Channel Master DVR+ Owners Thread - Page 232 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!



Forum Jump: 
 2800Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #6931 of 12412 Old 01-07-2015, 08:02 AM
Member
 
blakepro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 114
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 93 Post(s)
Liked: 69
Some people have been asking CM questions on their facebook post on Linear Channels.

A few you might be interested in:

Q: When will this be available?
A: We are shooting for March

Q: Will existing customers get this feature with software update?
A: Yep!

Q: Will LinearTV be available on DVR+ in Canada?
A: Yes, that's the plan!

Q: When I'm watching LinearTV, can I still stop, pause, rewind, fast forward , and record?
A: Not as yet, but we're going to try!

Q: Does it cost anything extra to access those linear channels?
A: Nope! Not unless it was a subscription-based service, such as HBO. Not saying we'll have HBO channels when they go direct to consumer later this year, but wouldn't that be cool?

Q: That would be cool. Any plans for Plex, Netflix, or Hulu?
A: Yes, yes and not sure on Hulu. They view us as a competitor because they offer the same content that you get from an antenna. But we'll certainly try!
blakepro is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #6932 of 12412 Old 01-07-2015, 08:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
P Smith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Mediterranean Sea
Posts: 2,722
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 416 Post(s)
Liked: 255
Quote:
Originally Posted by OTA_jay View Post
The DVR+ isn't truly a "Dish" product.
The design and/or engineering of it is one thing and it's "behind the scenes".
The marketing and distribution is quite another.
It's actually a Channel Master product.
At least at it's inception, the "SlingTV" service will likely remain a "Sling" product.
......time will tell.
Je-je-je ... as it was CM7000pal-dvr and CM7400 !
P Smith is offline  
post #6933 of 12412 Old 01-07-2015, 09:01 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JHBrandt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S. Garland, TX
Posts: 3,617
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1090 Post(s)
Liked: 599
Quote:
Originally Posted by LenL View Post
DVR+ copy to MP3 question.


I recently recorded a show where there was a song performed (Lee Ann Rimes singing a Billy Joel song) that I would like to put to MP3 to save. I am not interested in the video. I was thinking this over and I guess there may be a few ways to do this. The one that first came to mind was I could spin it up to the song being performed on the DVR+ and then hook my laptop up to the headphone out jack of my audio system and then have my laptop record the audio as the DVR+ is playing. Not sure what format my laptop would save it as but I would deal with that later.


It seems to me there might be better ways and was looking for suggestions from the experts here.
I'd probably try AVIDemux. I think it has an MP3 audio output option. Just cut out everything but the song.

Note: if AVIDemux chokes on the DVR+'s STRMxxxx.ts file, you may need to fix it first with, e.g., ffmpeg:
C:\> ffmpeg -i STRMxxxx.ts -acodec copy -vcodec copy STRMxxxx-fixed.ts

If you can't get AVIDemux to output just MP3 audio, save the clip to another video file (say, song.avi) and use ffmpeg to convert the audio:
C:\> ffmpeg -i song.avi song.mp3

Ffmpeg should be smart enough to drop the video and re-encode the audio based on the .mp3 file extension.

Technically ffmpeg can do the whole job itself, but you'd have to specify the exact start time and length of the song. It's a lot easier to use a video editor like AVIDemux to do the editing part.
JHBrandt is offline  
post #6934 of 12412 Old 01-07-2015, 09:14 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Kelson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Delaware - The First State (USA)
Posts: 12,544
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1816 Post(s)
Liked: 1059
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aero 1 View Post
Ive never seen such a highly regarded "science" forum of experts over think everything and anything
Like I said. I'm sure there are other ways.

- kelson h

The bitterness of poor quality lasts long after the sweetness of the low price is forgotten . . . life is too short to drink bad wine

Kelson is offline  
post #6935 of 12412 Old 01-07-2015, 09:17 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Charles R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 11,796
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 418
A few thoughts...

  • Anyone remember Google TV (2010) and the networks blocking their content from viewing on such?
  • No way these channels will offer their entire line-up and schedule.

Which means you'll end up with content you wouldn't watch or will run through it within a few days. For free you'll get teasers or older worthless content. If it had any value someone would be paying for it.

From what I understand it sounds very similar to the XBMC/Kodi Add-on Free Cable. It scans the Internet and indexes free (legal) content for a variety of sites and organizes it per cable channel. It indexed the following if not more... you simply pick a network, show and it lists what's available. Its kind of fun to play with and you'll find some content you'll enjoy. Although mostly you'll find what you are actually looking for (the show you like to watch on that network ) isn't available. However it does provide a week or two of viewing. After that you have been there, done that and it's the same content the next time you check.

  • ABC (partially)
  • ABCfamily (partially)
  • ABCnews
  • A&E
  • [adult swim]
  • AMC
  • Bravo
  • The Biography Channel
  • CBS (Proxy, DNS)
  • The CW
  • Comedy Central
  • Crackle
  • Disney (restricted)
  • DisneyJr. (restricted)
  • DisneyXD (restricted)
  • Food Network (VPN)
  • FOX
  • FX
  • Game Show Network
  • History (DNS)
  • The Hub
  • HGTV (VPN)
  • Lifetime (VPN)
  • MTV (partially)
  • Marvel Kids
  • National Geopgrahic
  • Nat Geo Wild
  • NBC
  • Nick
  • Nick Teen
  • Nick Toons
  • Nickelodeon
  • Oxygen
  • PBS
  • PBSkids
  • Spike
  • Syfy
  • TBS (partially)
  • TNT
  • TV Land
  • USA
  • VH1
  • WB
  • WB Kids

| Mitsubishi HC7900DW Projector | 16x9 120" Screen | 7.2.4 Boston Acoustics & Power Sound Audio | Yamaha RX-A3060 (on order) & AudioSource AMP110 | NVIDIA Shield | 20TB Media Server | TiVo
Charles R is offline  
post #6936 of 12412 Old 01-07-2015, 09:43 AM
Thread Ender
 
WS65711's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Covington, LA OTA & Charter CableCard
Posts: 4,971
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 478 Post(s)
Liked: 320
Quote:
Originally Posted by Charles R View Post
A few thoughts...

.... mostly you'll find what you are actually looking for (the show you like to watch on that network ) isn't available. However it does provide a week or two of viewing . . .
This is kind of what I thought of when someone earlier mentioned seeing "Animal Planet" on the screen capture in the Channel Master press release...

Kinda like when you're sometimes searching for something on the internet (a pdf manual for really old equipment or whatever) and you stumble onto web pages and links leading you to believe you've found it.. only to discover shortly after that it was all a mirage . . .

To anyone interested in a Google Chromebox or Chromebook..
Be aware that these boxes run a variant of Linux and DO NOT support HDCP!!!
This means no support for HD on most streaming services. I wish I would have known this beforehand....

Blu-rays & DVD's

Last edited by WS65711; 01-07-2015 at 09:51 AM.
WS65711 is offline  
post #6937 of 12412 Old 01-07-2015, 09:54 AM
Senior Member
 
OTA_jay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 451
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 256 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by OTA_jay
The DVR+ isn't truly a "Dish" product.
The design and/or engineering of it is one thing and it's "behind the scenes".
The marketing and distribution is quite another.
It's actually a Channel Master product.
At least at it's inception, the "SlingTV" service will likely remain a "Sling" product.
......time will tell.

Quote:
Originally Posted by P Smith View Post
Je-je-je ... as it was CM7000pal-dvr and CM7400 !
Again.....for marketing and distribution purposes, it's a Channel Master product.
OTA_jay is offline  
post #6938 of 12412 Old 01-07-2015, 09:56 AM
Advanced Member
 
eganov's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 658
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Why wouldn't CM just develop a Roku app that would incorporate all the LinearTV streams to extend their brand - just like the DVR+ but without the OTA and DVR functionality? For that matter, why not develop an HDMI stick that did the same thing as the DVR+ (use the existing OTA on the TV)?

Last edited by eganov; 01-07-2015 at 10:04 AM.
eganov is offline  
post #6939 of 12412 Old 01-07-2015, 09:57 AM
Senior Member
 
OTA_jay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 451
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 256 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by WS65711 View Post
This is kind of what I thought of when someone earlier mentioned seeing "Animal Planet" on the screen capture in the Channel Master press release...

Kinda like when you're sometimes searching for something on the internet (a pdf manual for really old equipment or whatever) and you stumble onto web pages and links leading you to believe you've found it.. only to discover shortly after that it was all a mirage . . .
Good point! 😉
OTA_jay is offline  
post #6940 of 12412 Old 01-07-2015, 10:10 AM
Senior Member
 
OTA_jay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 451
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 256 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by eganov View Post
why wouldn't CM just develop a Roku app that would incorporate all the LinearTV streams to extend their brand - just like the DVR+ but without the OTA and DVR functionality?
It wouldn't accomplish their goal (strategy), to integrate these various options directly on the guide as DVR+ "channels" on the unit, which actually makes good sense.
The actual content being offered remains to be seen.
Unfortunately, they've indicated that there may not even be a "pause" option (not to mention "FF" and "REW")! 😳

Last edited by OTA_jay; 01-07-2015 at 10:14 AM.
OTA_jay is offline  
post #6941 of 12412 Old 01-07-2015, 10:18 AM
Senior Member
 
OTA_jay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 451
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 256 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeKustra View Post
Ask Aereo how well that worked out.
They're not answering the phone! 😩
OTA_jay is offline  
post #6942 of 12412 Old 01-07-2015, 10:21 AM
Advanced Member
 
eganov's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 658
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by OTA_jay View Post
It wouldn't accomplish their goal (strategy),
Actually, after I speculated on LTV & DVR+ on other devices, I checked out their CES press kit and they hinted at exactly what I was thinking.

"Do you plan to launchLinearTV technology on additional devices?
Thisis certainly a possibility in future development efforts."

Last edited by eganov; 01-07-2015 at 10:28 AM.
eganov is offline  
post #6943 of 12412 Old 01-07-2015, 10:34 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Kelson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Delaware - The First State (USA)
Posts: 12,544
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1816 Post(s)
Liked: 1059
Quote:
Originally Posted by eganov View Post
Actually, after I speculated on LTV & DVR+ on other devices, I checked out their CES press kit and they hinted at exactly what I was thinking.

"Do you plan to launchLinearTV technology on additional devices?
Thisis certainly a possibility in future development efforts."
That could also be interpreted as meaning the next model of the DVR+.

- kelson h

The bitterness of poor quality lasts long after the sweetness of the low price is forgotten . . . life is too short to drink bad wine

Kelson is offline  
post #6944 of 12412 Old 01-07-2015, 10:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JoeKustra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ashland, PA 17921
Posts: 8,058
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 752 Post(s)
Liked: 304
Quote:
Originally Posted by OTA_jay View Post
They're not answering the phone! 😩
Their story: https://aereo.com/
JoeKustra is offline  
post #6945 of 12412 Old 01-07-2015, 10:46 AM
Advanced Member
 
eganov's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 658
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by OTA_jay View Post
It wouldn't accomplish their goal (strategy)..
Quote:
Originally Posted by eganov View Post
Actually, after I speculated on LTV & DVR+ on other devices, I checked out their CES press kit and they hinted at exactly what I was thinking.

"Do you plan to launchLinearTV technology on additional devices?
Thisis certainly a possibility in future development efforts."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kelson View Post
That could also be interpreted as meaning the next model of the DVR+.

Exactly - as either a Roku app or stick.
eganov is offline  
post #6946 of 12412 Old 01-07-2015, 10:48 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Kelson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Delaware - The First State (USA)
Posts: 12,544
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1816 Post(s)
Liked: 1059
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeKustra View Post
Their story: https://aereo.com/
I love it when people who break the law try to make themselves out as the righteous victims.
Johnla likes this.

- kelson h

The bitterness of poor quality lasts long after the sweetness of the low price is forgotten . . . life is too short to drink bad wine

Kelson is offline  
post #6947 of 12412 Old 01-07-2015, 11:00 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JHBrandt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S. Garland, TX
Posts: 3,617
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1090 Post(s)
Liked: 599
Uh, a Roku app could not perform the DVR+'s core function: recording OTA broadcasts.

But as electronics continues to miniaturize, an HDMI stick could! The DVR+ is already way smaller than most DVRs. Just need to keep shrinking it, and upgrade that 16GB SSD to 128GB or more....
JHBrandt is offline  
post #6948 of 12412 Old 01-07-2015, 11:13 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JHBrandt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S. Garland, TX
Posts: 3,617
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1090 Post(s)
Liked: 599
Quote:
Originally Posted by OTA_jay View Post
Any news regarding the debate as to whether the DVR+ is truly capable of utilizing a 3TB HDD (as advertised)?
Are they still ignoring the requests for clarification?
I realize that this issue has been overshadowed recently but it's still a major concern!
Haven't heard a word. As of 114R, the DVR+ appears limited to 2^41 bytes (about 2.2TB) in the main partition. So if you move from a 2TB HDD to a 3TB HDD, your recording capacity only increases by about 10% instead of the 50% it should increase by.

The next firmware update will probably be in March, to give us the "linear TV" streaming stuff. Hopefully, that 2.2TB limit will be overcome in that update, but I'll repeat myself: I haven't heard a word.
pachinko likes this.
JHBrandt is offline  
post #6949 of 12412 Old 01-07-2015, 11:17 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by JHBrandt View Post
Uh, a Roku app could not perform the DVR+'s core function: recording OTA broadcasts.

But as electronics continues to miniaturize, an HDMI stick could! The DVR+ is already way smaller than most DVRs. Just need to keep shrinking it, and upgrade that 16GB SSD to 128GB or more....
No, an HDMI stick wouldn't work at all.
It would be plugged into the back of the TV and we wouldn't be able to see the LED and we wouldn't know when it is time to reboot and there wouldn't be any point in putting tape over it.
JHBrandt likes this.
Egbert Souse' is offline  
post #6950 of 12412 Old 01-07-2015, 11:22 AM
Member
 
dishrag2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: s.f. bay area, calif
Posts: 79
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by RTK View Post
Has CM made any further comments at CES about plans for integrating DVR+ or new products for whole home solution?
Quote:
Originally Posted by OTA_jay View Post
No......and unlikely.
They're focused like a laser on the integration of additional Internet based channels (aka, "Linear Technology"😉).
"Whole home" is obviously been placed on the "back burner".
They reiterated a few days ago that "whole home" will be available this year.
dishrag2 is offline  
post #6951 of 12412 Old 01-07-2015, 11:27 AM
Thread Ender
 
WS65711's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Covington, LA OTA & Charter CableCard
Posts: 4,971
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 478 Post(s)
Liked: 320
Quote:
Originally Posted by Egbert Souse' View Post
No, an HDMI stick wouldn't work at all.
It would be plugged into the back of the TV and we wouldn't be able to see the LED and we wouldn't know when it is time to reboot and there wouldn't be any point in putting tape over it.
Yeah. All that, plus it would be next to impossible for P Smith to open it up to take pictures and tell us what all of the components are . . .

To anyone interested in a Google Chromebox or Chromebook..
Be aware that these boxes run a variant of Linux and DO NOT support HDCP!!!
This means no support for HD on most streaming services. I wish I would have known this beforehand....

Blu-rays & DVD's
WS65711 is offline  
post #6952 of 12412 Old 01-07-2015, 11:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Aleron Ives's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 4,544
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1472 Post(s)
Liked: 1179
Quote:
Originally Posted by OTA_jay View Post
Any news regarding the debate as to whether the DVR+ is truly capable of utilizing a 3TB HDD (as advertised)?
The debate was already settled. The DVR+ will only allocate 2TB of space on a 3TB drive. The drive is therefore technically "compatible", since you can record to it, but it isn't fully supported, since you can't use all of the space it provides.
Aleron Ives is offline  
post #6953 of 12412 Old 01-07-2015, 11:37 AM
Senior Member
 
OTA_jay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 451
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 256 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by dishrag2 View Post
They reiterated a few days ago that "whole home" will be available this year.
I believe that they made that very same statement in reference to last year!
Seeing is believing at this point!
OTA_jay is offline  
post #6954 of 12412 Old 01-07-2015, 11:43 AM
Senior Member
 
OTA_jay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 451
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 256 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aleron Ives View Post
The debate was already settled. The DVR+ will only allocate 2TB of space on a 3TB drive. The drive is therefore technically "compatible", since you can record to it, but it isn't fully supported, since you can't use all of the space it provides.
Has Channel Master made any actual statements on this matter (especially regarding a "fix" of some sort) -or-
are they simply keeping a low profile (for what would be apparent reasons)?
If there's been no statement (or e-mail replies) regarding this, than it may be safer to assume that they're not making any changes to accommodate the additional HDD space.
Could they simply be ignoring this issue? -or- saving the (supposed) "fix" as a (low key) surprise.....since they're may be a good deal of user's that aren't even aware of it and assume that they're actually getting what they paid for?
I sincerely hope that they resolve this ......since they're still recommending and even selling
3 TB drives!

Last edited by OTA_jay; 01-07-2015 at 12:02 PM.
OTA_jay is offline  
post #6955 of 12412 Old 01-07-2015, 04:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
frank70's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,294
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 92 Post(s)
Liked: 76
Quote:
Originally Posted by OTA_jay View Post
...I sincerely hope that they resolve this ......since they're still recommending and even selling 3 TB drives!
Just so that we have our numbers straight:

For marketing reasons,a so-called "3TB" drive actually provides about 3,000,000,000,000 bytes of storage.
A Terabyte is technically 2^40, so 3 Terabytes = 3,298,534,883,328 bytes.

A so-called "2TB" drive actually provides about 2,000,000,000,000 bytes of storage.
A Terabyte is technically 2^40, so 2 Terabytes = 2,199,023,255,552 bytes.

With a DVR+ in its current state and a "2TB" drive, you get to store about 2,000,000,000,000 bytes.
Very little space on the drive goes unused (incomplete sectors/clusters at the end of files).

With a DVR+ in its current state and a "3TB" drive, you get to store about 2,199,023,255,552 bytes.
800,976,744,448 bytes (about 746GB or 26.7% of the drive capacity) will go unused.

Notice that the 3TB drive still has a 185GB advantage over a 2TB drive, so the 3TB drive isn't exactly "fraudulent", it's just not what it would appear to be (but then again, it never was - see above!)

Is it worth it to CM/Echostar to fix the firmware to utilize the extra 746GB? I would suppose only if a lot of owners complain incessantly; but most aren't even going to notice this.
MKS13 likes this.

Last edited by frank70; 01-07-2015 at 04:48 PM.
frank70 is offline  
post #6956 of 12412 Old 01-07-2015, 05:43 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Kelson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Delaware - The First State (USA)
Posts: 12,544
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1816 Post(s)
Liked: 1059
Quote:
Originally Posted by frank70 View Post
. . . but most aren't even going to notice this.
The truth in that statement can be seen by asking the simple question -- how many ordinary users with 3TB drives on their DVR+ are going to attach to a Linux box or install a Linux driver on their PC to do the same?

Only 1 guy did it here.

- kelson h

The bitterness of poor quality lasts long after the sweetness of the low price is forgotten . . . life is too short to drink bad wine

Kelson is offline  
post #6957 of 12412 Old 01-07-2015, 05:49 PM
Senior Member
 
OTA_jay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 451
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 256 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by frank70 View Post
Is it worth it to CM/Echostar to fix the firmware to utilize the extra 746GB?
Absolutely!!.....
They have an clear obligation to fix this problem!
Perhaps they're not taking this seriously enough (hopefully, I'm wrong about this), since they didn't expect average users to even notice it (as you stated).
However, a 3TB drive should provide an additional 1TB of storage (approx.)!
Yet, they're not actually delivering on this, which could be considered false advertising!
This so-called "compatibility" excuse is truly lame!
When you purchase a light bulb that's supposed to provide a certain degree of light output (lumens), you deserve just that. Any light bulb could be considered "compatible" with a particular type of lamp but if it's too dim, you're not getting what was advertised and what you paid for!
They're recommending and selling a
"3TB" drive, not a "2TB plus a slight bit more" drive. Anyone purchasing a 3TB drive to be used with the DVR+ should expect and accept nothing less than approx. 1TB of additional storage!
They need to be taken to task about this by as many users as possible (unless, of course, they already have a potential secret "fix" in the works).

Last edited by OTA_jay; 01-07-2015 at 06:05 PM.
OTA_jay is offline  
post #6958 of 12412 Old 01-07-2015, 05:50 PM
Senior Member
 
OTA_jay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 451
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 256 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kelson View Post
The truth in that statement can be seen by asking the simple question -- how many ordinary users with 3TB drives on their DVR+ are going to attach to a Linux box or install a Linux driver on their PC to do the same?

Only 1 guy did it here.
True......
but that's not really the point to this argument (see above).

Last edited by OTA_jay; 01-07-2015 at 05:59 PM.
OTA_jay is offline  
post #6959 of 12412 Old 01-07-2015, 06:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Aleron Ives's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 4,544
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1472 Post(s)
Liked: 1179
Quote:
Originally Posted by frank70 View Post
For marketing reasons,a so-called "3TB" drive actually provides about 3,000,000,000,000 bytes of storage.
A Terabyte is technically 2^40, so 3 Terabytes = 3,298,534,883,328 bytes.

A so-called "2TB" drive actually provides about 2,000,000,000,000 bytes of storage.
A Terabyte is technically 2^40, so 2 Terabytes = 2,199,023,255,552 bytes.
If you really want to be technical, you're describing tebibytes. A terabyte really is 1 000 000 000 000 bytes by IEC standards.
Aleron Ives is offline  
post #6960 of 12412 Old 01-07-2015, 07:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
frank70's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,294
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 92 Post(s)
Liked: 76
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aleron Ives View Post
If you really want to be technical, you're describing tebibytes. A terabyte really is 1 000 000 000 000 bytes by IEC standards.
Well, Windows 8.1 still tells me I have 8.00 GB installed memory in my computer, even though it technically has 8.00 GiB. Oh well, miles, pounds, and quarts are still popular, and the number above was called a "billion" in British English until 1974.
frank70 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply HDTV Recorders

Tags
578 , 999 , Channel Master , dvr+ , maintanance restart , P552UI-B2 , vid posts 576/578 , vizio 4k
Gear in this thread



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off