DVR with usable files? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 15 Old 08-06-2013, 08:45 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
HowlinWolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 222
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Is there a DVR I can use to record but also transfer the files to my pc for editing/archiving on bluray, etc?
HowlinWolf is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 15 Old 08-06-2013, 08:55 AM
Thread Ender
 
WS65711's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Covington, LA OTA & Charter CableCard
Posts: 4,190
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 103 Post(s)
Liked: 78
Umm, TiVo. smile.gif

Don't ever make the MISTAKE of buying a Samsung TV..
They consider THIS
normal on a two month old set..
WS65711 is offline  
post #3 of 15 Old 08-06-2013, 09:55 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Kelson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Delaware - The First State (USA)
Posts: 10,467
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 539 Post(s)
Liked: 465
I second the TiVo suggestion -- this is something I do all the time with my TiVo. An alternative, if you are looking to just capture, archive and watch later, is to put an HDTV tuner on your network (HD Homerun) and directly capture the content to your PC for editing/archiving/streaming etc. I do both: TiVo transfers and media-PC/HD Homerun captures.

But, it only works if the content you are recording is not copy-protected. All OTA content is not copy-protected. As to cable content, that depends on the policy of your cable company -- some protect only the premium and PPV content and others protect everything. If you are talking satellite, you are in a different ballgame altogether.

- kelson h

The bitterness of poor quality lasts long after the sweetness of the low price is forgotten . . . life is too short to drink bad wine

Kelson is offline  
post #4 of 15 Old 08-06-2013, 09:57 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
HowlinWolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 222
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Sweet, so Tivo files can be transferred to a computer and edited then? Do you have to pay a subscription fee for Tivo?
HowlinWolf is offline  
post #5 of 15 Old 08-06-2013, 09:58 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
HowlinWolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 222
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I guess I should have mentioned that I have Directv and all of my content would be coming from that.
HowlinWolf is offline  
post #6 of 15 Old 08-06-2013, 10:05 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 10,233
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 564 Post(s)
Liked: 430
Quote:
Originally Posted by HowlinWolf View Post

Sweet, so Tivo files can be transferred to a computer and edited then? Do you have to pay a subscription fee for Tivo?
Tuners and capture cards for PCs also work well and do not require a subscription.

Last time I checked, Tivo was $15/month with a 1 year commitment or $20/month with no commitment or $500 for lifetime service. The Tivo hardware itself is also a few hundred dollars.

I've read that you can also transfer files from a Moxi box.

PC tuner card users often use a program that edits out all commercials automatically. That would be much easier and less time consuming than transferring and editing yourself. I personally find the skip button works very well and takes the least overall effort of any of the above options.
mdavej is offline  
post #7 of 15 Old 08-06-2013, 10:19 AM
Thread Ender
 
WS65711's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Covington, LA OTA & Charter CableCard
Posts: 4,190
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 103 Post(s)
Liked: 78
Quote:
Originally Posted by HowlinWolf View Post

I guess I should have mentioned that I have Directv and all of my content would be coming from that.

I believe you might be SOL . . .

Don't ever make the MISTAKE of buying a Samsung TV..
They consider THIS
normal on a two month old set..
WS65711 is offline  
post #8 of 15 Old 08-06-2013, 10:29 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Kelson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Delaware - The First State (USA)
Posts: 10,467
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 539 Post(s)
Liked: 465
Quote:
Originally Posted by HowlinWolf View Post

I guess I should have mentioned that I have Directv and all of my content would be coming from that.
Then forget TiVo or PC tuners. You are locked into D*-supplied equipment which does not support file transfers. The option for satellite is not nearly as convenient as an unattended file transfer. You would have to start with renting their HD-DVR to make the recordings. Then you buy a Hauppauge HD-PVR 1212 or an HD PVR-2 1512 capture device and hook it between your DVR and your PC using component out and optical out from the DVR (see the Hauppauge website for product details and connection). To make the content transfer you have to play the content from the DVR and capture it in real-time using the HD PVR to encode the signal and send it to your PC.

A lot of hands-on manipulations and your content doesn't stay in the digital domain -- it gets converted to analog component to leave the DVR, then re-digitized by the HD PVR.

- kelson h

The bitterness of poor quality lasts long after the sweetness of the low price is forgotten . . . life is too short to drink bad wine

Kelson is offline  
post #9 of 15 Old 08-06-2013, 01:28 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
HowlinWolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 222
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Dang that sucks there isn't a viable ready made option.

I had forgot about pc capture cards. Is there one that I can connect to the hd component outputs of the directv receiver to record in real time? Maybe one that will connect to the component outputs and the optical audio output so I could get surround sound and hd video while leaving the tv connected to the directv receivers hdmi?

Or is there a card for the pc that will connect to the directv receiver's hdmi output to record hd video and surround sound, and also pass that through to its own hdmi output which I could connect my tv to?

What software would one use with something like this, if such a thing even exists?
HowlinWolf is offline  
post #10 of 15 Old 08-06-2013, 02:54 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Kelson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Delaware - The First State (USA)
Posts: 10,467
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 539 Post(s)
Liked: 465
I just told you about the HD PVR. If you want a card that goes in the PC then look at the Hauppauge Colossus.

- kelson h

The bitterness of poor quality lasts long after the sweetness of the low price is forgotten . . . life is too short to drink bad wine

Kelson is offline  
post #11 of 15 Old 08-06-2013, 03:48 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
HowlinWolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 222
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kelson View Post

I just told you about the HD PVR. If you want a card that goes in the PC then look at the Hauppauge Colossus.
Oh okay, sorry I thought someone said that wouldn't work with Directv so I didn't look into it.

After looking into it, that HD PVR appears to be exactly what I need. Thanks. I'll probably grab one of those.

Any particular software I should use our does it come with everything I'd need?

This probably doesn't exist, but is there something like that I can plug into my Directv receiver, but instead of connecting to the pc through USB it connects to the pc through my home wifi? That would be totally perfect, lol.
HowlinWolf is offline  
post #12 of 15 Old 08-07-2013, 08:47 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 10,233
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 564 Post(s)
Liked: 430
Quote:
Originally Posted by HowlinWolf View Post

Oh okay, sorry I thought someone said that wouldn't work with Directv so I didn't look into it.

After looking into it, that HD PVR appears to be exactly what I need. Thanks. I'll probably grab one of those.

Any particular software I should use our does it come with everything I'd need?

This probably doesn't exist, but is there something like that I can plug into my Directv receiver, but instead of connecting to the pc through USB it connects to the pc through my home wifi? That would be totally perfect, lol.
Yes, I've use an Actiontec MyWirelessTV for a similar purpose. It uses it's own wifi, not yours. It only works with HDMI, so you'd need a card with HDMI inputs. Nothing may work on copy protected premiums like HBO, etc., however.

I personally find that a DVD/HDD recorder is much easier to use for archiving DirecTV. It's not HD, but is very good commercial DVD quality and does not require a computer and all the time and expense associated with it. I've effortlessly made hundreds of backups that way over the years. Doing it on a PC would have taken a lot more time and effort.
mdavej is offline  
post #13 of 15 Old 08-07-2013, 09:18 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Kelson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Delaware - The First State (USA)
Posts: 10,467
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 539 Post(s)
Liked: 465
Quote:
Originally Posted by HowlinWolf View Post

After looking into it, that HD PVR appears to be exactly what I need. Thanks. I'll probably grab one of those.
Take a look at this thread.

- kelson h

The bitterness of poor quality lasts long after the sweetness of the low price is forgotten . . . life is too short to drink bad wine

Kelson is offline  
post #14 of 15 Old 08-07-2013, 08:30 PM
Member
 
png5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 91
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by HowlinWolf View Post

Is there a DVR I can use to record but also transfer the files to my pc for editing/archiving on bluray, etc?

If you use antenna and want to spend only $50, don't mind to have basic PVR/DVR like VCR. Look at HomeWorx HW150PVR with V10 or later firmware. It record to USB drive or fast USB flash drive with .mts files.
You can use window7 Microsoft medium to watch them. Usually is 1.3G per hour of record.
png5 is offline  
post #15 of 15 Old 08-07-2013, 11:14 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Kelson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Delaware - The First State (USA)
Posts: 10,467
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 539 Post(s)
Liked: 465
Quote:
Originally Posted by png5 View Post

If you use antenna and want to spend only $50, don't mind to have basic PVR/DVR like VCR. Look at HomeWorx HW150PVR with V10 or later firmware. It record to USB drive or fast USB flash drive with .mts files.
You can use window7 Microsoft medium to watch them. Usually is 1.3G per hour of record.
Read back a few posts where he says he has DirecTV.

- kelson h

The bitterness of poor quality lasts long after the sweetness of the low price is forgotten . . . life is too short to drink bad wine

Kelson is offline  
Reply HDTV Recorders

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off