Channel Master DVR+ Owners Thread - Page 270 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
Reply
Thread Tools
post #8071 of 8082 Old Yesterday, 09:04 PM
Newbie
 
DeOlMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Northern Utah
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by jericko76 View Post
It does not start until Monday
Thank you, I didn't think to scroll down. I just figured they were sold out. Now, if I can get there in time on Monday.
DeOlMan is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #8072 of 8082 Old Today, 12:36 AM
AVS Special Member
 
P Smith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Mediterranean Sea
Posts: 2,193
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 161 Post(s)
Liked: 158
Not sure, if I didn't post the tidbit - if the seller have no clue about absolutely pertinent info of VID/PID for you, you should ask him to connect it to his computer and give him/her [URL to posts here where] how-to-get-vid-pid described in details many times.
P Smith is offline  
post #8073 of 8082 Old Today, 08:27 AM
Member
 
MKS13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 180
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 68 Post(s)
Liked: 67
Quote:
Originally Posted by wiscojim View Post
FWIW: Just a follow-up on an experiment I did recently regarding the number of hours of HD you could get on a 3TB drive.

I set the DVR+ to record 24 hours/day on two 720P channels. I chose 720P because that would be the least data to still give the HD quality, thus maximizing the total number of hours to see if I could get near the 480 hours of HD that CM claims is possible to record on the Seagate drives they sell. " The Seagate 3TB portable expansion is compatible with the DVR+ and will expand your recording capacity up to 480 hours of HD recordings ". http://www.channelmasterstore.com/3T...tbv3000100.htm After reading many reviews and failure rates for external HDs on the internet, I bought additional WD drives recently instead of Seagate drives. (I have not tried this test on my Seagate 3TB STCA3000101 that CM was selling when they first released the DVR+ for sale because it is still full of older recordings.)
The drive I did this test on was a WD My Book 1140 WDBACW0030HBK-01 external drive powered by a wall wart. The drive size read 2794GB according to the STB Health report found through the DVR+ menu. (Same 2794 that all three of my external drives for my DVR+ units show).
End result was 398 hours, 11 minutes, and 45 seconds of recording @ 720P.
Again, just FWIW..
For those of you that are truly concerned with how many hours you can record on your 3TB drives there is a solution for you..

Get the new TIVO Mega 24TB DVR it can hold 26,000 hours of std definition TV or 4000 hours in HD.
With 6 tuners and Raid configuration with hot-swappable drives, just in case one should fill up.

http://custom.tivo.com/mega_products...A&gclsrc=aw.ds

Oh the price you ask?.. a tad on the high side, but like I said if your truly serious.... A reported (not by TIVO) a mere $5000..
Since wiscojim did such a wonderful job on the 3TB drive, perhaps he could conduct a storage test on this baby and report back to to us, once it is completed, in about 3 years or so... Are you up for it Jim? ....

MKS13 is offline  
post #8074 of 8082 Old Today, 08:45 AM
Member
 
pachinko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 114
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 91 Post(s)
Liked: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by MKS13 View Post
For those of you that are truly concerned with how many hours you can record on your 3TB drives there is a solution for you..

Get the new TIVO Mega 24TB DVR it can hold 26,000 hours of std definition TV or 4000 hours in HD.
With 6 tuners and Raid configuration with hot-swappable drives, just in case one should fill up.

http://custom.tivo.com/mega_products...A&gclsrc=aw.ds

Oh the price you ask?.. a tad on the high side, but like I said if your truly serious.... A reported (not by TIVO) a mere $5000..
Since wiscojim did such a wonderful job on the 3TB drive, perhaps he could conduct a storage test on this baby and report back to to us, once it is completed, in about 3 years or so... Are you up for it Jim? ....
Darn! It's not OTA.
pachinko is online now  
post #8075 of 8082 Old Today, 08:52 AM
Senior Member
 
wiscojim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 327
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 69 Post(s)
Liked: 162
Quote:
Originally Posted by MKS13 View Post
Since wiscojim did such a wonderful job on the 3TB drive, perhaps he could conduct a storage test on this baby and report back to to us, once it is completed, in about 3 years or so... Are you up for it Jim? ....
Sure! I'll start as soon they send me a free beta sample and cover all the costs for the guide, cable subscription, etc.


.
wiscojim is online now  
post #8076 of 8082 Old Today, 08:55 AM
Senior Member
 
wiscojim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 327
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 69 Post(s)
Liked: 162
Quote:
Originally Posted by MKS13 View Post
Get the new TIVO Mega 24TB DVR it can hold 26,000 hours of std definition TV or 4000 hours in HD.
With 6 tuners and Raid configuration with hot-swappable drives, just in case one should fill up.

http://custom.tivo.com/mega_products...A&gclsrc=aw.ds
Did someone release their April Fools ad early?

.
wiscojim is online now  
post #8077 of 8082 Unread Today, 09:36 AM
Senior Member
 
chazdole's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 206
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 71 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by P Smith View Post
Not sure, if I didn't post the tidbit - if the seller have no clue about absolutely pertinent info of VID/PID for you, you should ask him to connect it to his computer and give him/her [URL to posts here where] how-to-get-vid-pid described in details many times.
Your post amuses me. Good luck getting an Amazon seller to do that. For a $10 sale.
raqball likes this.
chazdole is online now  
post #8078 of 8082 Unread Today, 10:54 AM
AVS Special Member
 
P Smith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Mediterranean Sea
Posts: 2,193
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 161 Post(s)
Liked: 158
Yeah, sure - my pleasure. And good luck buying blindly. As to "an Amazon seller to do that" - isn't that you do choose your destiny ? And give up before do something ? I did mention less then 2 minute procedure - am I ask too much ?

Last edited by P Smith; Today at 10:57 AM.
P Smith is offline  
post #8079 of 8082 Unread Today, 11:54 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Waxhaw NC
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I'm pleased to report that the GMYLE wifi adapter works perfectly. Here is the link at Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...?ie=UTF8&psc=1
pachinko likes this.
davebmck is online now  
post #8080 of 8082 Unread Today, 12:15 PM
Senior Member
 
chazdole's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 206
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 71 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Gad to hear that davebmck.

I was lucky that I added network cable when I rewired my house a few years ago. So I am missing the joy of setting up wireless on the DVR+. I tried the 2 usb wireless net adapters I own, neither worked. When used wireless on my Patriot Box Office (Roku-like) it was problematic, sometimes forgetting the login credentials. And ALWAYS taking longer than the hardwire to connect.

But I realize everyone can't run a cat5 cable to their DVR+. So good that all this info is here.
chazdole is online now  
post #8081 of 8082 Unread Today, 12:16 PM
Senior Member
 
chazdole's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 206
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 71 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by P Smith; AVS "Special" Member
Yeah, sure - my pleasure. And good luck buying blindly. As to "an Amazon seller to do that" - isn't that you do choose your destiny ? And give up before do something ? I did mention less then 2 minute procedure - am I ask too much ?
Be sure to let us know how it works out for you.

Last edited by chazdole; Today at 12:55 PM.
chazdole is online now  
post #8082 of 8082 Unread Today, 01:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
qz3fwd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 3,105
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 173 Post(s)
Liked: 87
Quote:
Originally Posted by MKS13 View Post
For those of you that are truly concerned with how many hours you can record on your 3TB drives there is a solution for you..

Get the new TIVO Mega 24TB DVR it can hold 26,000 hours of std definition TV or 4000 hours in HD.
With 6 tuners and Raid configuration with hot-swappable drives, just in case one should fill up.

http://custom.tivo.com/mega_products...A&gclsrc=aw.ds

Oh the price you ask?.. a tad on the high side, but like I said if your truly serious.... A reported (not by TIVO) a mere $5000..
Since wiscojim did such a wonderful job on the 3TB drive, perhaps he could conduct a storage test on this baby and report back to to us, once it is completed, in about 3 years or so... Are you up for it Jim? ....


Buy 1 and let us know how you like it.
qz3fwd is online now  
Reply HDTV Recorders

Tags
578 , Channel Master , dvr+ , maintanance restart , P552UI-B2 , vid posts 576/578 , vizio 4k
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off