issue I have is the low volume thing that happened with the last update and I really want the "only record new episodes" update.

I did have a weird glitch for a while where live TV would have no sound and I would have to skip back 10 seconds into the buffer to restore sound. That only would happen on one channel and I never figured out why it happens. I'm not sure if it is still happening because 99.9% of what I watch is time shifted and everything works flawlessly that way.
blakepro is offline  
post #5682 of 5828 Old 11-18-2014, 11:36 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Kelson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Delaware - The First State (USA)
Posts: 10,402
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 478 Post(s)
Liked: 428
Quote:
Originally Posted by blakepro View Post
Overall, I've been problem free. My recordings all happen when they should, the guide data is great, its fairly responsive most of the time and I'm quite happy with it.
It is perplexing as to why some people have virtually no issues and others are ready to fall off the edge.

- kelson h

The bitterness of poor quality lasts long after the sweetness of the low price is forgotten . . . life is too short to drink bad wine

Kelson is offline  
post #5683 of 5828 Old 11-18-2014, 11:40 AM
Member
 
agb2529's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 192
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by blakepro View Post
Had an issue last night.

Power light bright blue, nothing on screen. Unresponsive to remote commands. Couldn't toggle power off or on. Had to force a reboot by holding the power button. After rebooting it resumed normal operation. Although it missed all the scheduled recordings that were supposed to occur during the time that it was unresponsive.

Anyone have this happen before? Not sure what caused it.
Had the exact same thing happen to me in April after having the unit for about 6 weeks. CM tech support said that it was a glitch in the auto powersave option, told me to turn it off. Did so and the unit has been working perfectly ever since, hasn't locked or missed a single recording.
agb2529 is offline  
post #5684 of 5828 Old 11-18-2014, 12:23 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 63 Post(s)
Liked: 7
No FW by Nov. 15th

Quote:
Originally Posted by OTA_jay View Post
Speaking of not holding our breath.....
where's that update/revision/bug fix that was promised by November 15th?
Just as a reminder.....it's been two months since 111R was released! 😠
They meant Nov. 15th....2015.

[Signature not found -- or just not clever enough.]
SirCrow is offline  
post #5685 of 5828 Old 11-18-2014, 12:27 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 63 Post(s)
Liked: 7
Skip back to restore sound

Quote:
Originally Posted by blakepro View Post
I did have a weird glitch for a while where live TV would have no sound and I would have to skip back 10 seconds into the buffer to restore sound.
Pretty sure that's happened to me, too.

[Signature not found -- or just not clever enough.]
SirCrow is offline  
post #5686 of 5828 Old 11-18-2014, 12:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JHBrandt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S. Garland, TX
Posts: 1,936
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 211 Post(s)
Liked: 200
Quote:
Originally Posted by blakepro View Post
It hasnt been rebooted in several weeks. It does do its auto powersave mode, but I never force a reboot unless I have a problem. It would be nice if the system would look at your scheduled recordings and automatically reboot in the middle of the night once a week when there isn't a conflict or something.
You could plug its wall-wart into one of those electronic timers and set it to shut off for about 15 minutes once a week at a convenient day & time (say, Sunday @ 4:30 AM)
JHBrandt is offline  
post #5687 of 5828 Old 11-18-2014, 12:42 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 63 Post(s)
Liked: 7
Question What does Reminder do when DVR is OFF?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kelson View Post
A DVR live TV buffer is generally a circular buffer of fixed file size where the oldest material is written over with the newest material. Changing the channel doesn't necessarily delete the buffer file but simply zeros the pointers so that the previously buffered material, while still in the buffer file, is no longer accessible -- like deleting a file on your PC. It should not grow in size past its original allocation. If the live buffer in the DVR+ is really leaking and growing uncontrollably, that is a serious issue. It is also something that would be noticed on a larger scale and more widely reported before now.
I forgot to test this, but what happens if you set a reminder and then turn off the DVR so that it's off when that program's about to start?

[Signature not found -- or just not clever enough.]
SirCrow is offline  
post #5688 of 5828 Old 11-18-2014, 12:57 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 63 Post(s)
Liked: 7
Lightbulb User Want, User Get

Here's an insane idea: Manufacturers, give us a DVR where we, the users, can design or re-design the firmware (preferably without having to know coding)! CM, if you want to give the world the next truly revolutionary DVR, that would be my suggestion. TiVo wouldn't stand a chance.

Seriously, if I were to design the UI and feature set of a DVR from the ground up, I would get right soooo many of the things that these makers are getting sooooo wrong. I'll take a deep breath and wait for that product go come out. Wise?

[Signature not found -- or just not clever enough.]
SirCrow is offline  
post #5689 of 5828 Old 11-18-2014, 12:57 PM
Thread Ender
 
WS65711's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Covington, LA OTA & Charter CableCard
Posts: 4,175
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 91 Post(s)
Liked: 73
Quote:
Originally Posted by JHBrandt View Post
You could plug its wall-wart into one of those electronic timers and set it to shut off for about 15 minutes once a week at a convenient day & time (say, Sunday @ 4:30 AM)
Maybe.... Often those electronic timers don't like an inductive load. Might need to use a mechanical timer . . .

Don't ever make the MISTAKE of buying a Samsung TV..
They consider THIS
normal on a two month old set..
WS65711 is offline  
post #5690 of 5828 Old 11-18-2014, 01:33 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 63 Post(s)
Liked: 7
Blue Light & Foolish Buffer

Quote:
Originally Posted by JHBrandt View Post
That should be easy to check. If you haven't touched the remote, the DVR+ LED should return to dim blue after whatever time-out you set. (You can choose 4, 5, or 6 hours, or disabled, in Settings / Power Options.)

I was extrapolating from the user whose 128GB HDD filled up after several hours. Yours is 8x the capacity of his, but it started out half full, so it could have filled up in roughly 4x the time.

But only if it stayed on the entire time, I would think. Since it's safe to assume you slept at least once while the disk was filling up, it should have shut itself off overnight, and that should have kept it from filling up.
...
But I also consider it a bug for the buffer to fill up any reasonably-sized HDD, no matter how long the DVR+ stays on. The buffer function should switch to a new file every 2 hours, and delete all but the current and previous file...
Thanks for all that. As for the blue light, I really can't tell what it's doing, as I have the DVR+ turned around in its cabinet to avoid an even-worse tangly-cable situation. It's too easy to unplug something accidentally while turning things around; plus, it's easier to gain access to the unit's rear this way. So, that's my crazy situation. How's yours?

[Signature not found -- or just not clever enough.]
SirCrow is offline  
post #5691 of 5828 Old 11-18-2014, 01:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Aleron Ives's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 2,960
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 399 Post(s)
Liked: 409
Quote:
Originally Posted by SirCrow View Post
Here's an insane idea: Manufacturers, give us a DVR where we, the users, can design or re-design the firmware (preferably without having to know coding)! CM, if you want to give the world the next truly revolutionary DVR, that would be my suggestion.
Unless you're proposing firmware made out of rainbows and unicorns, I'd like to know how this would would work. Programs don't write themselves.
Kelson likes this.
Aleron Ives is offline  
post #5692 of 5828 Old 11-18-2014, 01:53 PM
Thread Ender
 
WS65711's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Covington, LA OTA & Charter CableCard
Posts: 4,175
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 91 Post(s)
Liked: 73
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aleron Ives View Post
Unless you're proposing firmware made out of rainbows and unicorns, I'd like to know how this would would work. Programs don't write themselves.
Oops . . .



Click image for larger version

Name:	10386381_1105900806106038_4180834630038371264_n.jpg
Views:	265
Size:	40.8 KB
ID:	372898
Kelson and Aleron Ives like this.

Don't ever make the MISTAKE of buying a Samsung TV..
They consider THIS
normal on a two month old set..
WS65711 is offline  
post #5693 of 5828 Old 11-18-2014, 02:13 PM
Member
 
blakepro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by WS65711 View Post
Maybe.... Often those electronic timers don't like an inductive load. Might need to use a mechanical timer . . .
This is an interesting idea, but I'm weary of disrupting power to memory devices that may be in use. I've had too many issues with corrupted data in the past to trust this method.
blakepro is offline  
post #5694 of 5828 Old 11-18-2014, 02:28 PM
Member
 
OTA_jay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 171
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 93 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikesul View Post
So why would I want additional DVR+ units where I would have to program all the same recurring recording options ? As opposed to accessing a main unit. Quite stupid, I believe.
I never suggested that you personally should purchase additional units. You asked how others were handling this problem. I answered that perhaps they were investing in additional units.
One unit, multiple rooms
......but still only two tuners.
Not that exciting!
OTA_jay is online now  
post #5695 of 5828 Old 11-18-2014, 02:34 PM
Member
 
OTA_jay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 171
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 93 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kelson View Post
I'm sure the update will provide for more new streaming channels. That should take peoples minds off these annoyances.
Now that's a good example of sarcasm! 😊
OTA_jay is online now  
post #5696 of 5828 Old 11-18-2014, 02:51 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kelson View Post
It is perplexing as to why some people have virtually no issues and others are ready to fall off the edge.
I rarely have issues. At least not ones that are worth noting.

Some channels are louder than others, but that has to do with the channels themselves.

It is occasionally choppy sounding when I am playing something while recording two other things, but turning it off and back on usually solves that. It seems the worst when it switching recordings (recording 2 things on 2 channels and then switching to record 2 other things on 2 other channels at the same time).

I rarely watch live TV. The reason I got this was to record shows and watch them later. isn't that the point of this? Even something like a football game gets started late. I hate wasting time on commercials.
MaxWasatch is offline  
post #5697 of 5828 Old 11-18-2014, 03:00 PM
Member
 
OTA_jay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 171
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 93 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by SirCrow View Post
I'm uncomfortable calling strangers by phone, but if you think it might actually make a difference...
It tends to be more effective than sending e-mail and (if by some chance) you get to speak with someone who's actually knowledgeable (this does happen on occasion), you may be able to answer additional questions, which may add some clarity to the situation (and less potential assumptions on their part).
OTA_jay is online now  
post #5698 of 5828 Old 11-18-2014, 03:06 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 63 Post(s)
Liked: 7
"You want the impossible!"

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aleron Ives View Post
Unless you're proposing firmware made out of rainbows and unicorns, I'd like to know how this would would work. Programs don't write themselves.
What? They don't write themselves? Darn! I feel so foolish for not calling it...oh, I don't know, and insane idea or something like that!
True, it would be a huge undertaking for CM, or any DVR designer, but the resulting product would surely look very attractive to the consumer.

As for software writing itself, haven't you heard of those things where the not-so-experienced user can just click on things and, for example, drag-and-drop features they want? The basic code is already there, and it's designed in a way that allows that sort of assembly into a functional whole. Crazy, man! That's how I did HTML way back in the early days. And BASIC, the only programming language in which I was fluent, is a high-level language that's a good example of the same principle.

Software that "writes itself". Is that any more insane than a car that drives itself without killing.....unicorns? What century is this again? Me go now. Hello.

[Signature not found -- or just not clever enough.]
SirCrow is offline  
post #5699 of 5828 Old 11-18-2014, 03:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JHBrandt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S. Garland, TX
Posts: 1,936
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 211 Post(s)
Liked: 200
Quote:
Originally Posted by SirCrow View Post
Here's an insane idea: Manufacturers, give us a DVR where we, the users, can design or re-design the firmware (preferably without having to know coding)! CM, if you want to give the world the next truly revolutionary DVR, that would be my suggestion. TiVo wouldn't stand a chance.

Seriously, if I were to design the UI and feature set of a DVR from the ground up, I would get right soooo many of the things that these makers are getting sooooo wrong. I'll take a deep breath and wait for that product go come out. Wise?
I don't know how anyone could re-design a UI or add features without knowing at least some coding. But if you set aside that requirement, it's possible. Basically it sounds like a DVR with open-source firmware.

Such a thing already exists for PCs (MythTV for Linux, MediaPortal for Windows), and there are even folks who build and sell PCs specifically to run DVR software. But none of the "big PC guns" like Apple or Microsoft (or "big TV guns" like CM) has yet tried anything like this.

But many DVRs are already built on a Linux kernel; so why couldn't one of them just come with a cheap DVD drive, and a DVD with MythTV on it? Heck, if it had an internal HDD or flash drive, MythTV could even be pre-installed. Either way, the user could upgrade to new MythTV releases as they came out, and if they didn't like the upgrade, just reinstall the previous version. Heck, if they could code, they could change it any way they wanted. It's open source, after all.

(Not intending to favor MythTV here; just using it as an example.)
pachinko likes this.
JHBrandt is offline  
post #5700 of 5828 Old 11-18-2014, 03:17 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 63 Post(s)
Liked: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by MaxWasatch View Post
... I hate wasting time on commercials.
Then you, sir, are in the minority. I was merely kidding about that last part.

[Signature not found -- or just not clever enough.]
SirCrow is offline  
Reply HDTV Recorders

Tags
Channel Master , dvr+ , maintanance restart

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off