Wired, MoCA or wireless TiVo –My Old House - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 08-06-2013, 01:05 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
StregaChess's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I want to turn in one of my Comcast DVR and save some reoccurring monthly fees. Yes I understand that I’m going to drop XL4 $274.85 + $499 Lifetime to save $17.95 per month, let’s just say I hate Comcast that much!

So this is where I’m stuck, on wired Ethernet, MoCA or wireless. My house was built in the 1950’s and only cable and telephone are currently wired. Is Wireless and OK option? I’m going to start by putting a TiVo in the Master bedroom and it’s right next door to the bedroom that has a computer and router. The downside is our attic is mess, thick blown in insulation and I just don’t have the time to muck with it. But if “must” I will…

So if you go wireless what’s the risk? Channels change slower? Lock up? Miss a recording?

MoCa sort of mystifies me the TiVo site makes is sound like it’s the same as Ethernet but I’m smelling signal drop, or something it just sounds too good to be true!?


Also I live outside the Philly region and I’m supposed to be able to get a TiVo that will play Xfinity on demand stuff, does that mean Comcast has their eyes on TiVO??
StregaChess is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 08-06-2013, 02:59 PM
Thread Ender
 
WS65711's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Covington, LA OTA & Charter CableCard
Posts: 4,137
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 71 Post(s)
Liked: 63
I use Wireless-N and MoCA to connect 4 TiVo XL's to my network. My cable modem and primary router are located upstairs at the far end of the house. I use Netgear MoCA adapters to connect a secondary router (configured as a Wireless Access Point downstairs and within about 25 feet of two of the TiVo's. The third TiVo is about 35 feet from the downstairs access point. The fourth TiVo is upstairs about 30 feet from the upstairs router. I have the MoCA adapters using a dedicated coax.

You'll still need RF coax to the TiVo regardless of how you connect the network to receive your cable (with CableCard) or antenna programming. Wireless-N works fine for the network as long as you get a strong signal to the TiVo. Channel change speed, missing recordings, etc. has nothing to do with your network connection.

MoCA works flawlessly for me with my Netgear adapters.

I know nothing about Xfinity.....

Don't ever make the MISTAKE of buying a Samsung TV..
They consider
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

normal on a two month old set..
WS65711 is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 08-06-2013, 05:27 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
StregaChess's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by WS65711 View Post


You'll still need RF coax to the TiVo regardless of how you connect the network to receive your cable (with CableCard) or antenna programming. .....

Thanks! But if understand MoCA correctly it would just use the same cable that runs to the TV? I don't need a separate cable, don't need to run new lines right? That's what seems confusing I would think "where" I tie into the system would matter?
StregaChess is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 08-06-2013, 05:57 PM
Thread Ender
 
WS65711's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Covington, LA OTA & Charter CableCard
Posts: 4,137
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 71 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Yes, the MoCA signal can reside on the same coax as the RF signal (with a few caveats). But in my case I already had an existing unused coax run to the family room wall opposite of the wall where my big TV is located. That location provided a central location for my downstairs wireless access point. Upstairs it was easy to get the other end of that same coax connected to the MoCA adapter located at my primary router. You can find additional information about MoCA in this forum . . .

Don't ever make the MISTAKE of buying a Samsung TV..
They consider
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

normal on a two month old set..
WS65711 is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 08-07-2013, 05:12 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
StregaChess's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks so much, sounds like MoCA is a Godsent, what rock have I been living under!?
StregaChess is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 08-08-2013, 09:44 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
anthonymoody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: ny, ny usa
Posts: 5,651
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 59
Strega: if you haven't already purchased the TiVo wait for the series 5. Just cleared FCC so should ship in the next few weeks.

Stuck up, half witted, scruffy looking, nerf herder.
Double True!
anthonymoody is offline  
Reply HDTV Recorders

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off