Homeworx HW-150PVR, Support and Discussion - Page 75 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!



Forum Jump: 
 72Likes
Reply
Thread Tools
post #2221 of 2228 Unread 08-26-2016, 01:59 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by JHBrandt View Post
I agree about the remote, but at present I'd still recommend the HW-150. Reason is that iView introduced some annoying bugs into the 3500 firmware when they switched from the 7816 to the 7802
Thank you, sir. So now the choice is between either the HomeWorx 150 or the 180STB. Mediasonic's site lists the differences between the two (remotes, jacks etc.). On some forums, the 180STB is called a cheaper version of the 150 both literally and figuratively.

Guess the 150 is the way to go unless you advise otherwise.
Klaatu58 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2222 of 2228 Unread 08-26-2016, 02:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JHBrandt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S. Garland, TX
Posts: 3,804
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1190 Post(s)
Liked: 654
I would go with a 150 if the cost difference was small. The differences between the 130, 150, and 180 are all fairly minor:

  • The 130 & 180 lack the 150's component video, and coaxial digital audio outputs. This is the decisive issue for me; I like having those outputs available
  • The 130 & 180 use a smaller remote. (Ironically, I like that remote a little better than the 150's remote. Even though it's smaller, it's easier to read the buttons. But the difference isn't that great)
  • The 180's USB port is in back. The other two have the USB port in front
  • The 130 & 180 have a hardware "channel 3/4" switch for the RF output (so I guess they don't support "loop-through;" but I recommend using a splitter vs. loop-through anyway)
  • The 130 & 180 have a "soft" power button that just puts it in standby just like the remote's power button. The 150's front panel has a "hard" power switch that physically disconnects power (like unplugging the 150)
  • The 130 uses an external "wall-wart" power supply (like the iView 3200). That could be an advantage: if the wall-wart fails, you don't lose the whole box
  • Depending on the firmware version, the 180 may have some minor quirks with entering channel numbers
  • Dolby Digital 5.1 audio is not officially supported on the 180 (though HDMI audio can be set to Raw through the menu, and so DD5.1 may work anyway)

Assuming you get a 7802-based unit, as all the newer ones seem to be, the 150 and 180 firmware are largely interchangeable, so the last two differences could be overcome by cross-flashing the "wrong" box's firmware (and using the "wrong" box's remote). However, the 130 reportedly cannot be cross-flashed with 150 or 180 firmware, or vice versa.
JHBrandt is offline  
post #2223 of 2228 Unread 08-27-2016, 08:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DoctorM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: South Florida
Posts: 1,765
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 615 Post(s)
Liked: 187
It should also be pointed out that the 180 has on occasion dropped to <$20 on Amazon.
I do find the 180 style remote a little more intuitive in layout, so even smaller it's easier to find the buttons.

How is the 130 for CC or DD5.1? (I'm sure I've asked that before, but have no recollection of it.) I'm betting no Dolby.
DoctorM is offline  
post #2224 of 2228 Unread 08-28-2016, 08:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JHBrandt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S. Garland, TX
Posts: 3,804
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1190 Post(s)
Liked: 654
I tend to agree about the 130/180 remote being better than the 150 remote. It's not a huge difference, but it is very hard to tell apart the 12 identical-looking tiny round buttons with gray labels on a black background and no engravings at the bottom of the 150 remote. The other remote has a lot of hard-to-read buttons too, but at least most of the ones in the block of 12 at the bottom have white engravings, so you can see what they do at a glance instead of straining your eyes trying to read the labels and find the right one to push.

That said, I prefer the 150 box over the 180. I suppose if you had a 180 remote and understand what firmware is compatible, you could cross-flash 180 firmware onto a 150 and have the best of both worlds: you'd lose menu control of the RF output, but everything else should still work the same, and almost nobody uses the RF output anyway. Well, you might also have issues trying to use DD5.1 since that's not officially supported with 180 firmware.


I don't know if anyone has the HW-130 and can give us a first-hand report on it. From what I've seen and heard, it's another 7802 box very similar to the 180; the biggest difference being its smaller size and external power supply. So closed captions probably work the same as on the 150, 180, and every other 7802 box I've tried; i.e., CC works during live viewing and playback, but not during time-shifting or chase play. DD5.1 is probably the same status as the 180: it works during live viewing or when watching a movie (or a recording with the extension changed) via the HDMI port if the audio is set to Raw, but isn't officially supported; so if you have issues such as echoes, you're SOL.
DoctorM likes this.
JHBrandt is offline  
post #2225 of 2228 Unread 09-09-2016, 05:05 AM
Newbie
 
silentjay1980's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Akron, NY
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello,

I have a few questions regarding these tuners.

I have twc for internet and when i run the line to the back of my tvs i get about 100 channels, including locals. 2-1 is nbc for example. 29 is espn. I recently replaced a tv with a tcl roku tv and the tuner seems week. I bought this box hoping for better results. (and to possibly use my xbox for oneguide)

When i scan channels i dont get the list i get with my tv. I get channels scattered randomly with no rhyme or reason and a ton of blank channels. ie 2-1 is now an invalid channel.

Can some one explain why this is, and possibly point me in the direction of a solution whether it be with this unit or a different product?


Thanks,

Jason

LG 55LM7600 (ON ITS WAY!!)
Fat PS3 4.30 cobra cfw
Slim ps3 4.30 ofw
Roku xs hd x2
Pioneer VSX-821k
Mac Mini Mid 2011 (windows 8 and mountain lion) 8TB JBOD
HP HPE-130f
Apple TV2
silentjay1980 is offline  
post #2226 of 2228 Unread 09-09-2016, 07:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JHBrandt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S. Garland, TX
Posts: 3,804
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1190 Post(s)
Liked: 654
I'm surprised you get any channels with TWC. In our area (DFW) they've encrypted everything, so we get nothing without one of their boxes or something that takes a CableCARD.

Anyway, the HomeWorX line of boxes isn't a good solution for cable. First, it won't tune analog channels, and some cable systems still have a few analog channels.

Second, for QAM (digital cable) channels it relies on PSIP, but most cable systems don't use PSIP. (Some cable systems provide PSIP for the OTA channels they carry.) If there's no PSIP, the HomeWorX may not detect the channel - and if it does it will use the RF channel number instead of the channel number the cable system wants to display. I don't even think HomeWorX advertises or supports using their boxes with cable. If they work, great, but they make no guarantees.

As for an alternative, first make sure TWC doesn't plan to encrypt all your channels as they've done here. No sense buying a box that gets disabled after a few months.

Second, are you looking for a DVR or just a tuner? If you're looking for a DVR, your options are probably limited to a TiVo, a PHD-VRX2, or a used DVR such as the TViX M6620, Channel Master 7400, or Entone 458. And any of those would probably cost quite a bit more than the HomeWorX, even used.

If you're just looking for a tuner, you have other options, such as this Samsung tuner: http://www.samsung.com/us/support/ow...GX-SM530CF/XAA. (Looks like you can add a CableCARD if you need your encrypted channels, or use as-is for just the unencrypted ones.)
JHBrandt is offline  
post #2227 of 2228 Unread 09-09-2016, 10:19 AM
Newbie
 
silentjay1980's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Akron, NY
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thank you for the info. I have three different homes I which I have two installed. Everyone of them gets these channels. Maybe it's because we are in the middle of nowhere. Or maybe because TWC is just lazy here. Either way I ordered a TiVo premiere from Amazon. Hopefully it works and I can end the search. Thanks again.
silentjay1980 is offline  
post #2228 of 2228 Unread 09-09-2016, 10:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JHBrandt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S. Garland, TX
Posts: 3,804
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1190 Post(s)
Liked: 654
Thanks. I guess TWC isn't as centralized as Comcast, which encrypted the whole country last year (or was it the year before?) Or at least, I guess they haven't made a corporate-wide decision to encrypt, and leave it up to the local affiliates instead. Smaller affiliates probably aren't in as much of a rush to encrypt as big cities like Dallas.

TiVo will take a CableCARD, in case they do encrypt your channels someday. So it was probably a good long-term choice.

BTW, I generally urge folks to set up a TV antenna, even if they also subscribe to cable or satellite, if they can do so without a lot of hassle. That way you have a fallback: when one of those spats between TWC and your local stations breaks out, you don't lose whichever network is fighting with the cable co. The HomeWorX may not be so good for cable, but it makes a decent OTA tuner and recorder.
JHBrandt is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply HDTV Recorders



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off