Homeworx HW-150PVR, Support and Discussion - Page 79 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 83Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2341 of 2348 Old 01-25-2017, 06:33 AM
Senior Member
 
LNEWoLF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 496
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 222 Post(s)
Liked: 133
I use a Western Digital 2 TB my passport drive for almost 2 years. Works very well with my HW 180.

Plug and play. Removed from box, plugged usb cable into the HW180.

When I intially set up a daily/weekly program. I change the start time to 3mins earlier. Same with end time. 8-10pm (757-1003pm)

L@@ks like this


Last edited by LNEWoLF; 01-25-2017 at 06:38 AM.
LNEWoLF is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2342 of 2348 Old 01-25-2017, 06:55 AM
Senior Member
 
LNEWoLF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 496
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 222 Post(s)
Liked: 133
If anyone is considering a HW OTA STB.

Amazon currently has the HW130 for 24.95
LNEWoLF is offline  
post #2343 of 2348 Old 01-25-2017, 09:29 AM
Senior Member
 
eherberg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 208
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by ColdCase View Post
What you are seeing is the wake from sleep/spin up delay you see with most drives/enclosures, especially green ones. I have my 1TB 2.5 inch portable/laptop type drive set to never spin down. There is little to no waiting time, and they have been running like this for years. I've filled them with close to 1TB and have not noticed delays.

You don't want to use a flash stick for any length of time as you will wear them out quickly. But you see instantaneous access because there is no wake or spin up delay.

A SSD drive is also another option, a little more money, but lower power, you don't have to worry about dropping them, and not that expensive in the 300-500 GB range, which is plenty for a couple 1-2 hour programs a week.
I initially thought the same. Spin up time would explain the long period when I first press the record button. Assuming that was the cause, once recording started, I stopped the recording after a couple of minutes and then within just a few seconds started another recording using the record button. The drive is now not sleeping ... not spun down. But the same approx 30 second delay from pressing the record button to actual recording. It is like it has to scan drive contents first? The 3 TB complete failure may be due to being usb-powered and the low power capability of the box's port. I'm not sure.

Looking at the mediasonic forum - there are a few posts about various hard drives not working. One person even asked if they could get a list together of the drives that they know *do* work. May I ask the brand of the 1 TB drive you mention above? A 1 TB drive with little waiting time and good responsiveness would be a perfect solution for them.
eherberg is offline  
 
post #2344 of 2348 Old 01-26-2017, 07:49 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JHBrandt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S. Garland, TX
Posts: 4,320
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1455 Post(s)
Liked: 741
I wanted to let the HomeWorX community know about an interesting gadget I just bought from Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00KNCVFL8. It's an HDD dock with both USB and WiFi access.

What makes it interesting for HomeWorX (or iView, etc.) users is that it switches WiFi access off/on when power is applied to/removed from the USB port. That means you can connect your HomeWorX to its USB port, and your HomeWorX will have exclusive access to the HDD when it's on (and say, recording) - but when it's off, anyone can access recordings on the HDD via WiFi. (There are even iOS and Android apps to stream videos from the HDD, but I haven't tried them yet so I don't know if they'll work with HomeWorX recordings.)

Now this doesn't turn a HomeWorX into a full-blown "whole-home" DVR - but the total cost of a HomeWorX, this dock, and a bare HDD is under $150, and this is an easy way to access your HomeWorX's recordings wirelessly for that little money.

I'm sure there are other access solutions that others have discovered. Please feel free to share if you've found one!

Edit: Although the user manual talks about both iOS and Android apps, I was only able to find the iOS app (MyAirDisk Pro). The Android version of the app doesn't seem to exist. (There are several with similar names, but they don't work with this dock.) Still, the iOS app does work, for the most part. I had a couple of apparent crashes when I tried to make a selection and my iPad just went back to its desktop, and I had to restart the app. Also, the app didn't support rotating the iPad to landscape mode, which was annoying. But it plays videos quite smoothly.
m. zillch and DoctorM like this.

Last edited by JHBrandt; 01-29-2017 at 05:08 PM.
JHBrandt is offline  
post #2345 of 2348 Old 01-27-2017, 12:25 AM
Advanced Member
 
nikknightt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: L.A.
Posts: 840
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Are there any ways to un-brick a 150 from incorrect firmware yet? (I asked a few months ago too) Seeing if there's anything new. Thanks..
nikknightt is offline  
post #2346 of 2348 Old 01-27-2017, 08:17 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JHBrandt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S. Garland, TX
Posts: 4,320
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1455 Post(s)
Liked: 741
At one time I found an obscure article about de-bricking these MStar boxes: http://mstar.wikia.com/wiki/Debricking. But it requires hooking up the serial interface. If the boot loader still works, you could get in that way and replace the firmware.

Note: the article is about 7818 (DVB-T) boxes, not 7816 or 7802 (ATSC) ones. But I think the same instructions would work.

How badly bricked is your HW? Are there any signs of life at all?

Last edited by JHBrandt; 01-27-2017 at 11:40 AM.
JHBrandt is offline  
post #2347 of 2348 Old 01-28-2017, 05:27 PM
Advanced Member
 
nikknightt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: L.A.
Posts: 840
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by JHBrandt View Post
How badly bricked is your HW? Are there any signs of life at all?
It powers up but nothing is displayed thru any of the outputs..
I'll check out that link.. Thanks.
nikknightt is offline  
post #2348 of 2348 Old 02-01-2017, 08:12 AM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vorgus View Post
I just checked out that link and the software for it doesn't support 64bit os. So must be older then win7.

This one https://www.amazon.com/LOTOS-Video-C...2NE48YP8M1N7ZP says up to win10. But these still tie up the computer.
Ok old fart chiming in here... if you have a pc with an open pci slot (yes old i know) your best bet would be to find a used hauppauge 1600. They still pull their weight and run 64 bit no issues and can be had for cheap. You can even run the wintv 8 if you can find a specific iso for upgrading

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Hauppauge-PC...wAAOSwo4pYjift
Skitz1967 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply HDTV Recorders

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off