Channel Master DVR+ Owners Thread - Page 221 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 595Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #6601 of 6605 Old Today, 04:42 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 6
Speculation.....

CM releases an adapter that streams to other DVR+ via a new channel added to the guide.

I read back in the Summer they were working a streaming adapter.
The new channel can connect to the adapter and stream content from the disk.

That is my guess.
Egbert Souse' is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #6602 of 6605 Old Today, 05:07 PM
Senior Member
 
RIppolito's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 210
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by SEMIJim View Post
Nope.

TV is a 42" Samsung LCD, of fairly recent vintage. Just doubled-checked with my wife. She hasn't noticed any difference, either. She had noticed the difference with Aereo, via our Roku 3, even with Aereo set to "max quality."

Jim
My unit always powers on in 720p, regardless of the resolution selection. If I manually select 1080i,it handshakes with my preamp, and afterwards, it does 1080. Perhaps you could try that and see if it helps.
Ron
RIppolito is offline  
post #6603 of 6605 Old Today, 07:01 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tinkerdog View Post
... At least once a week, I have to unplug the DVR+ to allow it to reset. I do this because the DVR+ stops responding to the remote. You can press any button on the remote, and it does nothing with the DVR+. So, unplug the DVR+, plug it back up and once it resets, you are good to go.

Does anyone else have this problem?
I have that problem as well. And I don't think resetting the DVR+ is the complete answer. I found that the remote goes unresponsive fairly quickly after a reset so I searched for a different route.

Others have felt that replacing the batteries is the answer and I wonder how long the new batteries will last before the remote starts acting up again.

What I have found so far is an "ugly" solution. Someone back in post 5000 or so suggested bending the contacts under the batteries. Instead of doing that, I put a thin cardboard shim between the batteries and the removable access door. Now, when the remote becomes unresponsive, I squeeze the spot where the shim is and the remote starts working again. Until someone comes up with a better answer (or finds fresh batteries will last longer than a few months), I'll stay with this one.

And btw, bernieoc clued me in on a better way to reset the unit than pulling the power cord. Hold down the button that's just to the right of the LED for about 10 seconds and the DVR+ goes through a reset.
owburp is online now  
post #6604 of 6605 Old Today, 10:26 PM
Member
 
MKS13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 158
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by owburp View Post
I have that problem as well. And I don't think resetting the DVR+ is the complete answer. I found that the remote goes unresponsive fairly quickly after a reset so I searched for a different route.
Others have felt that replacing the batteries is the answer and I wonder how long the new batteries will last before the remote starts acting up again.
What I have found so far is an "ugly" solution. Someone back in post 5000 or so suggested bending the contacts under the batteries. Instead of doing that, I put a thin cardboard shim between the batteries and the removable access door. Now, when the remote becomes unresponsive, I squeeze the spot where the shim is and the remote starts working again. Until someone comes up with a better answer (or finds fresh batteries will last longer than a few months), I'll stay with this one.
If putting a shim in the remote fixes the problem, it would indicate that the batteries are not weak.
I just replaced the batteries in a unit that was purchased Feb 2014, because of remote response. However I also tweaked the springs under the batteries at the same time, so what cured the remote response I don't really know-- not a good trouble shooting procedure, it should be one thing at a time, but it was the safer route as it was my wife's unit.
As to battery cost, they can be found on Amazon for $.50 each or your local Dollar General for the same price.
MKS13 is online now  
post #6605 of 6605 Old Today, 11:52 PM
Senior Member
 
OTA_jay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 279
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 164 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by owburp View Post
Others have felt that replacing the batteries is the answer and I wonder how long the new batteries will last before the remote starts acting up again.

What I have found so far is an "ugly" solution. Someone back in post 5000 or so suggested bending the contacts under the batteries. Instead of doing that, I put a thin cardboard shim between the batteries and the removable access door. Now, when the remote becomes unresponsive, I squeeze the spot where the shim is and the remote starts working again. Until someone comes up with a better answer (or finds fresh batteries will last longer than a few months), I'll stay with this one.
Firstly, if you're relying upon the OEM batteries that came with the unit, it's best not to assume that replacing them won't help. The age and quality of the batteries provided are questionable
(as would be $.50 dollar store type batteries, as was someone's suggestion). Best to replace the OEM batteries with a fresh set of Duracell's.
At least this way you'll know for sure whether or not the batteries are the source of the problem.

Secondly, instead of using "shims" and bending (and possibly breaking) contacts, why not consider asking Channel Master to replace the remote under warranty?
Since you can't be left without the use of a remote, the only solution would be for them to mail one out and have you send back the original one when you receive it (even if they have to debit and then credit back your credit card).
Anything less than this would be poor customer relations on their part!
The design (using button batteries) and build quality if these remotes seems to be questionable at best (based upon numerous reports here of problematic remotes).
OTA_jay is online now  
Reply HDTV Recorders

Tags
Channel Master , dvr+ , maintanance restart

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off