Homeworx HW-150PVR, Support and Discussion - Page 80 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 85Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2371 of 2376 Old Yesterday, 10:10 AM
Member
 
mdbratch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Webster, NY
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by eherberg View Post
5.3 does have the ability to show CC during recorded show playback. (Of course, the program has to have closed captioning - so prime time shows are good to test).
For my 5.4 test I would turn on CC, see that I had it on the live show, turn on the timeshift, and the CC would stop displaying. I also tried a similar test on a station. I verified CC was working, pressed record, let it record about 30 seconds or so. Immediately when I had pressed record, the CC stopped. When I stopped the recording, CC resumed. The playback of the recorded snippet also did not have CC.
mdbratch is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2372 of 2376 Old Yesterday, 11:18 AM
Senior Member
 
eherberg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 226
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 20
That would make it a deal-breaker for my friend's system. He has complained about the military time, but closed-captioning for his wife is an absolute must for their recorded programs. :-(
eherberg is online now  
post #2373 of 2376 Old Yesterday, 01:36 PM
Advanced Member
 
plplplpl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 784
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 25
I am understanding the English speak very good

...but it's that epidemic of mumbling actors that often makes CC or subs necessary nowadays.
dmatch likes this.
plplplpl is online now  
 
post #2374 of 2376 Old Yesterday, 04:48 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JHBrandt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S. Garland, TX
Posts: 4,519
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1564 Post(s)
Liked: 768
It sounds like the V5.4 beta is very similar to iView's latest firmware, which also adds a 12-hour time option.

On the iView, 12-hour time worked but wasn't perfect: Times from midnight to 1AM still displayed as 00:##am instead of 12:##am. Times from noon-1PM sometimes (but not always) displayed as 00:##pm as well.

Also, strictly speaking this isn't a "bug," but I thought the EPG display was confusing. The times are formatted ##:##-##:##am (or pm) but the "am/pm" refers to the first of the two times, not the second. So a show that runs from 11:30AM to 12:30PM would be listed as 11:30-12:30am.. I probably would have eliminated the "m" and listed it as 11:30a-12:30p, which would take the same number of characters but be less confusing.

For these reasons, I switched my iView back to 24-hour time. You might check your HomeWorX program guides for the same bug and quirk.

On all firmware versions I've tried for 7802-based boxes, including HW V2.# and V5.# as well as the latest iView firmware, closed captions work during playback but not when time-shifting. The latest iView versions, however, have a bug that sometimes causes the box to lock up and reboot if you try to use CC during playback. From what you said, it sounds like Mediasonic may have had CC during playback disabled to avoid the reboot issue. Please let them know it worked in V5.3 and some of us would miss it.
JHBrandt is offline  
post #2375 of 2376 Old Today, 04:14 AM
Member
 
mdbratch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Webster, NY
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by JHBrandt View Post
On the iView, 12-hour time worked but wasn't perfect: Times from midnight to 1AM still displayed as 00:##am instead of 12:##am. Times from noon-1PM sometimes (but not always) displayed as 00:##pm as well.

Also, strictly speaking this isn't a "bug," but I thought the EPG display was confusing. The times are formatted '##:##-##:##am' (or pm) but the "am/pm" refers to the first of the two times, not the second. So a show that runs from 11:30AM to 12:30PM would be listed as 11:30-12:30am.. I probably would have eliminated the "m" and listed it as 11:30a-12:30p, which would take the same number of characters but be less confusing.
In the HW-150PVR v5.4 beta, time ranges have the AM/PM designator on both times, so you have '##:##[AP]M-##:##[AP]M' format for a time range, which is nice. Also, the afternoon seems properly designated as 12:xxPM. In fact, if you try to enter 00:xxPM it will auto-correct it as 12:xxPM. However, it likes 00:xxAM as opposed to 12:xxAM and will auto-correct that to the leading 00.

Last edited by mdbratch; Today at 07:58 AM.
mdbratch is online now  
post #2376 of 2376 Old Today, 07:31 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JHBrandt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S. Garland, TX
Posts: 4,519
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1564 Post(s)
Liked: 768
Well, that's closer than iView: I could probably live with it if the only wrinkle is that midnight has to be 00:xxAM vs. 12:xxAM. Not bad for a beta version.

The only problem with leaving the m's in the EPG times is, that leaves fewer characters for the show title on the right, which was already pretty short even with 24-hour times with no AM/PM at all. (These screens have to be readable even on the composite output, so the number of characters across is going to be rather limited.)

On the closed captions, I've never understood why this has been so tough to get right. On the older 7816-based boxes, I understand they had it working during time-shift, but if you tried CC during playback it would just curtly flash "Invalid" at you. Then the 7802-based boxes came out, and we found CC now worked during playback - but didn't work during time-shift any more! And with the latest versions, they managed to break it in both cases You'd think they could combine code from the old 7816 boxes with code from, say, V5.3, and get CC working everywhere.

There's also a bug involving DD 5.1, but you'd have to own an AVR to test it.

As for that midnight bug, that one has existed since the very first boxes. I'd love it if they could finally fix that, but I'm not holding my breath.
JHBrandt is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply HDTV Recorders



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off